C25K: Week 7 Day 3

July 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm 4 comments

These weeks are flying by so very, very fast.  I am done week 7 which means I have 2 weeks to go.  That’s it.  That’s all.  And, bearing any unforeseen circumstances, I know I can finish these 2 weeks, so that’s a bit of a perk me up.

I really struggled with day 3.  It was rainy and gloomy.  The rain, I love.  Running in the rain is lovely.  I am not a fan of gloomy days and so that threw me off a bit, but I did it, I completed it, and I did the same route as day 2, except… wait for it, I did it 2 minutes faster than day 2!  GO ME.  At this rate, it will still take me just under 42 minutes to complete a full 5k, but we’re getting there.  I really don’t think that’s that bad, I know it’s slower than I’d like, but what I love right now is that I’m doing it.  Can I say F the speed, F the distance?  Well I’m going to.  My main goal is completion, full completion, full runs, no stopping, and that is exactly what I’m doing and no less.

I weighed myself this morning, like I do every morning, and if I were to record today’s first morning weight, I am at a 10 lb loss, which is astounding to me.  My weight fluctuates severely every single day, and I know this because there’s a small part of me that I am not proud of that steps on that scale several times throughout the day.  I am mildly obsessive about it but not in an unhealthy way, if that is possible given the obsession at hand?  Point is, I’ve lost NEARLY 10 lbs since I started the program 7 weeks ago.  That’s incredible to me.  And I feel like a million bucks.  I have loads of energy, and I have adopted a ‘why walk when you can run’ attitude, well, most of the time.

If you knew me 3 months ago, 3 years ago, 5 years ago, you know I’m not a runner.  I am not an athlete.  I am not physically inclined to do anything, really.  I shouldn’t say I’m lazy.  I’m a walker.  I love to take my pooch and my boy on walks, and I love to walk with Kyle, pondering the day’s events, breathing in the fresh summer evening air.  But I do not run and I do not play sports.  I work out merely because I have to, because it promotes healthy living and weight loss, but even then, I wasn’t a fan of working out.  I wasn’t one of those crazy people that says they love working out and going to the gym.  Do people really love that or are they lying?

But things have changed around here people.  This is a new me and this is some foreign new awesome mindset that has erupted and taken over my previous fear-based, anxious way of living.  And to be honest, I like this way of living better.  You might not believe me when I say – and you don’t have to! – that I love going running.  Sometimes it’s hard to get my gear on, shoes laced up, and ass out the door, but once I am there, I am SO there and I am in it with my whole heart, my wearisome heart that is no longer wearisome, but it is full of CAN’s.  I can I can I can.  I want to abolish can’t from my language because it is so negative and so harmful, if only to ourselves.

I want to give a shout out to a bloggy friend (I’m a fricken’ nerd, we have established that already have we not?) who is doing the C25K challenge and is kicking it’s ass over and over again.  Suz, you are incredible and inspiring.  I also want to steal a quotation she recently blogged, it’s from self-proclaimed “penguin” (slow-runner, oh, running lingo!)  John Bingham’s book “No Need for Speed: A Beginner’s Guide to the Joy of Running” (I need to read this book):

You can find out that it’s possible for you to push your limits to new highs and lows.  You can realize that what always seemed like suffering is really your soul being galvanized in the heat of effort.  You can discover that you have a deeper strength than you ever imagined.  Nothing stops you except your own inertia.  Nothing prevents you from joining the ranks of those who have found the magic in movement.  Nothing keeps you from starting or improving except your belief that you can’t.  For 43 years, I was trapped in my own false beliefs.  I was trapped in a history of clumsiness and strikeouts and dropped balls.  Like so many other less-than-athletically-gifted children, I learned quickly that I was different.

All of that can change with a single step.  All the memories of failure and disappointment can be wiped out.  Everything you’ve dreamed you can be, all the moments you’ve wished you could have, are out there for you.  The secret is that there is no secret.  The magic is that there is no magic.  The answers you are looking for lie somewhere between the bottom of your shoes and the road beneath your feet.”

 

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 7 Day 2 C25K: Week 8 Day 1

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzie Cordova  |  July 23, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    You know what my favorite part of your post is? ” I know I can finish these 2 weeks…” YES!!! Know it! Own it! Kick these last 2 weeks clear to Sunday! I love, love, love, love, LOVE you and your writing. I look forward to each and every post! You have a way with words that always makes me bust out laughing and feel your 100% heart, in everything you say. I wish we lived closer to each other! Keep up the kickass work!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 23, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      You are SO kind! Like, seriously, the nicest person ever. Stop flattering me with words every comment, you’re making my ego spontaneously combust!!!
      Ya, we could go for penguin runs together, woop woop!
      I so have to read that book. It sounds amazing and would make me feel on top of the world.
      You rock.

      Reply
  • 3. brittanynickles  |  July 23, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Congratulations!!! I don’t think it matters HOW slow you are…. the fact that you will run this non-stop is something to be SOOOOOO proud of!!! Congrats girl :)

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 23, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Yes, it most definitely is! Thanks so much for your support, positive words, and loads of encouragement!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


