Me vs. Health Stuff.

April 15, 2011 at 10:34 am 1 comment

It is an ongoing battle, a competition.  I don’t mind competing, but I do like to win sometimes, and the shitty thing about this competition, is that I never seem to win.  We could, I’m sure, go into a deep analysis of how to define a win, of how I’ve got the competition in my favour because I’m conscious of it, or how health is actually such a broad term for such a wide variety of things.

Regardless of that, I’m going to briefly touch on a few of the health stuff things I’ve been partaking in as of late, or at least thinking about.  And I promise I won’t talk about how frustrating this weight loss journey is and how I have become somewhat self-conscious of my image and I feel like I am taking a step backwards in that regard and how I am confused as to why this journey is so difficult because I feel like I’m doing a lot of right things and minimal ‘wrong’ things.  That’s for another post.

So.

Health Stuff.

Flax meal – I have been adding it to EVERYTHING I can.  Cream of wheat?  Toss a handful in.  Chicken taco salad?  That too.  It’s kind of silly because if you asked me all the benefits of flax, I could maybe tell you two, but yet I am injecting my diet with it by the handful.

Omega-3 – I picked up a bottle of these babies on the advice of a couple online supporters who stated that it helps with post-partum depression and just overall produces goodness in the body.  Our babies deplete our Omegas so we need to recharge them.  I must say, I have been feeling pretty good since I’ve started taking them.  However, I’ve started taking them at the same time that I’ve started getting more sleep.  The combination is my friend.

Vitamin D – Happy pills #2!  Since we don’t seem to ever want to transition into summer, or at the very least, spring, I’ve got to rely on a little white pill to produce what the sun ain’t giving me.  I am taking my prenatal multivitamins still (and will likely continue to forever) but there isn’t sufficient vitamin D in them, so I’ve added a supplement as per my doc.

Exercise – When it was starting to transition into spring (but then Saskatchewan decided that spring sucks and more snow is much cooler) we were walking every day, sometimes twice a day.  I’d pop Cade in the carrier or the stroller and we’d go and it was the best thing ever.  He loved it, Lily loved it, and I loved it, and so did my body and my brain.  I felt more alive.  I can’t wait until we can continue doing this again.  Walks will definitely be a daily, if not twice-daily routine.  I have also joined a gym which I utilize 3-4 times a week for approximately 45 minutes.  Not too intense, but intense enough and it feels good.  Current routine is 25 minutes cardio and 20ish minutes of weights.

Cloth Diapers & Wipes – Ahh!  This is the newest of the new health stuff.  We so far only have 3 cloth diapers, pocket-style, which we are going to try out probably starting today.  I actually just found some fabulously cheap FuzziBunz on kijiji that I hope to pick up next week on our way to Edmonton.   I’ve heard they’re one of the better pocket diapers so I am pretty excited, especially since I’m getting them at about $15 below retail selling price.  Score.  We’ve been using cloth wipes for a few months now due to sensitive skin/diaper rash, so that’s not really new, but switching to cloth diapers definitely is.  We made the decision based on money, the environment, as well as Cade’s health.  I’ve read too many articles about one of the big-name diaper brands special dry technology causing chemical burns, skin rashes, the chemicals that are in diapers to make them super absorbent, the crazy long time that diapers (and the human waste in them!) sit in landfills, creating toxins in the soil and air, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg.  I’m not quite sure how I feel about having a disposable diaper against Cade’s skin nearly 24 hours a day.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the convenience of disposable diapers.  There is nothing like it.  However, I am hoping (and I expect there to be a learning curve and frustrations in the beginning) that I will feel this way about cloth diapers eventually.  And plus, cloth dipes are just so gosh darn cute.  There will be times where we still use disposables, I’m thinking camping, long trips, airplane, etc, however eventually, once we build up our stash (and it may take a couple months!) we will be a full-time cloth diapering family.  There’s silly things I’m wondering about, such as if he will like having a cloth diaper on (it’s pretty darn soft, so I’m thinking so) and if we will have issues with pants fitting over them.  I think that we may just have to size up so we can still fit his fluffy bum into his array of cute pants in his closet.  Does that sound vain and exploitative towards my child?  Who doesn’t like to have a cute dressed babe?  I’m sure he loves being dressed cute, too… ahem.

My posts typically end with the cute little baby babbling coming from the boy’s room, and this one is no different.  However, this one did prematurely end with a knock on the door, crazy Lily barking, only for us to greet a hearing impaired man who was attempting to have us attend a Jehovah’s Witness gathering on Sunday.  Have a fabulous Friday and an even better weekend y’all.  xo.

Entry filed under: Cade, Mamabear, Post-Partum Party. Tags: , , , , , , .

I’m a mom. SNOOPY SUNDAY.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole Frederickson  |  April 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Not sure if they are as healthy, but my Vitamin D are chewables that taste like chocolate! :) they remind me of the Flintstones Vitamins we used to take! I too add flax meal to everything, I actually quite like it. One of my favorites is to make homemade chicken fingers with them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


