C25K: The Night Before

June 4, 2011 at 10:30 pm 4 comments

I am pretty stoked to be starting the C25K challenge tomorrow… morning, likely.  Stoked and nervous, but I am trying to let the stoked override the nervous, because the biggest factor in doing this is having to believe in myself, which, when the self-esteem just ain’t as high as it should be, the believing in myself part doesn’t come as naturally as it should, either.  I’m hoping to change that, and since I know only I can change it, I need to take the appropriate steps to do so.

Kyle has continuously reassured me that I can do this and my body is capable of so much more than I think it is, and that’s definitely a comforting thought.  That is the kind of support I need right now.   The main reason I am blogging about it is because I am hoping it will keep me accountable.  I know basically how many people read this, and so I feel like I can’t let y’all down, but most of all, I can’t let myself down.  If I go on and on about this, and then don’t do it, I will feel like a loser.  Like a failure.  And then I will feel let down, and I can’t let that happen.

I jogged in place tonight in our living room for ONE WHOLE MINUTE.  Go me.  It’s a start, and I can’t forget that.  The one thing I am going to have to remind myself is to pace myself, and not get caught up in having to go super fast, because that won’t be possible, unless I want to collapse, which I would like to avoid at all costs.  I am wondering if I will have to repeat week 1, or any of the other weeks, but I will take it day by day.  My plan is to do strength training on the off days, so that I am exercising every single day.  And, of course, continue with our daily walks, because those are truly wonderful.

I saw this post on Facebook, which is very inspiring and motivating.  It’s neat how she connects breastfeeding and running.  It’s refreshing to read, and it gives me the morale boost that I am needing right now.  I am HOPING to have that natural ‘runner’s high’ that you hear about.  I think if I can get that, I’ll be good to go.  Even if I can’t get that, I know I can do this.  It might take me longer than 9 weeks, it might take me 9 weeks, who knows.

Be prepared for me to do at LEAST weekly check-ins.  I’m planning on taking a picture of myself before I go, and then maybe weekly, or at least every couple of weeks, as well as a weekly weigh-in.  However, that information will not be shared.  I’m not that brave… yet.  And once again, you should join in the fun, and let me know if you’re doing so.  We’ll be a nice community of people learning to jog and feel good about ourselves.  Doesn’t that sound all nice and fuzzy?  Don’t know ’bout you, but I’m a fan of fuzzy.   Happy jogging y’all!

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

T-5 Months. C25K: Week 1 Day 1

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  June 5, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Good luck tomorrow, I can’t wait to hear how day 1 of the C25K goes! I think it’s something I’d also like to get into…Actually, I KNOW it is, I just have to get off my butt and do it! Thanks for the motivation…I don’t have a gym membership so I’d likely have to do it on my own just jogging the neighbourhood – but that’d be OK since we’re getting better weather, it’s definitely the time to be starting something like this! I don’t know why I feel apprehensive about doing it, probably because I know what a challenge it would be – but ever since you first mentioned it I’ve been mulling it over, which means I’m intrigued! So let me know how it’s going for you…I might have to buy a pair of running shoes instead of rain boots in the near future! Too bad we don’t live closer – I’d be more likely to start this immediately if I had an awesome partner to jog with!

    Reply
  • 2. laurie  |  June 5, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    hey trista good for you!!! I did the couch to 5 km on my treadmill and that was last year… i now jog really really slowly 5 km 3 times a week but gets my heartrate going and feels good.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer Rue McLellan  |  June 8, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Good for you!!! You’re inspirational!!! Wishing you all the best with this and you should keep us (PSMM) updated!

    Reply
  • 4. C25K: Week 7 Day 1 | tristadawn  |  July 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    […] 17, 2011 by tristadawn| Leave a comment I feel like it was yesterday that I was titling a post C25K: The Night Before and here I am, already completed 1/3 of week 7.  So insane.  So nuts.  Who woulda thought?   I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,820 hits

Archives


