C25K: Week 2 Day 1

June 12, 2011 at 10:22 pm 3 comments

I decided to push myself and carry on with the program.  No dilly dallying, no repeating weeks here.  Yet.   I am sort of competitive but don’t let on that I am because I am somewhat a peacemaker too.   I lose at Scrabble every time Kyle and I play, and it makes me so very mad, fuming with intense anger and rage.  (NOTE: Teach your son how to compete respectively and maturely.)  BUT I win at Crib every time we play, and it makes me so happy, like major happy dance happy.  I get kind of jerky about it.  It’s only fair though – you win some, you lose some right?  WRONG.  I hate losing.

So with that comes my innate characteristic of being competitive with myself.  However, this doesn’t show up as often as it could, because I don’t push myself nearly as often as I should.  I want to win.  I want to finish the 9 weeks of C25K and be able to jog 5km.  Will I be able to do it in 30 minutes?  Perhaps.  I HOPE so.  THAT is my ultimate goal right now – and whether or not I will achieve that particular time (5km in 30 minutes) at the end of C25K week 9, we shall see.

I think that there are several reasons why I have so far been successful at sticking to the routine of getting up and running in the mornings:

1) Competitiveness and Pride – I have told myself I can and will do this, and there is no backing down.  I have challenged myself, and my brain and heart and body must win over the naysayers (of which there are 0 self-proclaimed but I guess I moreso mean the negative self-talk that sometimes pops in during my run to say hello, sucka).

2) Accountability – First, I have myself, as per point 1.  And then, I have you, dear readers.  I have spilled it all to you, I have sold my soul to the C25K at your discretion.  I can’t fail you, I can’t fail myself, and I can’t have anyone saying “I told you so” after I quit and resume being a sloth.  Oh!  Also, the people who have joined in on doing this with me.  I am counting on you, and you are counting on me, I think.  And if you aren’t, don’t tell me, ’cause I think you are and it helps get me into gear.

3) Degree of Difficulty – This program, for me, is HARD.  It’s a definite challenge, it makes me sweat like I’ve never sweat before, and it cuts into my breathing and reminds me to breathe from the very depths of my lungs, fill them with air, and exhale slowly and deeply.  Before I began the program, I asked myself “How could running for 1 minute be so hard?”  Slapped my face on that one.  My red, super red, cherry tomato post-jog face.  Day 1 kicked my ass HARD and that revved me even more into wanting to take this challenge on.

4) Health – I’ve talked about it before, and I’ve taken on many exercise routines before, and eventually, I got bored.  Interval training, and HARD interval training at that, has so far been a success.  I realize it’s only been 1 full week and 1 day, but I firmly believe that is SUCH a good start.  I got through week 1 and celebrated my accomplishments.  I got through day 1 of week 2 and was so extremely proud.  I am doing it and I feel SO good after.  The runs burn, oh how they burn so hard, but afterwards when I’m rehydrating and catching some rest, I can reflect on the diamond in the rough.

Day 1 of week 2 felt about as hard as day 1 of week 1 felt, maybe slightly less so in that I felt like my recovery walks were faster, and I was able to catch my breath in between runs a lot faster.  It’s so rewarding and so refreshing seeing progress.  It definitely gives me that boost I need.  This morning, as we were in Lloydminster visiting my family, Kyle and I were able to go on our run together.  It was so nice to be able to do that.  I’ve mentioned before how running is therapeutic.  It has the same therapeutic abilities when done with a partner, as well.  It’s fun to have someone right there cheering you on, encouraging you, and praising you when you’ve made it.  Someone to encourage you to take a detour and jog up the little hill.

Once again, as was with week 1 day 1, the third run was the most difficult.  It’s like my brain was like, “oh, so THIS is what we’re doing.  It’s not just a once or twice type of deal, this is for real.” and then it kicks into oh shit can we actually do this? mode and then run 4 comes and it chills out a little bit and realizes that this is what we’re in for.  I have come to realize that, for me, when I’m running, attitude is key.  It is absolutely central to how I go about taking on this challenge.  More than once did I say “I’m going to die” and have to rearrange my thoughts and instead say “I am DOING it!”  Positive self-talk is totally amazing.  Not only in running, but in so many facets of our life.  (One at a time!)  I find that not only telling myself these things in my head, but talking OUT LOUD to myself while running is super helpful.  Try it!  It’s kind of like that whole, if it sucks, just smile and you’ll feel better, mantra.

Once I complete a run and recuperate from it, I am actually very excited for the next day’s run, which in this case, will be Tuesday.  To better facilitate the whole competitive aspect of this, I really need to invest in some kind of pace/distance tracking device.  I love seeing what I am capable of, because for so long, I didn’t believe I was capable of as much as I totally am, or as much as I should’ve believed myself to be.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 1 Day 3 C25K: Week 2 Day 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lojo  |  June 13, 2011 at 9:10 am

    So glad to hear you pressed on :) I remember experiencing that hump back in 1978 when I was on a legit work out plan, and my trainer and assistant trainer (my mom) urged me to stick to it. Good for you for taking this on. Chest bump! I’m trying to do a weight routine in the mornings again (in my living room). It’s going so-so. Haha. I mean to leave comments more often but your blog is one of the blogs I tend to hit when I’m on my phone, and cell phone posting sucks :) Have a great one.

    Reply
  • 2. tristadawn  |  June 13, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Hey Lindsay, thanks for stopping by and reading! That’s awesome you are doing a weight routine in your home. I need to add strength training onto my days, too. One step at a time. :)
    I would love a trainer. There are so many questions I’d love to ask. However, google works great for that too.
    Cell phone posting DOES suck. Boo.
    Take care & hope you’re doing well. Are you ever going to get back into blogging?

    Reply
    • 3. Lojo  |  June 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm

      Google is an amazing thing. In this day and age, you can do most of the basics in your own living room, while watching TV even. Boo yeah. And good timing with the inquisition about my blogging. I wrote my first post in seven months last night. Should be posting every other day or so from here on. Happy jogathon! Take care.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


