C25K: Week 6 Day 1

July 10, 2011 at 11:46 pm 14 comments

I am TOTALLY and utterly ecstatic that I am more than halfway done the program.  The program that if you would’ve told me a year ago I would be completing, I seriously would have laughed in your face and de-friended you because that would have been an insult, but only because I was lacking confidence, trust, and esteem in myself.  Sigh.  Oh such a long way we’ve come, we’ve come a long way.

Can I go out on a limb and say something ridiculous?  Day 1 of this week was a breeze.  It was way easier than week 4.  When I say a breeze I don’t mean easy, I just mean the most doable week so far, probably, or at least compared to week 4, it was peanuts.  I think because you go through week 4, and it seems like a ton more running, then you do week 5, and the third day of that week is interval-less, so then doing week 6 day 1, with intervals, you get a break.  However I have read that intervals are more difficult, because the stopping and starting is tricky and messes with thee.  Not so sure about that.  We’ll see though – week 6 day 2 is the LAST DAY OF INTERVALS.  Omg, Omg, Omg.  From there on in, it’s go hard and run with only a warm-up and a cool-down.  So insane.  I remember doing week 1 and looking forward to seeing what the weeks had in store, and having slightly mild panic attacks when I realized I’d eventually run 25 minutes straight.  Actually, I didn’t even realize I’d eventually run 25 minutes straight, because I saw it as im-freaking-possible.  Turns out I have a little more faith in myself than one might have initially thought.  I am on the craziest high of my life, not that I am super familiar with tons of highs or anything, but wow.  WOW.  I want to go and conquer day 2 right now, and then day 3, and move on to week 7.  I can’t believe that before I know it, I am going to be titling a post C25K: GRADUATION, and reflecting on the weeks and the days and talking about how I completed the program.  Blows me right the heck away.

Tonight Kyle, Cade & of course my one true running companion, Lily, joined me.  I thought we could all go for a nice walk, and since I’m SUCH a slow runner, I could probably just jog alongside the stroller while Kyle pushed Cade and power-walked.  Well, well, well, wouldn’t you know, I am totally not as slow as I thought, because I had Kyle & Cade trailing behind me for blocks.  So then when my run stopped, I’d walk back and meet them, and we’d go through that cycle.  There was even a point where I turned a corner and they lost me, so I ran back towards the way I thought they went, and caught up to them.   It was such a delightful moment.  I guess I’m not as slow as I thought.  It’s bittersweet, really.  I even said to Kyle, when we first started our walk, “one rule, you can’t walk faster than I can run, because that’s embarassing.”  Not even a chance of that happening.  So the downside to this was, it wasn’t really a family outing as much as it was me doing my thing, then racing back to meet up with them.  It worked for the time being though, and at the very end when I had finished my runs and was doing my cool-down walk, I ended up jogging beside the stroller, veerrrrry slowly, because I just ‘wanted to run.’  Total cheese and crazy moment, when we got home and got in the back gate, I ran Lily’s bag o’ poo to the back garbage and said, “Why walk when you can RUNNNNNNNN!”  What a nerd, yeesh.  The other cutesy moment of the day, not that that one was cutesy, but whatevs’, was that when I was driving around doing some errands tonight, I saw a family of 4 jogging together.  It was priceless and awesome and I smiled but I don’t think they saw me.  I WANT THAT.

C25K updates!  C’mon, let’s hear ’em.  How are we doing?  Do you need some inspiration?  I want to help you and motivate you, because I am totally convinced that this is the greatest exercise program EVER and I love running and can I call myself a runner yet?  I will when I finish the program, just to be fair.  Goodnighty night my friends.  Love, sweet dreams and fluffy pillows to you all xo.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 5 Day 3 C25K: Week 6 Day 2

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzie Cordova  |  July 10, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    OMG I JUST LOVE YOU! Your wit and humor just make me smile every time I read them. I love love love your blog. And three gold stars to you for being faster than you thought you were! I had a moment like that myself, today, in a manner of speaking. My W7D3 run was 2 days ago, and my phone app said my average pace was 14:59 per mile. Today’s run was an average of 13:45 per mile. HELLO!! Who just shaved more than a whole entire minute off her time?! I couldn’t believe it. (Granted, my run today was 28 mins, as opposed to 29 mins two days ago, but still!!) GO US.

