C25K: Week 7 Day 2

July 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm Leave a comment

It’s true what they say, better late than never.  My running schedule is a bit wonky this week, but I managed to squeeze my run in this afternoon, in the blazing wind.  I ran mostly against the wind, a 40km/h wind, might I casually add.  It was intense and I am glad to say I have braved nearly all of the elements and scaled those elemental walls indeed.  Rain, check.  Scorching heat, check.  Wind, check.  I loved running in the rain.  I hated running in the heat.  And I didn’t mind running in the wind.  That heat from Sunday knocked me on my ass for a couple days, and I was struggling with the consequences on Sunday and Monday.

My run today was about 4km, and I took a new route, which is always fun.  I need to keep things fresh so my head can stay clear, I can feel it’s a challenge, and I am not mentally calculating in my head how far I’ve gone, but mostly, how far I have yet to go.  I ran to teen pop music today, the likes of BSB, N*SYNC, 5ive, and Britney Spears, and again, it was awesome and amazing.  I feel like I can conquer the world because I tackled the years where those groups defined my days, and if I made it through that, well, surely I can make it through anything.  Birthing and teen pop, oh how they have transformed my days.

Once again, the unbelievable has happened.  I surprised myself by feeling like this run was more bearable than the previous day’s.  I never would have thought this would happen.  Shit, I never would have thought I would be running for 90 seconds straight, then 3 minutes, then 5, then 8, then 20, and now 25.  I can only go up from here, I think, and I am prepared.  Any time I feel a bit of a kink my stride, a pain in my shin, a muscle twinge in my side, I get a tiny feeling of disappointment, because I think that it is going to offset my game, this awesome thing I’ve got going on.  But it hasn’t yet.  They are minor bumps, tiny little speed bumps that we zoom over.

Kyle is sick with a cold right now, and so I’m on my own with this one.  The last run he did was Week 6 Day 3, and he had to cut it short due to some achilles trouble.  He’s been icing, resting, and…. NOT doing recommended exercises to ease the ailment!  Yikes.  Note to Kyle: exercise, stretch, and rejuvenate your achilles so you can join me on the awesome bandwagon and feel better.   On the upside, I’ve got several people in my life who are extremely supportive of this program and me doing it, and a lot of those people are doing the program as well, which is all kinds of fabulous.  Every couple of days, we’re shooting off text messages back and forth, checking each other’s progress, cheering each other on, and basically proclaiming how amazing we are doing.  Yes, it’s like that, and yes, I went there.  It just feels so good.  And what feels even better, is knowing that I am SEVEN runs away from being done this program and I KNOW I can complete it, assuming everything continues to go as planned and I don’t end up on my ass with an injury.  It would be too much of a coincidence if that happened, since I blogged about it?  Right?  Please validate that for me because now I’m paranoid that I’ll wake up in the morning all runned out.  Now THAT would be too much of a coincidence for sure.  I think we’re clear.

How are you all doing?  I just want to extend a huge THANK YOU to everyone that has said any nice word to me in terms of running, sticking with this program, and being active.   I can’t thank you enough for the support, my gratitude goes on for miles and miles.  <3 to you all, my friends.  Oh, and I promise, within the next couple of days I will blog about something non-C25K related.  I promise.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 7 Day 1 C25K: Week 7 Day 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


