C25K: Week 9 Day 2

August 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm 2 comments

Soooooooooo close!  I THINK this might have been my best run yet.  I ran 3.88km in 30 minutes, and combined with my warm-up and cool-down, I did 4.8km in about 38 minutes.  Not too bad really, right?  I’m kinda impressed with myself.  Slightly.  I did a few calculations and given my running pace/distance, it took me on average 7.7 minute to run 1km, so at that rate, it would take me about 38.5 minutes do run 5km.  AWESOME!

I can’t believe I have 1 more run and I am done.  Just like that.  And to be honest?  As much as I want to believe in myself, and as far as I’ve come, I wasn’t always at this place.  Before I started, I doubted.  I really wondered if I would make it this far.  Of course I WANTED to but if I could and would was another story.  I’ve joined many gyms, different programs, classes, and what have you.  I typically get bored by things after a couple months, but not this.  I feel like I am just getting started, and that?  That feels amazing.

The runner’s high is like no other and it is starting to control my life.  Everything I do reflects back to running (well, and of course being a mama!) and I am pumped.  I had this revelation tonight when I was running, and it was that now that I have started running, there is no looking back.  That is not an option, because if that happens, and I come to a standstill, I’m going to have to start at square one again.  And while there might not be anything wrong with that for you, there is a LOT wrong with that for me.  I feel like this has just been weaseled into my routine, I’ve adapted it and we’re friends now, like, besties.  I can’t let go of this, because if I do, I’m letting go of a very important goal, a dream, and letting go of dreams just seems so… emo?  And lame.  And discouraging.  So we won’t go there.

I say we make August the month of really tackling those pesky fears, of really letting go, grabbing a hold of them, and wrestling them to the ground.  I started this program and June, and this is where we’re at now, almost done.  June was the beginning of my tackle all the fears in the world way of living, and so far so good.  It was not only a huge success, but it has continued to be, and it has only grown.

I know I’ve compared running to breastfeeding, and I think I’ve compared it to birthing as well, but can we go there again please?  Birth can be such a huge mind thing.  With mental blocks and the works.  It’s like running.  They’re both physiological to an extent yes, but I think a huge part of it is that we have to go DEEP within ourselves and git’er done.  We need to conquer it in whatever way is going to make us feel most comfortable.  For some people birthing, that is in a hospital and for some it is in a home.  For some runners, that is running on a busy street and for some it is running on the back streets, along the river at dusk.  There’s a lot of preparation that needs to go on.  Education.  Research.  Building up your knowledge base.  Healing your heart and going forward.  When I was about to give birth to Cade, when I was labouring, I kept checking in with myself, making sure I felt like I was in a good head space, making sure I felt positive and empowered.  I do the same when I’m running.  I remind myself that I am capable of this because I am this.   It’s like one of my favourite birthing mantras – you can overcome and work through the contractions, they are not stronger than you, you are the contractions.  Sounds fluffy and crunchy, but I think it ought to work.  I never really realized that or internalized that until after I birthed my precious boy, but I think that statement is incredibly powerful and important.  I know birthing and running are not the same, trust me, I realize that.  What I am doing is comparing my mind sets in both of them, and pointing out how similar they can be for me, and why they have both transformed my mindset and the way I live my life in such huge, powerful ways.

So day 3, let’s do this.  It’s going to be a good one, a big one, and I’m not going to wrestle you to the ground, because that wouldn’t be very indicative of where we started and how far we’ve come.  I’m going to grab you, love you all up, get all huggy and romanticize the shit out of you.  You’re a run, I’m a runner.  Let’s do this.

Entry filed under: C25K, Cade, Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 9 Day 1 Some People.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzie Cordova  |  August 2, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    This had me laughing out loud no less than five times. I ESPECIALLY love your metaphor of loving Day 3 all up and romanticizing it. That was hilarious!

    Btw, can I get a what-what? You are SOFREAKINGAWESOME I can’t even stand it. Those words aren’t even adequate enough but they’ll have to do. And even though I haven’t birthed any younguns yet, I totally get your birthing/breastfeeding analogies. It’s 99% mental and 1% physical in how we prepare ourselves.

    You are my frickin’ hero. I so can’t wait to watch you grow with this!! YES!!!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  August 3, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Suzie your comments always make me fist pump!

      We are killing it, I always say that, but it becomes more and more apparent every single time we step foot out the door and run.
      GO US!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