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 11, 2011 at 12:00 am

      I LOVE YOU AND YOUR COMMENTS! They make me super happy and pumped and I want to go run so I can try and write witty things for you to read. i am writing for you. hahaha. do i sound creepy yet? No, oh don’t you worry, it will come my dear, it will come.
      WHOA! good stuff for being super fast and increasing speed! isn’t it amazing? aren’t WE amazing? talk about pumping our own tires, man oh man. we rule. rule so hard! GOOOOOOOOOOOO YOU!

      Reply
  • 3. Laura  |  July 11, 2011 at 4:31 am

    Hi! I’ve just come across your blog and read back some of your C25k posts. I’m doing it too; I’ve got up to W3D2 so far, with the 3rd run for week 3 coming up on Wednesday. It’s so encouraging to read from someone who is a bit ahead of me and how it’s going! Bookmarking your blog to follow the rest of your journey!

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 11, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Hey, thanks for reading! Good for you for taking on the challenge and for making it that far already, that’s AWESOME! It’s not easy but it sure is amazing the feeling you get, and the progress you can see within yourself. Keep on reading and I’m glad to have you on board. I will be sure to check out your blog too :) Good luck with everything!

      Reply
  • 5. brittanynickles  |  July 11, 2011 at 7:52 am

    AWESOME! I never actually believed in the whole “Runner’s High” schpeal, but you totally have it! It’s so exciting to see how awesome you have become over the last couple weeks. Funny how quickly we can become the people that we used to envy on the roads, isn’t it? I do that sometimes too :) I finished week 6 day 3 yesterday…. and it was equally awesome! I agree with you though, the no more intervals equals me kind of freaking out! We shall see how it goes.

    Reply
    • 6. tristadawn  |  July 11, 2011 at 11:15 am

      I totally do have it. I never understood it before. Seriously, how could someone have a high from something as shitty as exercise? I just didn’t get it, but I do now and it is incredible hahaha.
      We’re almost on par in terms of where we’re at with the program, that’s awesome. Can’t wait til we can say we DID IT!

      Reply
  • 7. Adam  |  July 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I’m doing good as far as C25k goes. I missed all of last week because of family stuff going on (details in my blog). So now you’re ahead of me! I will start my week 6 running tomorrow night. I’m so glad you did good with day 1. Keep it up! Oh- I’ve also heard that doing intervals is a lot harder than just continuous running. It makes sense because your heart rate is going up and down rather than staying a steady rate and when your muscles start to relax your adrenaline levels (and other chemicals in your body) begin to decrease so when you start again it takes more energy to get going than it would to just keep running. I actually found day 3 of week 5 a lot easier than I thought it would… so we’ll see how week 6 and the rest of the program goes!

    Reply
    • 8. tristadawn  |  July 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm

      So sorry to hear about your family stuff. :( My thoughts are with you!
      Good for you for keepin on with your running. If anything, it will be a nice release, I don’t know about you but it is pretty therapeutic for me to run out there on the open road, music blaring, wind in my hair. So cliche but it works. :)

      Reply
  • 9. old rural runner  |  July 12, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Enjoyed reading your post on Week 6 Day 1 of C25K and going to have a look at the others.

    Reply
    • 10. tristadawn  |  July 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope you enjoy reading about my journey :)

      Reply
  • 11. Brian  |  July 12, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    I’m pretty much where you are, I do W6D2 tomorrow. I impulsively decided to be a masochist and switched from running for time to distance W5D3. Wasn’t really that bad, I ended up accidentally doing 2.25 miles instead of 2 miles in just under 25 minutes which surprised me. It was psychologically easier to know how much farther I had to go instead of how much longer. W6D1 was actually a little harder for some reason, probably from all the stopping and starting. Hopefully the two 1 mile intervals go easier tomorrow. Good luck on your run!

    Reply
    • 12. tristadawn  |  July 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! It’s neat that we’re kinda on the same track. Good for you for running for distance. I don’t have any kind of GPS to do that, so it makes it tricky, but I’d love to. One day, when I get my smartphone with GPS, I’ll take on that challenge. :)
      Keep up the amazing work!

      Reply
  • 13. Lori  |  July 12, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    whoohoo! I’m so glad things are better than week 4, since I just finished week 5 day 1. (and secretly I read your blog to anticipate how hard the next one is going to be… ha!) I got to run on some super nice treadmills on vacation, and so now my old, rundown treadmill is not as exciting. I may have to transition outdoors, like you!

    Reply
  • 14. Brian  |  July 12, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I currently do use the Runkeeper app for Android to track distance but you can always use http://www.mapmyrun.com/.

    When I’m done this thing I may treat myself to the Garmin Forerunner 305 :)

    http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Forerunner-Receiver-Heart-Monitor/dp/B000CSWCQA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


