SNOOPY SUNDAY.

April 3, 2011 at 9:03 pm 1 comment

ULES:

1) Every Sunday, I will post an answer to a question from a reader.   You can ask me questions on Facebook or by commenting on my blog.  The question I choose will be random – I will put the questions in a hat and pick one out; that will be the question I answer.

2) Once I answer a question, I will visit your blog or your Facebook and ask you a question in return.  I will also link to your blog when I write the answer to the question you asked.

3) I don’t know if this is exactly a rule, but I will encourage my regular readers who have blogs to also participate on Snoopy Sundays.  Let’s make this fun, shall we.

4) Questions can be relating to anything, although try to keep it somewhat appropriate.  I cannot police how you interpret appropriate, so be nice.

This question again comes from Elizabeth (c’mon people!  ASK ME STUFF! WHAT DO YOU WANT TO KNOWWWW!) What childhood memories are you excited to share with Cade when he’s old enough?

This is a tough question because there are so many awesome things about my childhood that I want to do with Cade.  I don’t know if there is one or if there are a couple that really stand out, because honestly, there were a lot of things in my childhood that I am excited to pass on to Cade.  I remember being a child and having my grandparents take us around driving to look at the Christmas lights every Christmas.  We would usually get a hot chocolate or a sundae or some other treat from Mc.Donald’s, and then we’d cruise around Yorkton, checking out the festive lights.  As we got older, we complained about going, but looking back now, what a beautiful time to bond with our grandparents that was.

We spent a lot of time out at Good Spirit Lake camping when I was younger, and I definitely want Cade to remember days of ‘growing up at the lake.’  As we got older, in the evenings, I would walk around with our other family friends’ kids that we typically camped with.  We’d think it was so cool to walk to the beach at night, and meet up with other kids our age.  It was so much fun and there is nothing quite like walking on a beach at night, smelling the crisp air and campfires.

Another memory that seems somewhat trivial but I remember it so very clearly, is how when I was a bit older, (10ish maybe?) our family started this Friday night routine.  Every Friday night our family and another family (the one we always camped with) would go to Bonanza for supper, and then we would end up at either our house or their house.  The adults would sit around and visit and do whatever adults do, and us kids (their 2 girls, my brother and myself) would all play video games, board games, hide and seek, ‘house’, Barbies, watch movies, etc.  It was super fun and we’d usually end up falling asleep and then our parents would carry us out to the vehicle.  It was nice looking forward to that every Friday.

Okay and one more memory – I loved having a bunch of built-in neighbourhood friends!  That was the best, and we lived on a fairly quiet crescent and so we were able to always be playing outside in the summer and winter.  Winter we’d build forts and play street hockey, and summer we would play kick the can, ride bikes, play street hockey, and hide and seek.  My favourite was getting a ton of people together outside and playing hide and seek.  This was always awesome when we’d have birthdays in the summer for my brother – his birthday month is May – because our family would be over and then that just means more people!  I would love to live on a small, quiet street where there are other young families so that Cade has nearby friends and they can do these kinds of fun things.   I’m sure it is a little bit different in this generation and being in a bigger city, but I see some children on our street who are always playing outside together and it just takes me back to when I was that age.  So much fun.

Okay, ONE more memory!  I always remember having super fun birthday parties.  I don’t remember what we did for each year, but they were always fun and everyone always had a good time.  Also related to this, I remember having ‘year-end’ parties in grade 6 and 7 I do believe.  It was super fun and it was tradition for my friends to bring their books over and we’d have a big bonfire and rip them all up and burn them.  Honestly, I don’t remember what else we did at the year-end parties, but I remember having lots of people over for them and again, them being a good time.  I’d love to do this for Cade when he’s older, but I feel like it may be different for girls and boys.  I hope he is not embarassed of us as his parents and lets us do these kinds of things for him!

Remember to post more questions so that I at least have A question for next Sunday!  xoxo!

Entry filed under: Snoopy Sundays. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

I don’t bake but I did anyway. Material World Mailbag Postess.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. gail kolebaba  |  April 3, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    i loved reading this !!! i want to know hat your most fav holiday was growing up and why… and do you have any holiday traditions you will begin with Cade as he gets bigger…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


