C25K: Week 5 Day 1

July 4, 2011 at 10:55 am 4 comments

On a little mini-vacation at my mom’s so Sunday morning meant that Kyle and I were able to do our run together, which is always a super nice treat.  This time though, my brother and his girlfriend joined us too, which proved to be loads of fun, and kind of a slap in the face, too.  They aren’t doing the C25K program, but they are aware that we are, and so they decided to come out for the run and join us.  And lo and behold, guess who was at the front of the pack for most of the run, not huffing and puffing like yours truly?  Sigh sigh double sigh.  There is NO way I could have been able to do Week 5 Day 1 just like that, shit, Week 1 Day 1 was hard enough when I did it.

So, I will say that I did find W5D1 a tad easier than week 4, but it was STILL super hard and I STILL had some creeping negativity trying to invade my workout.  Especially when I saw those farts leading the pack with me bringing up the super slow rear.  And I’m talking SLOW.  I am getting better at telling myself that I am not doing this for speed.  I am 26 years old, way overweight, and how did I get here?  Did it happen overnight?  Likely not.  So I don’t expect (though sometimes desperately WISH) the transition to fit and healthy to happen overnight either, but it also ain’t taking 26 years to happen, or else I quit.

While I was on my last run, I was roughin’ it big time.  It was a challenge, a huge one at that, and I was way in the back.  Kyle would pop back occasionally to give me words of encouragement, tell me how amazing I was, and remind me that I could do this, because I was doing it.  I got a little bit upset because I was hot, sweaty and tired, and these dudes who had not been actively doing this program were totally kicking my ass and hard.  Kyle stepped in at the right time and I was able to finish the workout, no stopping.  It was hot and there were hills, but I still didn’t stop.  Did I want to stop?  Yes about a million times.  I don’t know what our distance was, because we just ran to Bud Miller Park and then ran around some trails and then looped around the lake.  It was 5 minute warm-up walk, 5 minute run, 3 minute walk, 5 minute run, 3 minute walk, 5 minute run, and then a 5 minute cool-down walk.  Day 2 will be even more running, I think 8 minutes at a time, and then day 3 of this week is 20 minutes of running with no walk intervals.  I am not going to dread it.  I am dreading the crap out of it.  My no stopping rule might be broken, but I promise I am not planning on breaking it, but it just might happen.  I always follow my body and what it tells me it needs to do.  So if it needs to stop in order to recharge, then that’s what I’ll do.  But I am not going on to week 6 until I can conquer week 5.

I am still loving the program as much as I did on the very first day.  It’s addicting as ever and it produces such a rush, a high within me, that I have never felt before.  I’ve always engaged in different workouts, exercise regimes, but this is something different.  This is a real challenge and this is a challenge in which I have to push myself, or I won’t complete it, and because I’m stubborn, I have to complete it.  Maybe not even stubborn.  I feel very determined.  It’s like there has been some kind of switch within me.  I know that I am the one doing it, but I have Cade to thank for a lot of this too.  He has jump started some serious revolution with me, and all the people around me in my life (well, most of them ;) are fueling it.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 4 Day 3 C25K: Week 5 Day 2

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  July 4, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Great blog! Keep at it, it does get easier eventually :) I lost 75 pounds myself a couple of years ago. Two babies later and I am back to lose 40. I’m on c25k for the second time, love this program!!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 6, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      Thanks so much!
      Congratulations on your success. I will pop by your blog :) I am a fan of weight loss/fitness/parenting blogs!
      Good work at doing the program again. It IS awesome and I am going to do it again! I have a lot to lose as well! Probably around 75ish.

      Reply
  • 3. Amy West  |  July 6, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Keep it up! You’re doing great. The biggest push is out the front door…!

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 6, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and for the encouraging words! You’re right, that is the biggest push of all. I still feel super riled to be completing each of these days, so that push isn’t too hard to overcome. YET. I can’t believe how much this program has taken over!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,820 hits

Archives


