I don’t bake but I did anyway.

March 31, 2011 at 10:56 am 1 comment

Capped yesterday off with some cookie-making with the boy, oh so domestic are we.  Actually, little known secret, I do not bake.  I suck at baking and usually manage to burn something or completely mess it up, even following a recipe to the T.  I can cook half-decent, or at least I think so, those who have survived my atrocity dishes may beg to differ.  But there’s just something about baking that does not get along with me.  I always think, well I’ll just attempt it this one time and see how it goes.  And boy am I glad I did, these cookies actually taste relatively okay?  I won’t go so far as to say good.  Not yet.  That would be taking a risk I am not willing to take, and I am not ready to go there.

I got the recipe from this website, give credit where credit is due, right?   They’re apparently healthy, for a cookie anyway.  The unhealthiest thing in them I’d say is the coconut, or maybe the dark chocolate.   Almonds are high in calories but a good fat, so I think we’re okay there.  The binding agent in this recipe is bananas!  Not eggs, not butter, bananas. So while they may be healthy, that does not give me permission (read: it doesn’t give me permission but I do it anyway) to eat 5 at a time.   Other tweaks I made: I made the almond meal out of slivered almonds.  Tossed them in the Magic Bullet and ground them up, super easy.  I also used olive oil instead of coconut oil, and I didn’t warm the olive oil up as it suggests for the coconut.  I also tossed in maybe a couple tablespoons extra of oatmeal, as well as some of the slivered almonds.   For the chocolate, I used dark chocolate chunks and it worked out very nicely. 

My half-ass review of these cookies reads this: I will make them again because a) I don’t feel guilty when I have a few too many, b) they are super easy peasy to make and c) they’re kinda healthy, again, for a cookie.  Flourless, potentially sugarless, eggless, and butterless.  So good.  They don’t bog you down like a regular hearty, rich cookie might, which is always nice, because I don’t do bogged down very well.

The worst thing about having any kind of baking in the house is the time in which it gets eaten.  SUPER FAST.  I suppose it is there to get eaten, but like I don’t do the bogged down thing well, I don’t do temptation well either.  I need to work on this, food and I are enemies but good friends.  It’s a love hate relationship, and I hate it.  Because these are sort of healthy, it’s okay and it sits sort of well with me.  Sort of.  On that note I am going to go enjoy one of these suckas, as well as the sun, and a walk in the slush with my boy and my girl.

Entry filed under: Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , .

Kicking and Flailing. SNOOPY SUNDAY.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  March 31, 2011 at 11:15 am

    lol good thing you didn’t bother heating up the olive oil, the only reason to heat up coconut oil is that it is usually solid at room temp. :) A vegan cookie! Good work cuz. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 28,558 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

