C25K: Week 6 Day 3

July 14, 2011 at 11:23 pm 14 comments

IDIDITIDIDITIDIDIT!

I, yes me, Trista Dawn Robinson, ran for 25 minutes straight, STRAIGHT!   Holy crap, holy crap, holy crap.  Did I ever think I could do this?  No.  But then again, I never believed in myself, and that is just downright awful, and now I do, and that is just plain amazing and awesome.

Due to the crazy muggy humidity, I decided to hit the gym and run on the treadmill instead of battling the outdoors.  I wouldn’t call it a mistake, not at all, but running outside is definitely superior to running on a treadmill.  For one thing, it’s so BORING.  You don’t go anywhere, you just stare straight ahead, and you’re lucky if there’s a TV to look at.  Two, it’s way to easy to hyper-focus on your time, your speed, and your distance, which then in turn create stupid mental blocks.  When I started the run, I told myself not to look at the time and just run until I had a PRETTY good feeling that I was nearing at least the 20 minute mark.  I cheated and thought, I’ll look, surely I’ve run about 10 minutes, but that was certainly not the case.  When I looked at the timer, it said 10:57, which means I had run about 6 minutes.  BRUTAL!  I rationalized with myself – okay, you’re basically 1/4 of the way done, so what you just did, just do that three more times, that’s it that’s all, and you’re done.  Easy peasy right?  Wrong.  It was hard!  I put the treadmill to an incline of 1.5% to make it seem more ‘natural’ and ran at a pace of 5.0 mph, gradually decreasing to about 4.2-4.3 mph, because that’s all I could really handle.  My average minute per mile was about 14 minutes, which means it would take me 42 minutes to complete a 5k.  Not too bad I guess.  For me.  I still have 3 weeks to go, so I am hoping to up up up this, and if I don’t, that’s okay too.  We’re GETTING places, I’M getting places, and that is the greatest achievement of all.  The fact that I am going, getting off the couch, lacing my shoes, and running, speaks volumes.  Like, really loud volumes.

Running on the treadmill also helped me to conquer a secondary fear to running itself – running in FRONT of people consistently.  Thankfully the gym was pretty near dead when I got there.  But if I would’ve done this 3 months ago, well, I probably wouldn’t have done it 3 months ago, but if I had, I would be thinking in my head what went through people’s heads when they saw me running “Omigod, look at that fat girl running HAHAHAHAHAHAAAA” and now I think that they’re probably somewhere along the lines of “Hey, check out that fat girl running, good for her, she’s running, maybe I should try it out too.”  Not that I’m some kind of model citizen, but if I were to see a plus-size woman running, I know I would feel supported and encouraged and think, hey, maybe I could do that.  So here’s to hoping I can be some kind of revolutionary fat woman or something.

Since I was at the gym, I thought I’d do some abdominal crunches, a couple arm machines, and some leg extensions.  Felt good to do some weights.  I’d like to build my strength so that would hopefully help me run faster and further.  I definitely have NOT been going to the gym like I said I would when doing the program, so I think it was good to go.  I’m considering doing 1 run a week at the gym so that at least gets me there and since I’m there, why they heck wouldn’t I do some strength training?

So from here on in, we’re going interval-less, and I think I feel okay about it.  I tackled it, and in my own interpretation of the C25K results, I KILLED IT.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 6 Day 2 C25K: Week 7 Day 1

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  July 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Awesome, congratulations! 25 minutes without stopping seems insane to me, wow! You must be so proud of yourself coming this far in such a short amount of time, it really is amazing…and I really SHOULD be following in your footsteps!!!!! (no pun intended, haha!) :D

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 15, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      THANKS!! I am soo proud of myself :) As I’m sure resonates through my post. You should join in on the fun! It’s doable, challenging but not so much that it gets you discouraged.

      Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  July 15, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Yay for us W6D3’rs :D My run wasn’t easy, but was definitely doable. I actually shaved 27 seconds off my pace from last week when I accidentally also did 2.25 miles. I’m actually looking forward to doing this 3 times next week.

    My wife has been doing this in tandem with me, but on a treadmill while the kids are napping. I just got her a laptop stand you attach to the treadmill to make the “dreadmill” experience a bit easier. She’s watching the first season of Little House on the Prairie of all things while she runs :) The laptop stand will come in handy since I too will be banished to the dreadmill for the long, cold winter.

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 15, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      Good job!
      It’s fun having your partner do the program too. My hubby does it on opposite days as me (we don’t have a jogging stroller, and we have an 8 month old boy, so can’t really go together!) so it’s nice to have that support. That laptop stand sounds awesome! Ir probably makes it more bearable too. :) I’ll be on the dreadmill in the freakishly cold temps too :( BOO!

      Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  July 15, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Good for you. That’s such an accomplishment. Doesn’t it feel awesome when you can finally do the things you never though possible? :)

    Reply
    • 6. tristadawn  |  July 15, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      Thanks Rachel! Yes, it feels absolutely friggin’ amazing. It is life-altering, really. :)

      Reply
  • 7. brittanynickles  |  July 16, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    YESSSSSSSSSSS!!! Well done girl!!!

    Reply
    • 8. tristadawn  |  July 16, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      thanks! feels so good. I am ready for week 7 :D

      Reply
  • 9. Lori  |  July 16, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    congrats!!! I just finished the 20 minute week 5 day 3 run, and it felt great, so I can only imagine what 25 minutes feels like!

    Reply
    • 10. tristadawn  |  July 16, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      wow! good for you! that is amazing, keep up the awesome work, you are doing great. :)

      Reply
  • 11. Lojo  |  July 17, 2011 at 6:36 am

    Way to go, Trista! :) Awesome!

    Reply
    • 12. tristadawn  |  July 17, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Thanks Lindsay. It feels very good :)

      Reply
  • 13. Laura  |  July 17, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Go you! That is awesome.
    I’ve just done Day 1, Week 4 today and running for 5 minutes felt brutal, so I can’t imagine running for 25 minutes in a couple of weeks…

    Reply
    • 14. tristadawn  |  July 17, 2011 at 4:18 pm

      I hear ya! It all feels brutal but it is all so doable. I remember feeling that and thinking, how the F am I ever going to run longer than this? But our bodies catch up with us, and our brains try to get in the way but we can’t let them!
      Good for you for sticking to the program. It is NOT easy and it would be way easier to be like, screw it, I’m done. But you’re keep on keepin’ on and that’s incredible!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


