C25K: Week 2 Day 3

June 16, 2011 at 8:31 pm 1 comment

Week 2, CHECK!  I did it I did it I did it.  It was hard but mostly it was SO good.  I am so loving the podcasts, and they are helping me to keep my heart going, my lungs expanding, and my feet hitting the pavement, one step at a time.

I completed my third and final run of the week this evening, and I have determined that I am not an evening runner.  That just blows my mind, because I used to proclaim myself as “not a morning person.”  Turns out I am.  At least in the exercise sense.  I think part of it has to do with the fact that, as I talked about last time, I am going to be a morning exerciser soon enough, so what better time to ease into it than now?  Could be the weather, could just be that my peak energy lies within my body first thing in the morning, who knows, whatever it is, it inhibits my body by 7am in the morning.  Of course, winter could be a different story.

Tonight was hard.  I was struggling, and tonight was probably the first time where I have somewhat dreaded going out to exercise.  I would have gone this morning, but Kyle was gone for a couple days, so I really had no choice.  Once I got moving, and breathing the fresh air in, I felt way better and there was no turning back.  I’m glad I went after all.  I totally experience the runner’s high, and feel so giddy after I get home.   One thing I do have an issue with is: CRAMPS.  How do I avoid them and why do I get them?  Does anyone have tips?  There has been more than one occasion where I feel like I could push myself harder, but the cramps just get me down down down.

I’m anxious to start week 3 on Sunday, but also slightly nervous as to what it will bring.  It is going to be hard, rough n tumble hard, a challenge, but I am ready for it.  I have decided I am not going to repeat a week until I try the next week, does that make sense?  Attitude is everything and I think if I tell myself I can do it, I will do it.  I’m already thinking of the finish line, at the end of 9 weeks, what will I do?  I’ve thought about re-doing the whole program, and just really focusing on my pace and increasing my speed then.  We’ll see when I get to the end of 9 weeks.

To top my run off, I put on my own music for the cool down/last walking portion, and I had one of ‘those moments.’  You know how they go – you’re listening to music, and a certain song comes on, and it totally fits with the environment or situation you are in.  I love those moments, oh those fleeting moments.  They’re somethin’ special.   So the pooch, my cherry tomato red face and myself were all coolin’ down, making our way home, and the evening summer breeze was gentle enough to cool us off but not overwhelm, and then this song came on as part of DJ Shakes’ Summer Chill mix:

And it was just perfect.  I had just completed 2 weeks of a program, 1 year ago, I probably would have balked at if you told me I’d do it, and I was on my way home to see my boys.  I couldn’t have asked for more.  Well maybe I could’ve, because I should mention, I saw a spilled DQ blizzard cup on the road, and for just a split second, I pictured myself hopping in the car for a Double Fudge Cookie Dough blizzard.  I literally had to look away and focus on something else, like my breathing, or something that I could totally control, because ugh, food food food!  Ice cream!  It was hot and I felt this sense of “I should reward myself.”  That reminds me, I still have to blog about food issues that have been present in my life.  Oh food, how we love thee.

Anyway, week 1 and week 2 have been successful, in my own terms.  I am so excited by the challenge of this, and I am so excited to see what my body CAN do and what I have been telling it it can’t do all this time.  Week 3, you’re on.

Entry filed under: C25K, Foodie Goodness, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 2 Day 2 Day of the Dad.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom Cades grandma  |  June 16, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Thats awesome Trista, so proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,748 hits

Archives


