C25K: Week 8 Day 1

July 25, 2011 at 10:41 am 6 comments

I can officially run for 28 minutes straight.  Shazam!  I killed it, too.  It felt easier than week 7, which blows my fricken’ mind.  How can running 3 whole minutes more be easier?  Just doesn’t add up.  But apparently it does, ’cause I did it.  I actually totally blew week 8 day 1 out of the WATER and I was so pumped about it.  I took a new route too, which spices things up and makes it seem more interesting.  It keeps it fresh and real, and I’m all about that.

My total route was about 4.3km last night, which is a little tiny bit of a step up.   Still going about the same pace as I have been for the last couple weeks, but that’s totally cool.  It’s all about the distance, and by distance I mean, the amount of distance/time I can run for straight, and I am killing that personal goal of mine so we’re doing good.  My (loosely devised but definitely doable) plan is to do the C25K program all over again once I finish, but not before doing a week of 3 runs, at 5km each, no matter how long it takes me.   I want to say I can run a 5k, and I know that I CAN but I haven’t done it yet, so I just need to do it and then I can say it, legitimately, with some backing.

I seem to have somewhat abandoned my morning runs, but I’d love to get back into it.  It happened when I was out of town for a week, and it just didn’t really work for me to get up at 7am and go, mostly because Cade had a few rough nights and this mama just couldn’t get her morning act together.  And for me, it’s either go super early in the morning, or go at night when the humidity won’t suffocate me.  I used to think there was no way I could run if it was past like, 8am, but I guess I’m wrong.  Maybe I just used it as a silly excuse?  Who knows what goes on in this brain sometimes.  I sure don’t.

To be honest, I feel like I am running out of things to say about the runs and the program and the way it has changed my life.  I always feel the same things, just more intensely each time.  I feel like I will bore y’all to death if I keep going on incessantly about how it is so amazing, how I am making myself proud, and how I feel like a million bucks.  But really, secretly, I cannot wait until my C25K ‘graduation’ post where I can go on and on and on and again, secretly (but not so much anymore) I don’t CARE if it’s boring because I am going to be on top of the world, going on and on about the program.  I really should have shares in it or something, because I’ve name-dropped SO many times in the last 2 months.  Oi.

So with that, I’m-a end this now.  No sense in going on and on right?  You’re going to hear it all over and over again, and you’ve heard it all in the past.  Non-stop madness.  I did it, I killed it, I’m proud and pride is going to rob me of words for the time being.

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 7 Day 3 A Story of Blessings, a Baby, and Breasts.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  July 25, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    CONGRATS lady! you’re already at 4.3 km, it won’t be long until you’re running a 5k easypeasy and moving onto longer distances! there is such a marked improvement in how you seem to feel about runs in the past few weeks. it’s almost as if you’ve permanently overcome the physical suckiness of running and moved onto how good you feel. Sadly, my c25k has come to a pause because of stupid shin splints. but I am re-attempting week 6 day 3 tomorrow, wish me luck!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:21 am

      ack! good luck, I’m sure you can do it! not fun that you have shin splints though :( I’m so sorry to hear injury has taken you for a minor detour. have you googled what to do in the case of shin splints, so you don’t end up injuring yourself further?
      let me know how W6D3 goes!

      Reply
  • 3. Suzie Cordova  |  July 25, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    We WANT to hear about it! That’s why we follow you! There is no such thing as too much victory! Way to go, killin’ Week 8! YOU’RE AWESOME. But, you already knew that. :) So frickin proud of you!!

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

      Haha, I know, I was just being silly and feeling bored by my own words. ;)
      Victory is swell, isn’t it? You got that right girl. And you’re running a flippin’ 5k race soon! that’s INCREDIBLE!

      Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  July 28, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    So I just started reading your blog from the link from bottle babies but I’ll keep following you since I thought it was ironic having the same eerily similar breastfeeding exp and I found you blog the day after I started my c25k as I had decided that I was done with the excuses for good and I figure I need to make good use of the jogging stroller aside from just looking good (and I will look even better at the end of c25k) in my head I’m a runner and have been for awhile and it is good to read someone else’s experience doing the c25k for inspiration, keep writing even if you repeat, who cares it’s your story so you get to do whatever you want!

    Reply
    • 6. tristadawn  |  July 28, 2011 at 11:47 pm

      That is AWESOME! what a coincidence hey?
      you should blog about it? that’d be cool. it’s fun. and just one more accountable way.
      I would go on and on about the program but chances are, if you read my blog about it, then it’s the same stuff I’d say.
      it’s hard. it’s challenging. but it’s doable. you learn to push yourself.
      it’s transformative
      birth was life-changing for me and so is this. I NEED to live healthier not only for myself, but for my SON! and for future children! :)
      good job on starting up. congratulations! it’s not easy to take that first step, but know that that first step is the hardest :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,751 hits

Archives


