C25K: Week 3 Day 1

June 20, 2011 at 11:56 am 2 comments

Wow, just wow.  If you would have said “Yeah, you can run for 3 minutes straight” once again I would have laughed SO hard in your face.  But turns out, it is possible.  Dreadful at times, excruciating, and hard, but possible and doable, as I proved to myself today.  Two times, in fact, coupled with two 90 second runs as well.  (90 second run, 90 second walk, 3 minute run, 3 minute walk and then repeat the cycle again)

I guess I should clarify, when I say run, what I really mean is jog very super slowly.  I wonder to myself, I could probably walk faster than I’m jogging, so why don’t I just walk fast?  But nope, I won’t do that.  I am stubborn kinda.  If I can jog, I’m going to jog.  I am pushing myself, but not over and above my limits, and not to the point where I will be discouraged.  That’s also one of the beauties – I know my limits, I set them, and I won’t push them more than I am capable of.

So yes, it was hard.  I had to definitely tap into my brain and re-wire my thinking to more positive, encouraging thoughts, because when I started the 5 minute warm-up, and was aware that a 3 minute run was in my very near future, I was feeling disheartened.  I told myself, if I can do this, then I can run a marathon.  I re-wired that thought once again, I can do this and I will run a marathon.  Also, when I was running, and felt the excruciating pain, and my breathing was struggling, I spoke out loud to myself, I said “go go go, keep moving forward, kick some ass” (yes, I said “kick some ass” – slightly embarassed by that, but when adrenaline takes over, it takes over.)

Again, I felt the emotional surge of “holy shit, I’m doing this.”  It’s kind of a neat feeling actually.  It gives me a sense of power, a sense of fear conquering, which I love.  I think back to the day when Cade was born, and what my body was able to accomplish.  If I can do that, I can do anything.  I refuse to let fear guide me, and I refuse to let it get in my way.  I want to take it on, I want to challenge the fear that lies within me, because I can still feel it in there sometimes.  I want to get rid of it, and this is one of the first steps of doing so.  When I was pregnant, I was not fearful of my body labouring and birthing a child.  I really do believe that helped me to have the type of birthing experience I had, and I want to feel the same about jogging, and believing in my body and all that it is capable of.  Fear is a nasty and unfair emotion, but I do understand the beauty of it.  Fear allows us to overcome things, and in turn, allows us to feel good and proud of our accomplishments.  That is exactly what I am doing and I do feel like this is just the beginning.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Day of the Dad. C25K: Week 3 Day 2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nascargal98  |  June 20, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    I want you to know that I have really enjoyed reading your blog. I have completed W3 D1 myself. I am doing the program MWF. I have felt many of the things that you have talked about. I am really enjoying the program. And I know I can be successful with this program. I look forward to future blog posts and good luck on your journey.

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  June 21, 2011 at 1:09 am

    That’s so awesome that you’re seeing such amazing results so quickly. And keeping such a positive attitude when it starts feeling difficult. When we were on our bike ride the other day, I said to James at one point, ‘There is NO WAY I’ll make it up that hill, I will have to get off my bike and walk, seriously I will not make it!’ Well, as hard as I had to work to get up that hill, I DID IT and I didn’t have to walk my bike! It was a small feat maybe (to the people who sped past us on their bikes, but given how muscular the woman’s calves were, I’m guessing she bikes all the time so I can’t compare myself to her!!) but it felt so amazing to me to accomplish something that felt so hard to do. While I was struggling I told myself, ‘You birthed a child, YOU CAN DO THIS!!!’ It really is something you can compare anything else to, and realize that if you can get through that, you truly can get through anything else you put your mind to!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


