C25K: Week 3 Day 3

June 24, 2011 at 10:53 am 4 comments

Three weeks down, six to go.  I am a third of the way done and I cannot believe it.  In six weeks, I apparently (I mean.. I WILL BE) jogging for 30 minutes straight.  I feel kind of like a liar when I call it the C25K, because I am definitely not walking/jogging 5km when I go out.  I mapped it out on Google maps and it’s about MAYBE 2km.   Ugh.  Made me feel like a bit of a shit when I first figured that out, but I (once again) reconfigured my thinking and reminded myself that it is not about distance right now, it is about completion, inner drive, and perseverance.  When I can run for 30 minutes straight, I’ll worry about distance then and achieving my absolute ‘distance goal.’

So day 3, when I finished it, I felt like gold.  And then I thought about what’s to come next week.  It’s so hard not to peek ahead and see what’s in store, but I did and I have been and I should really just QUIT THAT.  Next week it’s a lot more running and a heckuva lot less walking.  Can I run for 5 minutes straight?  Of course I can.  Just have to pace, pace, pace myself like no other.  I am constantly amazed by my breathing and my increased strength.  Every day it seems like the time required to catch my breaths in between runs is shorter and shorter and that just makes me happier and happier.

I can never remember what I’ve already blogged about, because I’m blogging so much about the program, but I have realized that I am absolutely a morning exerciser rather than an evening one.  I never thought I would be, but I am.  The key for me is just making sure I get to bed at a decent hour, which is difficult because the evenings are my relaxing time and our couple relaxing time.   But I’ve done the run in the morning and in the evening, and I’ve found I have way more energy in the mornings.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but I’m going to gradually have to start getting up earlier to do this so I can condition my body to get up early early (and I’m talking early) for when I’m back to work.

I’ve still got the runner’s high and addiction process going on, working itself through my body.  I cannot wait until Sunday.  I can’t wait until I finish the run and can have that “I did it” feeling again, because it blows me away.  As much as I like to think I can’t believe I’m doing it, in my heart, deep down, through all the nitty gritty can’ts and negative thought processes, I know I can do it, so it shouldn’t be that surprising.  Go me Go me Go me!   Talking to myself really helps when I’m feeling stuck in a rut like I can’t take one more step.  I tell myself out loud, GO, MOVE, GO FORWARD.  I picture my feet hitting the pavement, I picture the wind carrying me.  All these little things work for me.  I smile, and I carry on, and I try to figure out my breathing so I don’t feel all collapsey and such.  The power of the mind is amazing, let it guide you, let it take you where you want to, need to and CAN go.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 3 Day 2 C25K: Week 4 Day 1

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adam  |  June 24, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Go you! =) I was so happy when I finished Week 3! I’m on Week 4 now, and it’s definitely hard getting through the 5 minutes, especially with my asthma as bad as it is, but once you get there it’s so worth the feeling. The first jog after the warm up walk is a three minute jog, and I was actually shocked when the app on my phone dinged and said “walk” while I was jogging. It didn’t even feel like it had been three minutes, yet when I was doing the three minute jogging in week 3, it felt like forever! Keep it up! I can’t wait to hear how Week 4 goes for you!

    Reply
  • 2. Suzie Cordova  |  June 25, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Trista – I am new to your blog, and I just have to say…get out of my head!! You are writing every single feeling that I have experienced since starting C25K back in February. Every single struggle, every doubt, and every victory that you have written about, I have felt the exact same way. And look at us!! Kicking ass and taking names! I just finished Week 5 Day 3 this morning (in case you’re doing the math, I’ve had a few stops and starts, including a month off), and I cried when I was done because I couldn’t believe I was the same woman who could hardly jog a minute without dying. I think I felt something shift in that precise moment. I am no longer afraid. I don’t just wonder if I can do it, I KNOW I can do it. And so can you!! I can’t wait to read your future posts. You add to the inspiration I get from other runners. Keep it up, and I’ll see you at the finish line!

    Reply
  • 3. tristadawn  |  June 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks you two for the support! I love this community of blogging runners. Just more people to be accountable to, and to receive and send those positive vibes to and fro. You guys motivate me. We CAN do this. Know how I know that? Besides the fact that we’re friggin’ amazing? Because we ARE doing this. GO US GO US GO US!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lojo  |  June 26, 2011 at 8:57 am

    God damn, I could use an addiction to working out right now :) Wicked job at keeping up and completing your goals. Chest bump!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,748 hits

Archives


