Not trendy.

April 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm 2 comments

I wouldn’t say my clothes are super ugly or anything, but I am totally out of the what is nice what is trendy what are the hot looks loop.  I feel like I haven’t bought myself new clothes in a very long time, and to sum it up, I kinda feel a bit like a slob.  I also feel like it is finally time to ditch the skinny jeans and find something a bit more flattering.  Oui?

Ok wait, wait wait waaaait.  Before I go any further, can I preface this post with a Hold Up, this may be kind of materialistic (again) and righteous and greedy and so extremely self-absorbed (most blogs are?) and judgey-based?  Okay there I did anyway.  Disclaimer is out there, moving along now.

When I go out in public, I don’t want to look like a slob.  I don’t want to look like one of those I became a parent and now I don’t take care of myself folk.  And we all have seen some of those, and I’m sure they are great amazing super nice people and all but… I like to feel good about myself and I like to look nice and those two for me, go hand in hand.  And lately, well that feeling ain’t always right there for me.  It’s spring, and with weather changes and scenic changes comes me wanting to change my whole look.  I want something drastic.  I want to get rid of all of my clothes and start from scratch, although financially that is not going to happen right now.  I want different hair (thankfully a haircut today will half solve that) and I am sick of having black hair except I am a little tiny bit attached to my black hair.  I’ve always known that hair dye is bad news in terms of chemicals, cancer, toxins and what have you, but after having a clear visual of it on this website, I am paranoid and scared to dye my hair again and am thinking of trying out the henna hair dye from Lush. Or else just going au naturel, though that totally results in super ugly hair for awhile, which will not help in the feeling un-slobbish department.  Though it is summer and I can rock a hat oh yes I can.  And I am on maternity leave so I don’t have to be TOTALLY presentable all the time, really.

Oh yes, and the clothes issue.  I need new clothes, need need need.  I barely have any summer stuff and a girl needs summer stuff, whatever that stuff may consist of.  Again, I have no idea what I should be wearing, what are the hot looks, what are the amazing looks that will flatter my body.  Can someone help me and be my personal dresser and style adviser, please and thank you?

My son totally dresses way better than I do.  I can dress boys but I can’t dress myself?  That is downright pathetic.

What are your favourite looks for spring and summer?

I don’t really have a problem with shoes in the summer, thank god.  I sport my Birkenstocks all summer long, day in and day out.  I live in them and couldn’t be happier.  I think they are a timeless piece in my wardrobe and I will continue to buy them until the day I die.  Occasionally I will toss on a pair of flats, but the comfort factor of some flats just isn’t there.   Though I will say flats are a necessity in my wardrobe, especially for spring and fall.  Summer is time to air out the feet and the toesies (oh god I have clearly been spending most of my days speaking to an infant).

I read somewhere that the capris trend this summer is more like a ‘flood pants’ trend and capris are supposed to be worn longer to be more trendy.  Might as well jeans then, no?  I don’t want to say I am only all about trends, because as the topic suggests, I am not really a ‘trendy’ person.  I sort of just do my own thing.  I like to have some trends but then throw my own ideas into the mix, so I guess I just need a few staple items that will work well for me.

And I’m rambling.  And I suppose this is a good time to say goodbye.  That and I can hear my my precious little boy waking up.  Can’t wait to go and be greeted by those cute little nap-warmed flush cheeks.  Such love.

Entry filed under: Mamabear, Post-Partum Party. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Saskatoon Saturday. I’m a mom.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tamara  |  April 13, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I have given up on pants completely and I just wear tights most of the time. I also like to dress like a rainbow threw up on me (evidence: i am wearing a purple tank with a pink dress over it with turquoise leggings and a yellow cardigan today. And also my gold Birkenstocks.)

    I am not sure if you should take fashion advice from me! Hahaha.

    You could always take a peek at lookbook.nu for ideas!

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  April 18, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Oooh, how I can relate.

    And, interestingly, I in particular went through a major bout of iwantanewlook! in around when Andrew was 6 months old. I think part of it is just natural – we go through phases, we wear certain things for a while and get tired of ‘the same old thing.’ But I really found that shortly after having Andrew, I felt ‘different.’ Yes, my body was also changed from the pregnancy, but even all the clothes that still fit me from prepregnancy, they just didn’t feel like ‘me’ anymore because I had become a new me! Not that I wanted to start rocking the ‘Mom jeans’ (LOL) but I wanted a fresh new look.

    I’m starting to feel that way again, maybe in part it’s just the changing season and not wanting my entire spring/summer wardrobe to be the exact same one from last year!

    But one thing I’ve completely given up on is not having Andrew upstage me with every single one of his outfits. He’s the best dressed out of any of us in this household, and I somehow think that’s the way it’s going to be for a long time! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


