C25K: Week 2 Day 2

June 14, 2011 at 10:29 pm 1 comment

I can’t believe how bearable this is getting.  Read carefully: bearable.  Not easy.  If it gets easy, I think I’m doing something wrong and need to up my game.  I’ve blogged about it before, but I am so amazed by how my lung capacity has increased and how quickly I have noticed a difference.  Even when I’m just sitting here, blogging, doing nothing, my breathing isn’t as shallow.  It’s deep and it comes straight from within.  When I’m running, it’s the same.  I still get out of breath, and I’m still not so sure I could chat while running, but it’s improving by the day.

I actually tackled day 2 at 6am this morning.  This is HUGE for me because I am not a morning person.  But, the thing is, I think I actually MIGHT be a morning person, I just always tell myself I’m not because I like to stay up late.  Thing is, I felt absolutely super when I got home.  It was an excellent time of day to be outside exercising.  The weather was perfect, a bit of a ‘chill’ in the air, minimal traffic, and a few people out walking their dogs, or getting their jogging in for the day.  It was beautiful.

When I’m back at work (PANIC PANIC ANXIETY AGHH) I am thinking I’ll have to fit in my exercise in the morning before we get Cade up and ready.  Like, I’m talking 5:30am.  Which sounds absolutely INSANE to me, but I figure, if I sort of ease myself into it now, it might not be so traumatic.  I’d rather exercise early in the morning when Cade is still sleeping, rather than right after work (which there will be no time for anyway, what with rushing home to eat supper and spend as much quality time as I can with my boy), or after Cade is in bed.  I am exhausted at the end of the day now, can’t imagine once I’m back at work.  So, looks like morning is basically the only feasible option.  However, since it will be winter, that is going to be a different, cold and dreary story.  We’ll trudge through.  It’s all about attitude.  I have learned that so much from doing this program.  So no, not a cold and dreary story, it is going to be a wonderful and balanced way to jump start my day, stay healthy, while ensuring precious time saved for my family.  Yup.  That’s what.

Verdict on W2D2 – easier than W2D1, and perhaps, easier than W1D1, maybe just on par with it though.  I am so excited to see what my body can do, to push myself to the limit.  I need to remember though, if I have to redo a week, then I do.  Not a big deal.  However, my plan right now is to just go ahead with each week, and see how it goes.  If I decide that repeating a week is a far better option and will help me to feel more conditioned and confident, then that’s what I’m going with.

I can’t believe how much I have started to look forward to, crave, even, the next run.  The next high.  It’s an addiction and I can totally see why.  It’s therapeutic and energizing.  I can’t imagine doing this on a treadmill, as I had originally planned.  I can’t see myself being an outdoors winter runner, so come winter, I may be gym-bound, which I guess… will have to be okay.  But outdoors is just much better, so much more refreshing, and as I’ve been told, more difficult.  Three days a week is perfect, however, there have been a couple times where I have thought to myself, maybe I should crank it up a notch and add one more day.  We’ll see.  Maybe when I’m more of a seasoned runner.

Thursday is a new day, which will be the final day of week 2.  Can’t wait to see what week 3 will bring.

How are you all doing with the program?  Remember, come join in on the fun – check out how the program works over at Cool Running. 

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 2 Day 1 C25K: Week 2 Day 3

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  June 14, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    You are a true inspiration, wow – congrats on how awesome you’re doing! I don’t think I could handle the early start, although it’s true when I’ve been up early (and slept decently the night before) I do feel energized getting going on the day when everything still seems ‘fresh’ if that makes sense! I just don’t know given my current routines with Andrew if I’d be able to hack that kind of start to the day, so I commend you for taking that plunge!

    I’ve decided enough is enough and I am seriously going to do this as well (not early in the morning maybe, but I will do it, oh yes, I will!) I have to give myself a few more days to get over this cold/bug thing I’ve had, but as soon as I’m feeling back to normal, the C25K is my next challenge! Thanks so much for posting about your experience and inspiring me (and others) to go for it!

    XOXO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


