C25K: Week 4 Day 3

June 30, 2011 at 10:32 am 5 comments

Oh god, alright, okay, let me compose myself.  Can I just say something about week 4?  IT WAS BRUTAL!  I don’t know why, but I can venture a couple guesses: 1) the heat 2) the running distances were stepped RIGHT up coupled with a LOT less walking.

Week 4 was the first week the negative voices tried to take over and knock me down, but I knocked them down instead.  They tried to tell me that I couldn’t do it, and that I should stop and just walk because I’m barely running anyway.  They also yelled at me and said that I suck and I was going too slow.   Seems I’m always having to talk out loud to myself to shut them up, because sometimes they can get very loud and VERY overpowering, and I don’t want none of that in my run, let alone my life.  So, I shut them up and shut them down baby.

Still, week 4 kicked my ass a little bit more than I kicked its ass, but I still finished it, and I didn’t stop once.  That is my golden rule, NO STOPPING unless I am honest to goodness on the verge of death.  And while I have tried to convince myself that if I didn’t stop, I would likely die, I genuinely have NOT felt like I was going to keel over, and so, I’ve had no reason to stop.

I was feeling a bit down in the dumps once again today because it was just SO hard, but it was hot and I was warm and sweaty and and it was early in the morning.  However, the early in the morning thing worked to my advantage for sure.  However, when I got back and mapped out my distance, it was 3.7km as opposed to 3.86km on Tuesday night.  But my run today was 4 minutes less than Tuesday’s, so I suppose .1km could be achieved in 4 minutes, yes?  Seems I’m consistently running the same distance.  And while I KNOW it’s about the journey and NOT the silly destination, I want to see those numbers a-rising, but I am really pushing myself to the very extent of my abilities, I do believe.  I’m going to just have to keep on pushin’ and do what I can do.  I’m likely going to do the program again, actually, I AM going to do the program again, right after I finish week 9 day 3, so then I can focus on increasing speed and distance.  Right now, I’m learning to breathe, run, and trust myself, because trusting myself is the hardest part of it all.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 4 Day 2 C25K: Week 5 Day 1

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  June 30, 2011 at 11:32 am

    You’re doing AWESOME and don’t let those voices ever tell you otherwise!! Just the fact that you are out there DOING IT means everything! XO

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  June 30, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    you did it! you may not see results in distance, but think about how few people actually make it more than halfway through c25k? girrrrl, you’re probably in the 70th percentile of completion!

    have you considered trying out the timed c25k rather than the distance ones to change things up?

    Reply
  • 3. tristadawn  |  June 30, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Thanks you two!!

    Lori: what is the timed C25K? I think it might be what I’m doing – it’s just that I map my route on google maps every time I finish haha. I use podcasts and it tells me after 5 mins, 3 mins, etc. whether I am to walk or run. Is that the timed C25K?

    Reply
  • 4. Lori  |  June 30, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Oh, I see. I thought maybe you were doing the distance one (e.g. run .8K, walk .2k…)

    I’m doing mine on a treadmill but the display has worn out so I have no idea how far I have gone. I’m going to venture a guess of less than one mile, though.

    Reply
  • 5. Adam  |  June 30, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Good for you! Keep it up. I’m consistently having to tell those “voices” to shut up so I can finish my runs! It really does get easier. After I finished Week 4 and looked ahead at Week 5, I just kept telling myself that if I can make it through a three minute run and a five minute run with only 90 seconds between, then I can definitely make it through three five minute runs with a three minute walk between each. And you know what, I made it through day one of week five!

    Once you start running for longer times, your distance will increase and you’ll eventually get to that 5k mark. Even if you have a slightly slower pace, you’ll get there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


