C25K: Week 8 Day 2

July 27, 2011 at 10:42 pm 4 comments

Well my friends, we’re nearly there, and this run was a bit of a downer.  I shouldn’t say that, but it was rough.  I did the same route I did on my 25 minute run, and only increased the run by about 2 blocks, which I know is better than nil.  Especially considering the circumstances surrounding this run.   I had about 4 hours of sleep the night before, due to Cade having a super rough night, likely due to sprouting 2 teeth in 2 days.  I did my run not even 30 minutes after I ate supper.  We actually attempted to go before supper, but 2 minutes after going out the door there was a MASSIVE down pour that would’ve drenched us in a block, so needless to say, the Lil’ster and I turned around.  We had to rescue the diapers too because they were outside “drying.”  Yes.  Drying.  In a downpour.  Makes so much sense.

So we pushed on, and right from the beginning, I had a terrible negative mindset that rushed over me and tried to dominate the run.  I confess, I totally almost let it.  I was going to let it run me over, and then I would just run the next morning, however, I conquered thee and pushed on, pushed past it.  I had to.  I couldn’t let myself NOT do it because deep down inside the sometimes super nasty discouraging but mostly encouraging motivating depths of my soul, I knew that I. COULD. DO. IT.  And I so did.  I wouldn’t say I killed it, like I killed day 1, but I, err…. slaughtered it.  It just didn’t die.  (Oh my god, that’s so morbid.  I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry.)

One thing that is really shocking me about the C25K program is that I am still enthused about it, enthralled with it really, and excited and anxious to take on each new week, each new run.  I think because it constantly keeps me motivated and believing in myself.  And I’ve said it before (honestly, the C25K people should like, pay me for all this advertising ;) but the program is so do-able and SO challenging that it doesn’t get boring at all, it doesn’t get too hard that you get discouraged, but it stays consistently challenging so that you are always pushing yourself, taking your self and the beliefs about yourself to new levels, new heights, really.  That’s the best thing about it.

I’ve lost between 8-10 lbs, depending on the day and when I weigh myself.  I’m pretty stoked about that actually.  Running is a thinning agent, I guess?  I’ve totally readjusted my eating habits too (still have to blog about my issues with food, NOTE TO SELF!) and I think that absolutely helps.  What’s the percentage of importance placed on diet and exercise in terms of weight loss?  I heard 20/80 or something, but every resource tells you different things.

Some of my favourite things to eat right now are: quinoa mixed with a bit of olive oil, red onion and feta (OMGOMG), tuna wraps on those fancy shmancy lettuce leaf wraps, so light, fresh and tasty (this ain’t your regular tuna wrap, I’m talking sri racha sauce, light mayo, light ranch, celery, onions, cucumbers, red/green/yellow peppers, tomato, mushrooms, sprouts, pickles, light cheddar cheese), chicken/spinach/strawberry/red onion/feta salad with Fig Balsamic dressing (so sweet, smooth and that bit of bite from the balsamic).  Every day I have a 1 litre water bottle that I typically fill up about 3 times.  I think that has totally aided the weight loss process too, as I am ensuring that I am sufficiently hydrated each and every day, and it makes it easier when I don’t have to be running to the fridge a million times a day, because a girl gets lazy, you see.

So to end fitness blog with Trista day 235135, I want to say, thank you to all for encouraging me and supporting me in this journey.  It’s an amazing one that is almost (sadly (!?)) done, but not complete.  It has merely opened up many more doors for me, for my family, and for that I am eternally grateful.  4 more runs to go!  I will see YOU on the finish line.  And you, too. <3

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

A Story of Blessings, a Baby, and Breasts. C25K: Week 8 Day 3

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzie Cordova  |  July 28, 2011 at 1:07 am

    FINALLY! Someone else that loves pickles in their tuna!! I swear I thought I was the only one. I pretty much can’t have it without them. In fact, the chunkier and more vegetabley my tuna is, the better. YUM. Speaking of quinoa, there is an *excellent* recipe for turkey/quinoa meatloaf on AllRecipes.com. Check it out. It is positively scrumptious!

    Atta girl, btw, for pushing thru the negative energy and finishing your run. When I did my first run along the whole 5K route Tuesday night, I was dying (DYING) to just cheat and turn around sooner, since I already knew the route and could just do the whole thing on Race Day. But I squashed those urges because I knew I’d just be cheating myself. That run was brutal but I survived. I love your description of the ” sometimes super nasty discouraging but mostly encouraging motivating depths of my soul” – it’s true, isn’t it, that even though we think we’re weak, unable, and afraid, that when we dig down deep (I’m talking, bone-marrow deep!) it turns out we believe in ourselves more than we realize. I have discovered the same in myself.

    Keep on keepin’ on! The finish line is closer than you think. Or is it the starting line…? :)

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  July 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      I will totally check out that quinoa recipe. always looking for something new and different (and healthy) to cook in this household. damn, thinking of meals is the HARDEST thing sometimes!
      yeah, I prefer when I can taste almost more veggies than I can tuna, to be quite honest. we’re on the same page my friend. in terms of tuna, running, motivation. lotsa things :)

      GOOD FOR YOU for doing the 5k route again! you’re absolutely incredible.
      you’re right, only cheating yourself. sometimes I think, hm, I could totally just cut this run even like, 2 minutes early, and NO ONE WOULD KNOW. but I would. and I’d have to live with that shitty secret. haha.

      <3

      Reply
  • 3. Lojo  |  July 28, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Congrats, Trista! And I think you’ve inspired me to give this a go! :)

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  July 28, 2011 at 11:46 pm

      Yes! You totally should. And blog about it? :D
      thanks for the well wishes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,751 hits

Archives


