Mother Nature

March 2, 2010 at 11:35 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been stumped.  Don’t know what to write.  Don’t want to write.  Writing is boring.  I’m boring.  I’m busy.  I have tons to say.  I have too much to say, where do I begin.  So naturally I took the easy way out and pulled out my inspirational block. I flipped open to one page and the spark word was Conformity.  I decided that wouldn’t work for me.  Perhaps out of spite?  Perhaps.  I randomly flipped the pages again and came to a topic which caught my interest, and that was Write about your most intimate experience with Mother Nature. Ahhh, perfect.  Spring is just around the corner and all I want to do is be outside and hence my memories are tied to those when I was outside.  This topic couldn’t have come at a more perfect time.

In September of 2007, Kyle took me to Wanuskewin Heritage Park as I had never been there and he spent the summer there doing an Archaeological Field School.  It was the most perfect day for us to explore the park – the sun was shining, there was a very light breeze, and the sky was a brilliant sort of blue.  Kyle was Mr. Expert on the sites and history of the park.  He showed me buffalo kill sites, the medicine wheel, and the site where they did their digs and found various tools and bones.  We walked throughout the whole park, breathing in the amazing air that floated amongst the trees, plants, and pre-contact sites of the Plains People.  He took me up a hill – an incline at the time of which I cursed silently – and we stood on the edge of the cliff and took in the breath taking panoramic prairie view.  We had a random take a photo of us – and interestingly enough we used it on our wedding invitations.

Throughout the couple of hours that we spent at the park, I remember feeling at ease, peaceful, and for some reason – nostalgic.  Not that I had any memory of living on the land – but it was like I could feel the energies of those that did.  I remember thinking how connected to the land people were (and still are – just not exactly here) and how they lived off of it so gracefully.  I remember thinking about how in certain First Nations cultures women are considered extremely powerful when they are menstruating, and in some cultures are separated from the rest of their family and community when they are on their moon time.  It is not proper for them to cook, prepare food, smudge or exert themselves in any way (cleaning, etc.) as they are seen as too powerful and sacred.

I remember being on my moon time when we went to Wanuskewin, and I remember feeling deeply connected to the site and to the energies that I felt at the park.  I remember being thoroughly present in nature and in my relationship with myself and with Kyle.  I remember sitting on the cliff, talking about our hopes and dreams and goals.  I remember planning our wedding – how we wanted that ever so sacred day to play out, and at that point establishing that we wanted part of it to be outside because we are so connected to the earth and in turn, to each other.

“Traditionally, the Moontime is the sacred time of woman when she is honored as a Mother of the Creative Force. During this time she is allowed to release the old energy her body has carried and prepare for reconnection to the Earth Mother’s fertility that she will carry in the next Moon or month. Our Ancestors understood the importance of allowing each woman to have her Sacred Space during this time of reconnection, because women were the carriers of abundance and fertility… Women honor their sacred path when they acknowledge the intuitive knowing inherent in their receptive nature. In trusting the cycles of their bodies and allowing the feelings to emerge within them, women have been Seers and Oracles for their tribes for centuries” (http://www.moonsurfing.com/moonlodge.html)

Share

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Showtime Childhood Lists

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,748 hits

Archives


