Tamara’s House.

March 15, 2011 at 12:41 am 1 comment

The recent announcement that a local resource, Tamara’s House, for female survivors of childhood sexual abuse will be closing its doors come April 30, 2011 saddens me deeply.  I don’t know enough about statistics around funding, programming, and the numbers of women it worked with monthly, and so I’ll be writing about this purely from an emotional point of view.

As I said, I don’t know what the issues with funding are, but I do know from reading an article in TheStarPhoenix about the closing, that funding was an issue both now and in the future.  As it always seems to be for these wonderful non-profit jobs that are filling the much-needed gaps.  Double sigh.  Politics, how we love thee.

I was at the gym today and the news was on one of the TVs.  I’d read about the closing a few days ago, but seeing it on the news and hearing about it again saddened me so much.  I could feel tears welling up in my eyes, and I wanted to shout out in anger to all those around me, that how could they do this?

I’m sure there is more to it than we are getting in the news reports, obviously, but where are societal priorities?  Not where they should be.  I don’t know where they are, but they’re not in some very important places where they are needed.  I know it said that the programming will be, essentially, divvied up to another organization which supports women, but it won’t be the same.  Tamara’s House as been operating and supporting survivors of child sexual abuse for 20 years and now what?  They get their 6-8 weeks to wrap things up?  I’m sure that for the women who have accessed Tamara’s House, this is undeniably tragic.  One of my dear friends works at Tamara’s House, and while I haven’t had the chance to talk to her since hearing this news, it makes one’s heart ache knowing that Tamara’s House has been a rock, sometimes the only support in a vulnerable woman’s life, and now it will just be nothing.

I shake my head in anger and frustration, and my heart feels heavy with sadness for the women who have utilized Tamara’s House, experienced profound healing journeys at the heart of Tamara’s House residential and drop-in programming.  I know, via aforementioned friend, that Tamara’s House does amazing work with these women, and the women who work at Tamara’s House are wonderful supports and possess amazing skills in working with these women.  I can only imagine they are feeling the heartache as well.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

10 + IChallengeYou. 4 Months & Counting.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Judith Cheesbrough  |  April 6, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I happened upon this entry while looking up media coverage. For more on what’s happening to Tamara’s House, there are a couple of Facebook sites:

    Save Tamara’s House and Tamara’s House Voices

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,820 hits

Archives


