C25K: Week 5 Day 2

July 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm Leave a comment

(Once again, if you’re following along, check out the C25K program and perhaps take up the program for yourself.  I’m telling you, it’s awesome and SO doable.  If I can do this, you can too.)

So while I’m still feeling excited and anxious to get out there and complete each day, I am feeling more apprehension as I set out to do the day’s routine.  W5D2 was no different.  Could I really run for 8 minutes straight?  Twice?  I nearly keeled over after 5 minutes straight on day 1, so was this really honestly doable?  I guess it had to be, because my ultimate goal was to finish the program, through and through, no matter how long it took me.

Cade had a bit of a rough time going to sleep on Monday night, so where my initial plan was to head out at 7am on Tuesday morning to get ‘er done, I ended up turning off my alarm, and going at about 10:30am, before it got too hot.  It was still warm, but the temperature was bearable and I didn’t overheat too much.  I ended up only doing about 3.6km, which is .3km less than I usually do, even though I ran more than I walked this time.  This confirms for me what I already knew – I can power walk faster than I can run/jog.  It’s a little discouraging but I am trying not to let it get the best of me.  Jogging uses different muscles than walking, and it doesn’t really matter the distance right now, does it?  I’m not doing it for distance, I am doing it as a personal goal, as a form of therapy, and as a way to enhance my life.  Distance will come, and so will speed.

I feel so much stronger, physically and mentally.  Doing this program has really shifted my whole life around, and this is only the beginning.  I can’t wait to see what it will bring.   I have already seen substantial changes in my breathing and my endurance.  And that’s up for debate, really, but only to you.  To me, my endurance has increased tenfold.  The fact that I can jog for 8 minutes straight blows my friggin’ mind.  And tomorrow is a 5 minute walk with a 20 minute jog and then a 5 minute cool-down.  I’m super anxious, nervous and apprehensive about being able to do it, but I know that I can, and so, I will.

I can do this and so I can do so many other things, if only I tell myself nice things, positive encouragement, and pump myself up, right?  Surely that is how determination works.  Can I be an inspiration to myself?  Sounds so egotistical, and I have many inspirations in my life, and never thought of myself as being one.  But what I mean is, this has encouraged me to tackle other things in my life that I am afraid of.  I don’t know what will be on my list next.  Right now I feel like I’ve got my hands full, tackling this running thing, and ensuring my eating habits fall in line, not to mention parenting a busy little boy (which isn’t about motivation, per say, but it is about learning and figuring out those at times tricky equations).  I’m not saying I’m a super busy woman, because if I was, I likely wouldn’t have the free time I do, it’s just that I don’t want to take on too much in terms of things that I need to really push myself, motivate myself, to do.

I picture our family going out for runs together and it makes me thrilled.  We can be that cutesy little family that runs marathons, ain’t that adorable?  I want to be an active family and I want to show Cade how to live a healthy lifestyle.  That is super important to me, and if I don’t model that to him, how will he know?  Not only that, but I want to try and avoid the health ailments that plague our generation.  I want to have energy to run around with my children, to play, and to create.

So with that, day 3, you’re on.  And after that, we’ve got 4 weeks to go.  Each day is as hard as the very first, so that speaks volumes.  It’s challenging and hard every single time.  If it was easy, I would get bored.  If it was too hard, I would feel discouraged and depressed.  I really want to know who is all doing this, and how you’re all doing.  I love that there’s at least a couple of us who are blogging about it, and have created a little community that way.  The others are friends that are doing it, and so we have check-ins every couple of days.  Support and accountability (to oneself, first and foremost) are critical.  Let’s do this.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 5 Day 1 C25K: Week 5 Day 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,751 hits

Archives


