C25K: Week 4 Day 2

June 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm 2 comments

So, pretty much halfway done the program, and guess what?  Last night’s run was probably my worst one yet.  Sigh.  I was feeling pretty down in the dumps about it ,but I really need to just get back on track, realize that hard days are bound to happen, and keep on trucking, which is exactly what I will do.

I think day 2 was so hard this week because a) I did it at 9:30 at night and I am not an evening exerciser b) I had 2 Mojitos earlier that evening and/or c) I also split some samosas with a friend prior to.  All of these things had me feeling bogged down and not as energetic as I know I am capable.  Part of the reason I NEED to absolutely blog about this program, and especially this week, is to continue to tell myself that it is okay, that I need to keep pressing on, and most of all, that I did it, regardless of HOW hard it was, I completed the run and I didn’t stop once.  Well, except for when Lily decided to crap all over the sidewalk, but that was during a walk, so it’s all good.  I was crawling along the sidewalk, nearly falling flat on my face, but I didn’t stop.  I talked out loud, once again, and told myself to GOGOGOGO, DON’T STOP, GOGOGOGO!

I have to really work on doing these runs in the morning, or else it’s just a write-off.  I mean, it’s not, because I’m still doing them, but my energy levels and my capability to complete the run are not living up to my own personal standards of how I know I can run just a tiny bit faster, breathe a little bit better, and run a little more proper.  All of those things take up SO much of my mindspace, it really is therapeutic and fills my head with awesome thoughts of figuring out what my body is doing, and what it SHOULD be doing.

Again, my distance was not 5km.  I mapped it out and it was the same as last time, 3.86km, even though I did a totally different route.  Keep in mind, 3.86km over probably about 34 minutes.  I cannot feel down about the fact that at this rate, it’s going to take me nearly an hour to complete a 5k.  That’s not what this is about for me.  Yes it’s called the ‘Couch to 5K’ program, but it’s more than that.  It ain’t just about the 5k, eventually, that will be my goal, but maybe I will start smaller than that.  I saw a race in the fall for a 2km and I am considering it.  THAT I know I could do, and a 5k?  Yes, that too, but just not right now.  I could do it if I walked and ran, but that’s where I’m at right now.

Kyle and I made myself a super-sweet headband for running.  It’s made out of a shirt that we shrunk in the dryer (accidentally) so brilliant me decided to cut off a textured neckline of the shirt and Kyle helped me sew it into a headband.  I should say, Kyle DID sew it in a headband, because I sure as hell did not do any sewing.  It makes me feel somewhat like an athlete, which helps to boost the ol’ ego.  Plus, it keeps my hair off my face and minimizes annoyances.  Success.

So, day 3, you’re on, and I am going to KILL YOU.  Thursday morning, 7:00am, day 3 and I have a date.  A very hot date, a date in which I am going to dominate and take on with all I’ve got.  Will report back.

How’s it going fellow C25K’ers?  I know you’re reading… ;)

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

I am my boy’s mommy. C25K: Week 4 Day 3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  June 29, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Congrats on finishing day 2! I swear that the second day of each week is the worst because there isn’t a challenge of the first day, and there isn’t that rush of completion with day 3… I’m not looking forward to week 4 because I’ll be on vacation and doing it in a hotel fitness center… ugh!

    I had a similar experience re: eating and not doing c25k in the morning. I ate a burrito after drinking beer / brewing all morning for week 2 day 2, and it was awful. (TMI moment: i tried to take a swig of water during one of the run sections and dribbled it all over my face because my stomach refused any more liquid).

    This program is challenging because the idea of a 5k is the end goal. But to repeat the age-old mantra: it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.

    I’ll be hitting the treadmill tomorrow morning at 7 too, so know that you don’t suffer alone… ha!

    Reply
  • 2. sahuaroo  |  June 29, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Second day completed, it wasn’t that good as i expected :(
    Boomer and I did finish, we are morning dog/person but eating that delicious burger last night wasn’t a good decision (and deep down i knew i would regret it), i always eat properly, but last night my dad insisted, so today i felt so heavy :( Won’t be making that mistake again for sure.

    I think is great you’re bloggin your progress, i’ve been thinking about it too, maybe i’ll do it =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


