SNOOPY SUNDAY.

April 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm 2 comments

RULES:

1) Every Sunday, I will post an answer to a question from a reader.   You can ask me questions on Facebook or by commenting on my blog.  The question I choose will be random – I will put the questions in a hat and pick one out; that will be the question I answer.

2) Once I answer a question, I will visit your blog or your Facebook and ask you a question in return.  I will also link to your blog when I write the answer to the question you asked.

3) I don’t know if this is exactly a rule, but I will encourage my regular readers who have blogs to also participate on Snoopy Sundays.  Let’s make this fun, shall we.

4) Questions can be relating to anything, although try to keep it somewhat appropriate.  I cannot police how you interpret appropriate, so be nice.

This question comes from my auntie Gail, she asks: What was your favourite holiday growing up?

I totally forgot to do this little activity last Sunday, but the one before that, I talked about how I loved having family over in the summer for birthday parties, because we’d always play a huge game of hide and seek on our street.  That is one reason why family birthdays were one of my favourite times.  Except for when my cousins would tease the shit out of me and I would tattle.  I was such a tattle tale. I’m not sure if it is a holiday, but of course, Hallowe’en meant way too much candy and chips, but also, plenty of exercise and running about the city, once we got old enough to trick or treat on our own, branching out to different areas of the cit.  And in general, I looked forward to summer holidays with my family, as well as the one big memorable Disneyworld trip when I was 10, which we took with both of my parents as well as my grandparents.  I’m so happy that we have the bulk of that trip videotaped, as it was definitely a very special time that was spent with my family.

So other than that, I’m going to be super cheesy and cliche and can you guess what holiday I am going to say?  Christmas.  Not because I am super religious or anything, because I’m not, but because I am a total family girl and Christmas always meant big family gatherings, sharing laughs, way too much food, and sometimes games.  I looked forward to Christmas every year, and being able to see the family and engage in a lot of the silly, crazy, family antics that often take place, none of which come to mind right now. There were a couple years where we would all rent a log cabin/villa out at Good Spirit Lake, and that was super tons of fun.  If the temperatures were Saskatchewan-winter-mild, we’d be able to go for walks, sledding, skating, or playing shinny.  Then we’d retreat to the cabin for a fire, laughs, even more food, and then crash for the night.  It was so much fun getting out of the city, the rushing hub-bub of the holidays, and spending it out at the lake.

When I was younger, looking forward to Christmas was partially because of the gifts.  There, I said it, sue me.  It was exciting running to our stockings in the morning, and then running downstairs to find the one gift from Santa, which was the unopened gift under the tree.  We loved reading the note that Santa left us, as a response to the one we left for him and his team of reindeer.  As I got older, I more look forward to Christmas, and the holidays in general, because it means large get togethers, and a time for me to spend with family, eating, drinking, and visiting.  And now, we’ve got Lily & Cade to enjoy it with as well.  This past Christmas was particularly exciting because it was the boy’s first, and also the first time many family members were able to meet him.

Holidays are sometimes confusing, too.  In theory, but in practice, they get worked out.  My parents are divorced, and every holiday, there’s always the question of “whose turn is it.”  I know, it sounds ridiculous, but I imagine it’s somewhat of the same sentiments as “splitting up” the holidays between partners’ families, which we don’t really have that issue of being that Kyle’s immediate family lives in Ontario.  There’s always the whole, well last Christmas I was with this family but last holiday I was with that family, so really, whose turn is it?  Sounds so extremely juvenile, and maybe it is, but each year I have a mild lump in my throat, knowing that I’m going to have to figure this shit out.  Like I said, it always gets figured out, and to my knowledge, there are never hurt feelings, because typically, “everyone gets a turn.”  I keep using quotations because it just sounds silly, and game-like, but I’ve no other idea really how to express it.  It really shouldn’t be about turns, and I think that really, I am the one that has created that idea.  I don’t want Cade to one day think that it is his turn to spend a holiday with such and such family, but rather, that he is able to spend the holiday with that family, and that it is something he can look forward to, guilt-free, anxiety-free.  Perhaps he can then teach his mama a thing or two!

I look forward to sharing holidays with Cade, partaking in holiday traditions (which is another question for another Sunday), and teaching him that holidays are about family, happiness, health and sharing good times with loved ones.


Thanks for the comment, auntie Gail.  I will be posting a question on your Facebook that you can hopefully share with all your FB friends.  Stay tuned for next week’s Snoopy Sunday, and remember to keep those questions coming on so I don’t get bored.  Goodnight xo! 

Entry filed under: Mamabear, Snoopy Sundays. Tags: , , , , , , .

Me vs. Health Stuff. Ain’t no other man.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gail  |  April 17, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    ahhh loved the pictures they bring back happy memories of all the yrs gone by!!!You n Kyle have so much to look forward to now that you have lil Cade…im sure you will carry on traditons from growing up some but most importantly create new ones of your own…i love the lake christmases too n so did the boys!!!a christmas that makes me always giggle is when your mom aunty Tara Lee you n myself all dressed up and came out pretnding n singing ‘We Are Family “by sister Sledge …soooo funny now there has not been a time when i hear that song that i didnt picture us girls all acting this out !!!!i beleive we have it on video…i must set out to find it n hopefully i will !!!!!!thanx again for sharing !!!:)

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  April 18, 2011 at 1:53 am

    I know what you mean about how complicated Christmas in particular (but other holidays too, sometimes) can get when it comes to deciding who you’re going to spend the ‘actual’ day with and whatnot. We big time see that as a dilemma and it’s so frustrating, because rather than just totally enjoying the season we’re spending so much time stressing over what to do.

    I’m hoping with my parents moving closer to us we can eliminate some of that stress!

    On a lighter note, I think it’s great to be able to reminisce happily about our holiday memories from childhood, and even greater to be creating those memories for our little ones! I am finding myself getting so excited about Easter coming up. Yet we’re not at all religious so you can cut that aspect of the holiday out entirely for us!! I haven’t been into Easter for a long time, but now that Andrew’s old enough to understand more, I’m looking forward this week to telling him about the Easter bunny and what he can expect of Easter. I want to decorate eggs with him, and we’re going to take him to a community event for an Easter egg hunt, and do a little one at home with him. It’s so much more fun doing holiday things when you’re seeing your babe learn about it and have fun with it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


