C25K: Week 6 Day 2

July 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm 4 comments

I totally got my hopes up, because I took a different route and it felt sooooo long, that this run would surpass the 4km mark.  So I was all pumped to get home and map it out, but I also wondered if I should even bother, because I KNOW that I am hyperfocusing on the distance thing, when that is not what this is about for me AT ALL.  Needless to say, I mapped it out anyway, and it was the same distance as I always do.  Rats.  Forward we go, right?

This run felt HARD.  I think I had a lot of mental blocks preventing me from giving it my all, because I certainly felt like I could have done better.  Heck, I felt like I killed W6D1, and then this run was just a step backwards.  Partially, because I did it around suppertime, which is my own fault, because I have found that that is totally NOT my prime time to be out there givin’ er.  Also, I think psychologically, I was all screwed up, because I kept telling myself over and over, this is the last day of intervals, make it count, make it count.  But the only thing that registered was LAST DAY OF INTERVALS psychotic freak-out, not the whole part about making it count.  But in the end, I completed the run.

I wonder if I am setting myself up for allowing myself to make excuses for slacking by saying “at least I finished.”  I think right now that is a healthy mindset to have, because I never thought I would make it this far.  When I was on week 1, week 2 seemed impossible and as difficult as week 7 is sounding to me right now.  I know that’s a good thing, I know that’s an indication that I am making progress, but I know I am going to have to step up my game a little bit.  Or a lot, depending.  I truly DO feel that I am running to the best of my abilities, and I run as hard and fast as my body will allow me to, without keeling to the ground.  I think one of my issues is that I need to strengthen my core, my legs, and my knees, because that’s what gets me slower towards the end of a run – is I just feel so tired and weak that I could collapse.  My breathing has increased SO much, it’s so insane, and I know I blog about it incessantly, but I am blown away (seriously, no super lame pun intended, but it works?) but how well I can breathe now, even just in normal everyday activities.  If anything, that’s very encouraging.

But yes, I am going to be doing the program again once I complete it this time around.  I have already made that decision and I am looking forward to it.  It seems so long ago that I was running 60 seconds and walking 90.  It seems so long ago that I felt like I was going to die doing those intervals, and now look at where I’m (we’re – for those of you that are following along in comments and/or blogging about it) are now.  There’s something to be said about the intensity of the program and the determination of those that follow it.  It’s wild, is what it is.  I’m already telling myself that next go I am either going to a) focus extra extra hard on increasing speed and distance or b) just move straight to doing the program by distance rather than time (so it would be, run 1 mile instead of run 15 minutes, or whatever it is).  However, I don’t have a GPS so that makes it tricky – I would have to do a treadmill, and the thought of running on a treadmill sounds a bit like torturous boredom.  Though, in the winter, that might be my only option, because I don’t know if I’m that hardcore to be donning on winter running gear and tackling the horrid snow and ice on the Prairies.

Now we’re on a different journey.  I feel like this is the real thing, and I am not trying to discredit the previous part of the program or those doing it AT ALL, but I feel like this is (hopefully) where I am really going to step up my game and see some serious results.  And maybe not, maybe I will just continue to go along at this pace, and that’s okay for now.  FOR NOW.  I am a tiny bit terrified that there are no intervals, no breaks for me to catch my breathing and regroup, but I am going to tell myself that of course I can do this, why wouldn’t I be able to?  I’ve been practicing for 6 weeks already!  That’s crazy, and if it hasn’t prepared me for this new challenge, then what gives?  I’m ready, are you?

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 6 Day 1 C25K: Week 6 Day 3

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  July 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

    you are so close to being a c25k grad, it’s crazy! I am so with you on the addictive thing… I’m addicted to the endorphins and the runner’s high, and that surpasses the grumbling in the early morning. Perhaps as a challenge for the next c25k cycle, push yourself to really run during the run intervals and slowly jog/walk instead. i’m terrified for the 20 minute run that awaits me on friday, but after reading your post I feel like I can handle it. Thanks for being so inspiring!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 15, 2011 at 11:04 pm

      thank you for following along! you can do the 20 min run (you probably already have by now) so let me know how it goes. I’m sure you aced it. :)
      the runner’s high is super addicting. I LOVE that its addicting, because it keeps me going!

      Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  July 14, 2011 at 7:11 am

    I think my W6D2 was the opposite of yours. I struggled with W6D1 because of the intervals. W6D2 I was thinking, yay, this is the last of the intervals. As I was getting close to the end of the first interval I was afraid to take the walking interval in fear of having trouble getting back in the groove in the second interval. I was really surprised that as soon as I started the second interval I felt like I immediately was in the groove I left off of the first. Also for the first time the inclines in my route I felt like I was running up a hill instead of against the hill if that makes any sense.

    I think what helps me is I consistently run at the same time, about 6:30am when the weather is favorable and I probably have the most energy. It’s still been humid which has made it difficult at times but it dropped about 5% for the W6D2 run which helped considerably. For the long W6D3 tomorrow it’s only going to 63F which will be awesome.

    Overall, I wouldn’t let the lack of intervals worry you, just slow your pace down if you need a break and then pick it up after you regroup. From now on a slow jog is the new walk :)

    Reply
  • 4. Adam  |  July 14, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Don’t beat yourself up for struggling with your run. Nobody’s perfect, and the goal is to be able to finish. Not be an Olympic runner! You are doing so great already and you’re almost done with the program!

    You can actually get a GPS watch to track your distance when you run. I just use my phone because it has a GPS in it (I have an Android phone), and I bought an arm strap for it to make it easier to take with me. I plan on doing the program over again as well, but I’m like you… I can’t run in the winter. I have a hard time when it’s cooler outside at night now, during the winter would just be impossible with my asthma. So, I’ll probably just run on the treadmill… something is better than nothing, right?

    Keep it up hun! I’m so glad you’re doing so well!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


