Mama Day.

May 8, 2011 at 9:05 pm 1 comment

Dear Mom:

Thank you for helping me to make decisions in my life, be it super simple ones or more complex baby-rearing WTF do I do now ones.

Thank you for not judging me (at least to my face) when I’ve called you crying because I was at a loss.

Thank you for teaching me not to dwell on the past, but rather, to let it guide my future decisions and my future interactions.

Thank you for being so generous, and I don’t mean just material wise.  Your thoughtfulness has been passed on down to me, and there really is no better gift I can give my children than teaching them to think of others.

Thanks for supporting me, even if you have thought some of my ideas are wacky.


Thank you for being present and strong on the most amazing and life-changing day of my life, the birth of my son, of your grandson.

Thank you for teaching me to laugh at everything, and to create jokes and humour out of the most ridiculous of moments ever.

Thank you for spending so much time in our home, with our family, helping out, and giving us some space to breathe while we navigate parenthood.

Thank you for teaching me to not just think of others, but to think of myself and to take care of me, because without that, I can’t take care of others.

Thank you for teaching me to become my own person, an individual, even though sometimes I wonder if I am some bizarre miraculous replica of you, or rather, you’re a replica of me.  (I know that you want to be like me and sometimes I wonder if that’s what this mother-daughter sameness is all about, you trying to copy me so you can be as cool!)

Thank you for teaching me the ins and outs of life, you know, how long to boil an egg, how to make the best Caesar salad dressing ever, how to clean toilets, how to do yard work, how to be respectful of those around you, and how to be a mother.

Thank you for going through labour and delivering me, au natural, you are an inspiration in not only that way, but in so many ways.

Thank you for dealing with me when I was an infant and decided that it was in my best interests to rip my diaper off and smear poop all over my walls, crib, face, as well as in my mouth.  Oh, and thanks for still kissing me after the fact, and not thinking I was the sickest human being ever, though I’m sure you did for at least a little while.

Thank you for being a super awesome and super fun grandmother.  Cade is sure lucky.

Thank you for being my best friend, my truth serum, and my idea board.  You have helped me to create, to live, and to love.

Mom, I know you are not a fan of Mother’s Day, and I know you miss your mama everyday but on this day especially, but know that you are loved and appreciated so much.  It feels silly to do this post on such a “cliche” day, but what the heck, right?  It’s an important one, and if we can have one day where we are just gonna honour the shit out of some of the most important people in our lives, then I’ll take that.  Though really, it probably should be done every day.  Grandma passed her legacy on down to you, and you have started to pass it on down to me.  I am blown away to have a mother like you to learn from, and cannot wait to pass this legacy on down to my children.  I wuv you mommy!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the amazing mamas and mamas-to-be in my life, this includes mother-inlaws, step-mamas, foster mamas, adoptive mamas, and honourary mamas, whomever you may be, in my life.  You are amazing and deserve the world.  Love love love you all!  xoxoxoxo!

Entry filed under: Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , .

There are some things that I want to tell you. Mom, mama, mommy, mother.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom Cades grandma  |  May 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwww *boo hoo* sniff thats beautiful ! Thankyou and you are welcome !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


