Cheeseburger Cupcakes!

May 21, 2011 at 3:31 pm 3 comments

I apologize that I have been MIA, but what can I say, I’ve been hopping planes and travelling across the provinces with the boy, the pooch, and the bigger boy in tow.  Life is grand, life is grand indeed.

Upon my homecoming, being that it was 2 days past K’s birthday, I decided that how much more fabulous can a gift be if that gift is Cheeseburger Cupcakes?  (Idea stolen from this tutorial on flickr.) Correct answer being, it don’t get much more fabulous than that, my friends.

And so I present to you, my rendition of Cheeseburger Cupcakes, made by yours truly, for yours truly’s life pardner:
Start with some buns, whole wheat in a French Vanilla cake format.  Bake those bad boys up and let them cool slightly.Grab the sharpest knife you’ve got and slice those buns, ’cause you can’t make a burger without a sufficiently sliced bun.

A cheeseburger wouldn’t be a cheeseburger without a little cheese.  ‘Cept this time, it’s yellow and tastes like icing.

And of course, gotta add the patty, a veggie burger patty or a beef patty, or.. perhaps a Swiss Chocolate patty, it’s your choice, really.  When you’re in charge, the opportunities are really sky-high.

We’re skipping the onions and the mayo and the lettuce and the tomato and the pickles, but don’t skimp on the ketchup and relish now.

Top those suckers off with the other half of the bun, and you’re good to go…

Almost.  A cheeseburger isn’t a cheeseburger without the cheese, but it also isn’t a cheeseburger without the sesame seeds on the slicked up bun.  Again, we’re all about options and different opportunities, so since my cupboards failed to provide me with any sesame seeds, I slicked these buns up with a bit of orange juice, and stuck on some flakes of unsweetened coconut to give it more of a realistic look.

And there you have it, cheeseburger cupcakes at their finest.  What else can we make to go along with these?  I propose a challenge.  Someone make up some fries, or shit, some soda pops.  Can’t have a burger without the full meal deal now can we?   My hypothetical crystal ball has provided me with visions of K and I in the kitchen, whipping up batches of these babies for Cade and his pals as they celebrate their 5th birthday or whatever it may be.  And seriously, when I was a wee one, I was all about gracing my classrooms with cupcakes on my birthday, and can we say Cool Parents and an even Cooler Kid (yes, with capital letters and all) when Cade walks into his grade 3 classroom on his birthday with a platter of these?

Entry filed under: Cade, Foodie Goodness, Mamabear, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Why I Refuse to Join the Mom Bashing Club. Techie.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pattyabr  |  May 21, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    twisted pictures! yum

    Reply
  • 2. princesayasmine  |  May 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Cool! Apart from the bright yellow cheese they could be mistaken for real burgers.

    Reply
  • 3. Feeding Time  |  May 21, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    These are adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


