A Boy & His Bestie.

April 6, 2011 at 9:55 pm 2 comments

I’ve written about Lily and I’ve written about Cade, but I haven’t really touched on the two of them together, as a team, a unit, a companionship.  It is absolutely precious and sweet and I need to write about it because tonight really clarified in my mind what their relationship is about, or has been about up to this point.

These two little monkeys have a very special effect on one another.  That effect is the Calming Effect.  Just like soothing, swaddling, swaying, and shh’ing noises are said to activate the calming reflex in babies, I do believe that Lily and Cade activate that calming reflex in each other. 

Tonight, as usual, we were all eating together at the table as a family (typical picture: Kyle and I across from each other, Cade in his high chair at the ‘head’ of the table, and Lily somewhere on the floor waiting for any food that may fall, particularly Cade’s pureed chicken).  Cade started to get irritated (tired, annoyed, wanting to move around I think) and so Kyle got up to start the bath.  Cade was fussing about, making noises, and just seeming really annoyed.  Lily hopped up on Kyle’s chair (because she is a person, clearly) and the moment Cade caught sight of her, he basically froze, stopped making any fussing noises, and just watched her and stared at her, with the calmest most content look on his face ever. 

I said to Kyle, “come look at this, they have such a calming effect on each other.”  And of course, he agreed, because they totally do.  From when we brought Cade home from the hospital, Lily has been in love with him.  Before we brought him home, we had my mom bring back a little hat that Cade had worn when he was first born.  It had his scent on it, and we wanted Lily to get used to this new little person’s scent.  I never saw how Lily reacted to the hat, but my mom and Kyle did, and she was enthralled with it.  She didn’t rough house it, but she was sniffing it and pawing at it constantly.  When it was put up on the table, she was crying at the table, because she knew it was up there and she wanted it.  When Kyle and I came home from the hospital, we had a strategic plan to introduce Lily and Cade to one another.  We had picked up special treats for Lily and a special bone, and we gave her lots of affection, praise and treats when she would come by Cade and be a ‘good girl.’  When we brought Cade in the house and he was still in his car seat, Lily was a little bit skeptical.  Every time he flinched, she had a bit of a freak out and backed up quickly, growling as she did this.  It didn’t take long though, and she was wanting to be near him all the time.  In the first couple weeks, she would constantly jump up to be by us while I was breast feeding him, and she often would sit on the nursing pillow, or right beside us.  It was too precious for words.

As Cade has grown, Lily has become that much more accustomed to having him around.  She spends a lot of time in front of the heater in his room, and if I am changing him or playing with him in his crib, she is jumping up on my leg and scratching at me, because she wants to come up and see him.  That sometimes doesn’t last long, as he has started to grab for her fur and face, and kick and flail his legs around, and if she is in the crib with him or on his change table, she is likely to get booted in the face, at which point she looks at me as if to say, “what the hell did you bring me up here for, GET ME DOWN.”   Not only that, but I think Lily loves having Cade and I at home with her all day long.  We’re good company, and now that it’s nice out, we’re good walking partners for her, too, and her for us. 

Cade has become so much more interested in Lily as he is getting older.  If we’re playing or chattering away and Lily walks by (which she typically does because wherever Cade and I are, she is right there, proof is in the pictures – she’s either right there or lurking in the background), Cade just watches her every move, and starts to reach for her.  It is so very sweet and it makes me so excited for him to grow up with a puppy and for her to grow up with a baby-toddler-child.   Lily has just become this super obedient pooch (most of the time, except when she goes into stubborn mode, which is often actually seeing as she totally as a mind of her own, love my babes to be assertive).  And don’t get me wrong, she has always been a really good dog, but she’s just calm, and part of that could be that she is getting older, but still she is a youngun, full of energy and spunk.  I really truly do think that Cade’s spirit is so wonderful and positive, that it calms her right down and keeps her in check.  And I think that the same goes for Lily’s effect on Cade.  It works both ways and I love it.

I cannot wait for these two stinkerbums to grow old together.  I never grew up with a pet and so I think this is a very special bond that I am very excited to see develop more and more.  Lily is protective but not over-protective.  When Cade was colicky and cried a lot, Lily would always look at me when he was having a crying spell, all like, “DO SOMETHING!”  I think that she ‘gets it’ to the degree that she can, as a dog, one who does not speak english but understands it to a point.  I think that she does see Cade was a pack leader, at least partially.  I am looking forward to teaching Cade how to treat animals, and what better way to teach him than to have a built-in guinea pig who will be such a very good teacher as well?  I am looking forward to the days when Lily will likely bed-hop from our bed, to Cade’s little toddler bed, snuggled up with him until she has to go out to pee and will hopefully know best to wake us rather than Cadester.  I am excited for Cade to be sooo excited to see HIS puppy Lily, and maybe not be able to quite pronounce the tricky “Lily” sound at first.  I can’t wait for the puppy hugs and kisses that Lily will give to Cade, and Cade will graciously receive.  I am so excited to see these two grow up together, to see the lessons that Cade and Lily learn from each other, and the lessons that Kyle and I learn from having a little boy grow up with his best friend.

Entry filed under: Cade, Pets Are Friends Too. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Material World Mailbag Postess. A Saskatoon Saturday.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom Cades grandma  |  April 6, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    Beautiful !! I LOVE how Lily really is in almost all of Cades pictures.its so sweet !

    Reply
  • 2. Classic  |  April 6, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    Alright, thanks to these pictures, my heart has officially melted. Adorable! I grew up with my own doggie (a golden retriever by the name of Genevieve, we still have her, but she’s gotten up in years) and it has been such a comfort to have this old friend by my side. Wonderful post!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


