C25K: Week 5 Day 3

July 10, 2011 at 11:35 pm 3 comments

This was the big one, the one I was dreading but not dreading because dread doesn’t finish runs now does it?  This was the first interval-less run of the program.  Five minute warm-up, and a five minute cool-down, with a 20 minute full-on run smack dab in the middle.  Could I do it?  Oh yes I could.  What I did not know was how many times it would take me to complete this run.  Turns out, I nailed it on the first try.  Well maybe not nailed it, but you know.

I actually did this run on Thursday, but am just getting around to writing about it now.  It’s been a whirlwind couple of days.  Thursday and Friday were mostly consumed by my most precious boy, who has come down with a cold, and who does a boy need most when ill?  His mama, of course.  And then Saturday, Kyle and I took off to Moose Jaw for a wedding and a much-needed-much-appreciated night alone, while Cade chilled with grandma and grandpa.  Thankfully he was feeling a bit better, but still a tad stuffy, but not enough to dampen the weekend fun for him, and not enough to make me worry about him.  Make sense?  I should clarify, I missed the little peanut the minute we got in the car to leave, but seeing him the minute we came in the door today was priceless and I don’t know if I’ve ever been that excited.

So I surprised myself and completed the run.  When I checked my distance, it was even LESS than what it has been, so that again is kind of crappy but I am hammering that useless point home by talking about it every post, so I’ll drop it.  I’ll still talk about distance, but not about how crappy it is that my distance is decreasing.  OK, I’m done.  It was a hot one when I ran, and a mosquito-filled one at first.  I’m going to wager a guess that swatting and scratching while running add a bit more intensity and help to burn calories, yes?

The one thing that continues to surprise me, but less so because I am expecting it now, is that my breathing is SO in check it’s awesomely freaky.  I went from running for 60 seconds and wanting to curl up in the fetal position and go to sleep in the middle of the road, to being able to run for 8 minutes, and then only take 30 seconds IF that to catch my breath completely, while still doing a fairly nicely paced brisk walk.  I need to build my strength because that is the one thing that gets me.  My legs and my feet get sore.  Or not even that, they just get tired and weak feeling, like there is no way they can continue to carry me along the streets.  But they do and they have not failed me yet and did I mention how much TRUST I have put into my body, my heart and my soul to be able to complete all of these runs?  I am thoroughly proud, thoroughly amazed.  I am conquering and I am completing and I am trusting.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 5 Day 2 C25K: Week 6 Day 1

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzie Cordova  |  July 10, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    YEEEEAAAAHHH!! Way to go, chica! So proud of you. I hear ya about the trusting my body thing. I felt that way today on my W8D1. The whole time, all i wanted to do was stop and take a break, but I also knew I’d be cheating myself because I honestly know my legs and feet can always carry me just one step further. So excited to hear you succeeded! Way to punch defeat in the face!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 10, 2011 at 11:55 pm

      Oh Hell yeah! Kicked defeat’s ass. :)
      I found week 4 the hardest week yet, Not sure why, but yeah, it’s done and gone so I am pretty happy about that.
      I can’t believe you are on week 8. That is so intense and GOOD FOR YOU! You have made it SO far and are going to cross that major finish line before you know it, kicking ass the whole way there.
      Oh, and taking names, too. :)
      Thanks for the kind words!

      Reply
  • 3. brittanynickles  |  July 11, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I think you are right about week 4 being the hardest! Maybe it is like the “plateau” phenomenon they all talk about. We think 60 seconds is beyond impossible and SURELY you can never survive the five minutes or whatever from week 4. BUT, once you get past that, anything feels possible :) (Not easy, but certainly possible haha)
    Well done girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 28,607 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

