The Lil’.

February 18, 2010 at 9:40 pm 4 comments

Aside from Kyle, this sweet little pup above is the love of my entire being.  Lily brings me such extreme joy (with the occasional dash of madness) to our lives and I could not imagine my life without her now.  I never had pets growing up, and so this was definitely a new experience for me.  It’s so amazing to see her progress over the last year – going from an insanely energetic 1.8 lb ball of the softest fur ever, to a 5.5 fully grown little monkey.  She could play and run and walk all day if I or somebody else (human or canine, it really doesn’t matter to her) was up for the challenge.

I’ve learned so much from her it’s unreal.  To be honest, I didn’t really know anything about dogs before we got her.  We found out we were getting her and then 4 days later, she was ours.  Those 4 days I researched and researched and googled every aspect of puppy training I could think about.  And then came the Cesar Millan obsession.  Lily (and Cesar, indirectly!) has taught me that my energy plays an incredibly crucial role in ensuring she has a fulfilled life.  When I’m anxious, she’s anxious.  When I’m high energy and hyper, she is too.  However – it doesn’t ALWAYS work the other way – when I’m calm and wanting to relax, she doesn’t always want to do the same.  Hence the madness.  As I blog, apparently in a relaxed state, she is laying on her side, like a tantrum-infested child, snarling and growling at Tony (Jenna’s dog) to play with her and give her the attention that she feels she is entitled to 24/7.

She has taught me patience and she has taught me how to LOSE my patience.  Luckily, she’s increased my patience rather than the opposite.  At times, it was a close call.  All those “I’m going to stand at the door and bark at you to come in, but then never come in, and when you reach down to pick me up I’m going to dart and bark some more” moments certainly did not help with that piece.

She has reinforced to me that physical affection – especially kisses – are extremely crucial in one’s day and need to be given LOTS in the morning, LOTS at night, and LOTS after you haven’t seen someone for a while (read: 5 minutes).   Aside from this – when she is hyper she is the farthest thing from cuddly – and she has shown me that when you have energy, USE IT damnit!  Don’t sit around being all touchy-feely, go do something fun.  Go for a walk, a run, or better yet – chase a tennis ball around the yard like it’s going out of style.

Similar to the non-cuddler characteristic that she displays, she shows me that you don’t have to love everyone and it’s good to set boundaries for yourself.  If you don’t want to hug somebody and cuddle and be affectionate – then don’t.  And if you do, then it means THAT much more when it’s genuine.

Also along with this – take time to lounge, take time to relax out of your busy day, take time to bask in the sun naked!

Lily has taught me to always be conscious of what I am projecting to other people.  It’s kind of like that quotation “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Dogs live in the moment, and we should too.  Dogs require exercise, discipline, affection – IN THAT ORDER – (yes I read a LOT of Cesar) and whereas we may not require that order, we require all three of those pieces – and because our dogs do too, we need to radiate positive energy and exercise our dogs, ourselves, and our souls.  An exercised dog is a happy dog, and at this point in my life – an exercised me is a happy me.  I am thrilled to share my life with Lily and Kyle and I wish I could read this to Lily and she’d know what I am saying – because I owe her that much at least.  But you know what, dogs aren’t people – and so a walk would suffice.  Or even better – I could read this to her and she will feel my energy, my positivity, my genuine gratefulness.

Oh and did I mention yet that I am known as that crazy dog lady at work?  Unspoken – but it’s there.  I know, shocking.

Share

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The How to Not be a Sloth Guide. Showtime

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Lily is so so lucky to have you as her owners!

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  February 19, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Awww, what a sweet post about your precious lil girl.

    She is such a cutie-pie, I would love to see her and my bro/s-i-l’s dog Maude together! She’s extremely playful too, I bet they’d get along famously :)

    Reply
  • 3. tristadawn  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Mom: As we are lucky to have her as our love :)

    Elizabeth: She is truly a darling, and definitely does much better when well-exercsied. Much like her trusty owners :) I’d love to see them play too!! I love watching her interact with other canine buddies. Maude is adorable too!

    Reply
  • […] I’m going to do it.  I’m going to fawn and fawn over my pooch-pal Lily like I’ve never fawned over her before.  And all you non-pet-loving humans can back off, because I don’t want to hear it.  This is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,820 hits

Archives


