Love, Cade.

March 22, 2011 at 11:57 am 3 comments

This post is inspired by a great little piece I read which is a letter to a parent from a baby. It is also inspired by the fact that as of Sunday night, Cade has miraculously and magically been sleeping in his crib, tear-free, might I add.

Dear mom + dad:

I just wanted to shoot you a little note thanking you for finally letting me sleep in my crib.  I guess I should start by saying thank you for the cuddles and snuggles the past 4.5 months, and for helping me learn to sleep and feel safe when I sleep.  It was so nice to be so warm and cuddled up with you in your bed, on the couch, or wherever.  But with that being said, thank you for letting me have my own space.   FINALLY.

I just have a few questions: how come it took you so long to finally let me sleep by myself?  Were you sad to be without me?  How come you always had to cuddle me to sleep, every single night, and every single nap?  Did you think I couldn’t fall asleep on my own like an independent big boy?

While I of course loved hanging out with you guys in your bed, snuggling and hugging while we slept, I cannot tell you how nice it feels to be free, at least.  To have my own huge bad all to myself.  There are no words to describe it, really.  Well, maybe glorious. That one comes to mind.

It’s so nice and warm in my own room, too.  My bed is so big, and now I finally have room to stretch out.  Just what I’ve been waiting for.  And there is no loud snoring noises coming from a bearded man on my right, or constant moving around from some grouchy sleep-deprived woman on my left.  Just my own bed, my Sleep Sheep playing the sounds of rain, my sleep sack, and my small Lamby.

I have been waiting for this day, to sleep on my own and to feel like a big boy.  I’m so excited that I can actually get some good solid sleep and be entirely comfortable, without you guys waking me up all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love you mom and dad, more than I can begin to describe, but like I said before, it’s just all the snoring and moving around that gets me.  There were some mornings where I woke up just feeling absolutely exhausted because you kept me up all night. I’m hoping that now that I’m sleeping in my own bed (again, like the big boy that I am) that that won’t happen and I will feel so well rested and be even more ready to take on the big world that is out there waiting for me.

Mama, dad, I love you so much.  Please don’t forget to give me lots of cuddles.  I know I said I’m a big boy and I’m all independent and what not now, but I still need you more than ever.

Warm hugs & drooly kisses,

XoXo

Cade

 

Entry filed under: Love Cade. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

SNOOPY SUNDAYS. The Post-Partum Pantry.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom Cades grandma  |  March 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    LOL I love it……………and it actually brought a tear to my eye,my lil man is growing up hahaha

    Reply
  • 2. gail kolebaba  |  March 22, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    me too im thrilled for you all!!!!xo

    Reply
  • 3. Elizabeth  |  March 23, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Awww, what a sweet letter!! And congratulations, I’m so happy for you that he is enjoying his crib now. Here’s hoping it continues!! What a cutie pie Cade is :) xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


