C25K: Week 1 Day 1

June 5, 2011 at 10:17 pm 1 comment

I am going to call it a success, because only I am allowed to define it, and that’s what it was to me, a success.  I completed day 1 and I feel great, albeit a little noodly and jelly-like, but great.  I am even looking forward to what Tuesday will bring in terms of if it will be easier or harder than today.  I’m planning on doing the program Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays, with strength training on the off days, as well as daily walks with Lily & Cade, as we’ve been doing since the weather cheered up.

I weighed myself, did my measurements (biceps, thighs, calves, hips, waist) and took 3 photos – one from the front, one from the back, and one from the side.  I plan to do this regime weekly so I can monitor my progress that way as well.   I’m not quite brave enough to share those results with y’all, so I’ll just keep them in my secret little book for only my eyes, and Kyle’s.

So, was it hard?  Yes, it was very hard.  There was more than one moment where I felt if my foot hit the pavement one more time, surely I was goner.  And there definitely cannot be any more breaths left in me to take, because I’m pretty sure I’m in the midst of taking the last bit of breath I have in my body.  But there were a lot more breaths, and there were a lot more steps taken.  I didn’t give up at all.  I also wondered if I should maybe walk through one of the 60 second runs, but I didn’t.  My run may have been slower, but I really had to concentrate on pacing myself, and focusing on breathing, and telling myself that this was something I could do.  I was doing it.

The third run was probably the hardest.  I felt as if I was in a valley, and I had just come to a massive hill that I had to get over, and the only way around it, was to jog.  And so I did.  It was rough and tough, and there was sweat and almost tears.  I felt emotional when I was running.  It was a beautiful Sunday morning, I had just ate breakfast with my boys, and I was out there conquering a fear.  That is one of the biggest reasons for me taking on this challenge.  Clearly I am hoping to see some results in terms of fitness & lifestyle, physical health stuff, but I am tackling a fear, and that’s huge.  Doing this program is so meaningful to me in so many ways, and thinking of it like that made me feel so very sentimental and emotional.  Also, the almost tears were a direct result of OMFG, THIS IS BRUTAL.  MY LUNGS.  MY LEGS!

On my 5 minute cool down, I felt proud.  I could feel it in my bones, and I could absolutely feel it in my muscles.  I started having weird back spasms, and I’m not sure why.  I guess my core had just taken a beating, and it had to let me know that.  Things hurt me in places I didn’t know could hurt.  I felt pain I hadn’t felt before.  But mostly, I could feel it in my heart.  I know, sounds super cheeseball and really pathetic and I am almost on the verge of becoming a preachy fitness guru, but this got me going.  This got me thinking positively.  When I wanted to tell myself to stop, I told myself to KEEP THIS SHIT GOING!  Not only could I not let the people down who I am accountable to (YOU, dear readers, along with the few of you that are taking this journey with me!), but most of all, I couldn’t let myself down.  If I had stopped, I would have felt like crap.  The stinkiest, biggest piece of crap ever.  Like a really bad up-the-diaper, smeared on the back diaper kind of crap.  And that just won’t work for me.  Right now, I feel like I could take on the world, and while that may seem drastic seeing as I’ve only completed 1 day of the program, that is exactly the kind of start I need.

If you’re doing this C25K, let me know in comments and we can motivate each other and remain accountable!

Entry filed under: C25K. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: The Night Before Reflections of a Day.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. C25K: Week 9 Day 3, The End! | tristadawn  |  August 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    […] conquered a fear.  I went from a place of complete and utter exhaustion after several interval runs of 60 seconds each, to this, to 30 minutes of running non-stop, and to feeling like I could continue to pound the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


