C25K: Week 1 Day 2

June 7, 2011 at 8:51 am Leave a comment

Day 2, check!  Mission complete, and it’s only 8:30am.  This morning exercise thing is awesome, seriously.  I felt like death when I woke up this morning at 7.  I’m not generally a morning person (because I stay up too late) and I didn’t sleep well (things on thee mind!) but once I got moving, I felt great, and I forgot how tired I was.

I took Lily with me this time (Cade was still sleeping, plus, no jogging stroller up in here), and I’m pretty sure she loved it.  Except, my run is, for her, a fast walk.  Sigh.  Pretty discouraging when you look down and see your pup leisurely walking fast while I am dying to get just one more breath in.  Each time I’d look down at her, I’d hope that she would at least have progressed to a slow run, so that I could feel like I was really killing day 2.  Didn’t happen, but I still feel like I conquered day 2 even harder than I did day 1.

I listened to the podcast from kissmyblackass once again, and those tunes are SO good for running.  I’ve always really liked working out to hip-hop, but running to hip-hop is fabulous.  My favourite tunes off of Week 1 Podcast are definitely the Diddy track and the LL Cool J track.  Pretty sure they make me run at a faster pace too, which doesn’t hurt at all.   I think when I go on Thursday, as much as I love this podcast, I’m going to try a new one, just to keep things fresh.

In comparison to day 1, day 2 was easier but still extremely hard.  I felt like my lungs had a little bit more air in them, my legs a bit more give, which was comforting seeing as I was a bit concerned that my difficulty getting out of bed this morning would hinder my workout.  I don’t think they did, but I’d love to be able to invest in some kind of GPS something-or-other so I can measure my distance and pace.   I think it would help in terms of pushing myself harder each time, and I’m just curious as to my progression day by day, week by day.

(So it seems this blog may have turned into a bit of a fitness and nutrition combined with mamahood blog.  I’m okay with this.  In fact, it gives me a definite focus and I’m loving on that.)

My food choices have been really positive too, and like I mentioned last night, I feel like I am on a good path.  The one struggle I know I am going to have, is making healthy choices when I am out of the comfort of my own home.  It’s not as easy then, being out of routine and what not.  Also, summer season is generally harder, though there’s always excuses for every season (holidays, weddings, parties).  I need to focus on limiting myself but not seeing it as a punishment.  I need to look at it as a reward, nourishment for my body and my soul.  I can treat myself, I’m not going to give up everything, but it has to be just that, a treat.  Before I started the C25K, I asked Kyle if I could have a blizzard after I did the first day.  (NOTE: When I say ask, I don’t mean that he is the controller of all things food, because that certainly is not the case!)  Of course, he asked me why I would want to do that, and instead focused on me coming up with a more positive reward that wouldn’t make me feel like shit about myself.  He’s onto me!

It’s amazing what running does to a person.  This interview, not gonna lie, has been on my mind constantly.  I’ve been off work and am totally not in a work frame of mind, which is my biggest struggle with studying for it.  I’m not constantly worrying about it, but constantly thinking about it, formulating thoughts and answers in my head, and while I was out this morning doing my thang, I was able to forget about it.  Actually, I don’t think it popped into my head once.  Super effective form of deflecting my thoughts.  Like, more effective than heroin or cocaine, probably.  Because I would know.

Day 3 is a new day, and I’m excited to see what new progressions Thursday will bring in terms of lung capacity, pace, and general feeling.  After Sunday’s run, I sat around for a couple hours with a sore throat.  Do you know that feeling?  From dryness and breathing in through the mouth.  Today, I can barely feel it and I almost forgot I was already out and about this morning.  That feels GOOD!  I’m telling you guys, I don’t know what’s taking over me, but I love it.  My attitude has completely shifted and this is both freaking me out and keeping me on my toes.

So my fellow C25K’ers, how was day 2?

Entry filed under: C25K, Foodie Goodness, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Reflections of a Day. Wednesdays Are Good for Tears.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


