Dads + Grandparents are not dumb.

April 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm 1 comment

A short post, but I just have a quick little (I promise, its teensy) bone to pick with a lot of cloth diapering info blogs and sites out there.  Disclaimer: I love them and I am addicted to reading them ever since we have decided to start transitioning to cloth.  Reason for transition?  Finances.  It costs a bit to get started, but in the long run is more financially feasible for us.  Anyway…

So many times on sites, when I am reading about pocket diapers (a cloth diaper with a pocket which you stuff to create your preferred level of absorbency) and all-in-one diapers (a cloth diaper that is essentially what it says it is – one piece, no stuffing, no folding, you just pop it on your babe like a disposable) they dote on them as being “even friendly enough for dads and grandparents to use!”

I get what they’re saying.  They’re saying that since cloth diapers aren’t the norm, even people who may be skeptical or not used to changing a cloth diaper, can easily learn how and be cool with it ’cause it’s so close to disposables.  Sometimes they toss caregivers in to the mix, too.

But don’t make some of the greatest people in the world sound like idiots.

Like I said, I get it, it just rubs me the wrong way every time I read something like that.  I asked Kyle if he was offended by it, and he didn’t really seem to care much, but thought it was silly.  So then that made me wonder if I am indeed truly crazy as I sometimes (read: often) wonder. 

Perhaps they can change the wording to: easy enough for anyone who is nervous about cloth diapers being time consuming and hard work, or something like that.

So yes, filler post, probably be awol for a few days (leaving the city, shazam!), so I’ll leave you with this ditty, not Easter-themed, but Thanksgiving, close enough:



Entry filed under: Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Ain’t no other man. Mamabear.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay Jo  |  April 22, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Uber sexist.

    And what’s with the grandparents thing? Too geezerly to remember how to diaper change? Weird.

    Although I’m not one to talk. Lately I’m on a kick where pretty much everything that comes out of my mouth is sexist. It will pass, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


