C25K: Week 7 Day 1

July 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm 3 comments

I feel like it was yesterday that I was titling a post C25K: The Night Before and here I am, already completed 1/3 of week 7.  So insane.  So nuts.  Who woulda thought?   I talked about hoping for the runner’s high (CHECK), being able to do the runs (CHECK), and believing in myself (CHECK).  I think I’m doing pretty good, if I may say so myself.

The one thing I haven’t been doing is strength training on the off days, unless you count lifting up the boy.  He’s a mighty weight that’s for certain, but I’m almost used to the 24 lbs of weight that he is, and so now it’s just something that we do, not any type of ‘strength training.’  Though the tosses and bumps up in the air might account for some training.  Damn, that is hard, and of course it is one of the things he loves the most.

So, week 7, day 1.  I went this morning at 11am and a few minutes into the run portion of the workout, I mentally kicked myself in the ass.  It was HOT, so hot, scorching really.  There was barely a breeze, so I didn’t even have that whole wind in my face thing.  Right now it’s 27 and 31 with the humidex.  I’m fairly certain it was around there at 11.  Brutal, but I did it.  Didn’t stop once either.  I blow myself away every time, because so much about this is mental self-control.  I am training my brain and my body, and they are training me.  It blows me away that I can have so much control and when my mind is telling me I probably should take a break, I tell it to piss off and keep on trucking.  Granted, I slow down a tad, to a very slow crawl-like jog, but I keep going and pressing forward.  Not once have I listened to the negative thoughts and I am proud to say I am putting them where they belong.  On the pavement.  Under my feet.  Stomping on them loudly and proudly as I press on.

The most awesome part of my run today, was that I increased my distance from 3.86 km to 4.3 km.  It was in 35 minutes rather than 30, and was not 5 km, but I increased my distance slightly and for that I am a very happy mama.  At this rate it will still take me about 42 minutes to do a 5k, but it’s coming.  Kyle is trying to encourage me to run a 5k in the fall, but I’m very nervous.  My whole thing is that I don’t want to come in last place.  I actually looked up the results from the Mogathon 5k, and if I would’ve ran in it, I would’ve been probably about fourth last.  I know it doesn’t matter.  It has no bearing on anything at all, and the fact that I would and COULD finish a 5k, is what counts, and blows me away.  I just need to overcome that obstacle, that fear, like I’ve overcome the others.  Shit, 7 weeks ago when I started week 1, I took ALL the side streets, weaving in and out of them, having a VERY VERY mild panic moment when I would have to run on a busier street.  Today, I took only main streets and didn’t give two shits.   People in cars looked at me, some smiled.  I told myself they smiled because hell, it’s hot, and that girl is out there running with her dog.  Go her.

When I got home from the run, I was right done.  When I stopped running and did my cool-down walk, I was right done.  I felt pretty nauseous, and might have to invest in a contraption to carry a water bottle, or something to have it dangle from Lily’s leash.  I can NOT jog in the heat of the day anymore, it kills me.  7am jogs, how I miss you, we need to become besties again.  I listened to some old school hip hop/rap podcast from kissmyblackass.org, and it was pretty solid.  Kept me going.  However, I felt a little crappy when she chimed in for an update and for sure I thought she was going to say I was half way done, but no, I was only EIGHT MINUTES IN.  Are you KIDDING ME?  Brutal.  I tried to paint that smile back on my face so I could muster the strength to continue.  It worked and off we went.

While it was hard as hell and this is still extremely challenging, I am feeling at peace with myself and with the program.  I’m down about 6.5 lbs and I feel like a million bucks.  I feel like now I know I for SURE can run 25 minutes straight because I’ve done it twice, that next week when I add on 3 more minutes, what’s 3 more minutes?  Probably brutal, is what 3 more minutes is, but I know I can do it.  Less than 3 weeks and I will be blogging about finishing the program.  I can’t even believe it, can you?

Looking forward to hearing your C25K updates, or whatever journey you’re on.  We all have our experiences, our stories, and I love to hear about each and every one of them.  Have at ‘er!

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 6 Day 3 C25K: Week 7 Day 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  July 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

    The humidity is really brutal this week too in the Philadelphia suburbs. I was walking on my cool down and waved to a neighbor who looked at me like I was crazy for running in this humidity since I was completely drenched in sweat.
    I screwed up the running distance today. Last run W6D3 was 25 minutes or 2.25 miles so I assumed it was a 2.25 miles all this week too since it’s 25 minutes all week. Found out I should be doing 2.5 miles. I did 2.28 miles in 23:52. So I didn’t do the allotted time or distance. DOH! I completely could have done another .25 miles too which pisses me off. Oh well.

    I think you’re in the same frame of mind as me looking ahead to the end of this program because we know we got this :)

    Reply
  • 2. Suzie Cordova  |  July 19, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Hey Trista Rockstar – you seriously rock my face, AND my socks, clean off. Ain’t it grand when we discover that our feet are actually clad in steel-toed, serious-ass-kicking boots? And that it’s our own ass we’re kicking?! I just love it. I have a victory to share, too! I haven’t blogged about it yet, because I’m still thinking of the words to use. But…I TOTALLY RAN A 5K TODAY. All by myself. Without stopping. Because I wanted to! I had accidentally took a week off after last Tuesday’s run, because I was out of town and things just got in the way, so I figured today’s run would hurt The last run I’d had was W8D2, and today I ran 3.11 miles in 47:40. Still slower than I’d like, but I FREAKING DID IT. I can’ believe it!! I just had to tell you!

    By the way – are you on facebook at all? Feel free to friend me if you are! I already found myself thinking today that I couldn’t wait to tell you. :)

    Keep running, keep smiling, and KEEP KICKING ASS. You’re good at it!!

    Reply
    • 3. tristadawn  |  July 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      HOLY CRAP SUZIE!!!!!!
      You ran a friggin’ 5K! I was going to say, do you realize how amazing that is, but I THINK YOU DO, as YOU SHOULD. That is incredible, we are kicking ass, taking names (first, middle AND last!) and it’s just flippin’ awesome.

      By the way, shit your comment had me laughing. You’re too witty my friend.

      I am soooooooo proud of you! And who cares if you’re slower than you’d like, I mean, i don’t want to downplay your goals and what not, and you will get to where you want to be, but the fact that you finished, and on your own terms, is amazing and incredible and you deserve the world right now. I’m so happy you shared that with me, and it’s so neat you couldn’t wait to tell me about it :)

      Your pace is about as similar as mine – I want to up it too, but right now I am focusing on finishing without stopping, and so far, SO GOOD. So, one step at a time, or should I say, one bigger than walking cuz its a running, step at a time ;)

      Take care, added you to Facebook! eeeee! so happy & proud :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


