C25K: Week 9 Day 1

August 2, 2011 at 12:09 am 4 comments

We’re in the final stretch now and it feels OH. SO. GOOD.

I’ve been saying and thinking “I’m doing this! I’m doing this!” all along, and pretty soon I can say “I DID IT!” and do you know how friggin’ good that feels?  Conquering a fear, something I told myself I couldn’t do, and instead, went on to prove myself, and I’m sure many other naysayers wrong?  Shit yeah!  I belong in some kind of new club or something now.  I feel like when I see people running, and I’m just out for a leisurely walk, I want to yell out, “I can do that too!  I’m just not doing it right now.”  

I did my first run of the last week on a treadmill, because by the time I got my butt in gear to go, it was way too flippin’ hot and I didn’t want to battle heat exhaustion like last time I decided it was an amazing idea to git’er done in the sun.  I don’t know my exact distance, because the treadmill kept turning off whenever I’d switch the fan on, but I THINK it was almost 3 miles, which is aaaaaaaawesome for me, best yet.  There was a time where I had the speed set to 5.5 mph!  But my average was about 5.0 mph, which is still a huge step.  The only other time I ran on a treadmill, I was running at about 4.3 mph, and that was week 6 day 3 I think?  We’re making headway, oh yes we are.

My weight loss is at about 10 lbs, I think I’ve posted that before, but even more awesome is my energy level has increased and I am very aware of that.  My clothes are fitting looser, and I feel like I “take up less space” than I did before.  I am learning to love my body again, but we’ve still got some work to do.  I went through a nasty phase when I was a few months post-partum.  It was hard and difficult and… interesting, because I had worked so long to come to a sort of peace with my body and its “imperfections.”  So when my mind came crashing down and tried to tell me to hate on myself, I sort of listened to it at times, and we were not in a happy place as much as we should’ve been.  But we’re getting there!  We’re working on it, and there are so many contributing factors, including… my happy pills (Vitamin D and Omega 3’s), sunshine, exercise, well-balanced diet and treating myself one day a week, and most of all, my fricken’ awesome little family and life I’ve got going on here.  I’ve got to do a lot of reminders, daily almost, because I see things I don’t have but desperately want, and then I start to feel like a little kid and am sad that I can’t have such and such.  That’s when I have to take a tiny little step out of my mind, look at what I’ve got, as cliche as maybe it sounds, and re-evaluate.  We do that a lot lately.

I’m trying to think of a way to treat myself after I finish this program.  One thing I am doing is going out with a couple of my besties on Thursday.  I don’t do it very often so that will be a huge treat, however, I’d like to personally reward myself with something.  It’s hard when money is tight, so it can’t be anything too extravagant, and I don’t necessarily want it to be something food-related either.   Anyone have any ideas?   I’d love to buy myself a brand spankin’ new pair of awesome, pro-fitted runners, because I know that I need them to avoid potential injury, but I’d be looking at about a hundred dollar bill there.  We’ll see.  I haven’t bought myself new running shoes for about… 3 years, so, yeah, it’s probably really bad that I’m running in these ones, but they are in decent shape.  Still though, I need to get in on the shoe market SOON before I smash my feet all up.  So throw your ideas at me and we’ll see what we can do.

Oh and totally not C25K related, but I’m taking on a little project and I’m having a lot of fun with it.   I’m now an Admin on the Facebook page for The Birthing Site.  It’s awesome, informative, and fun.  I love to support amazing people as they go through an amazing stage in their life, and I am learning a lot.  You should come check it out.  You don’t have to agree with all of the articles posted, or links, or what have you.  We are welcoming of ALL birthing experiences, not just “natural”.  The main thing is we encourage woman to be educated about what ALL of their options may be, so they can make the right choice for THEM, which may not be the right choice for anyone else, but that’s not the important thing.  Come and say hello!

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 8 Day 3 C25K: Week 9 Day 2

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian  |  August 2, 2011 at 10:56 am

    It’s pricey but you can check out the Garmin Forerunner GPS watches. I’m getting the 305 in the mail tomorrow :)

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  August 2, 2011 at 10:58 pm

      Awesome! We’ll see :) I’ve figured out a good system on google maps for mapping my distance and can figure out my pace from there. It’s pretty cheap and low-tech but it works!

      Reply
  • 3. Tara  |  August 2, 2011 at 11:33 am

    So I read today’s post just prior to doing my week 2 day 1, it was easier than last week and I did not expect that, baby lily wad my cheering section in her exersaucer. Anyway for your gift to yourself, I really think you should go for new running shoes, I think you will notice a huge difference plus even if the shoes look ok, they have lost cushioning and support over the years, I went to running room and got fitted, what I ended up with I would probably not have even asked to try on but I love them! I did not love the price tag but thats ok, I figure I buy enough stuff 2nd hand that I can splurge a little, if new shoes are not in the budget you still need to do something special for yourself so I vote for a pedicure or a massage or something to that effect, you can get good deals on the sites like living social, swarmjam tuango citylinked etc… Depending on what you have in your city.

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  August 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      Good for you! I am so happy you’re taking this challenge on, and not only that, but you’re killing it!
      Thanks for the tips on the gift. Seriously considering the shoes, I know it’s something I need, for my health, my body, and what have you.
      keep me posted on your progress :) Do you feel different? Do you get the runner’s high?
      it’s amazing seeing/feeling your progress week to week!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


