Some People.

August 3, 2011 at 10:29 am 4 comments

Some people enter your life and don’t leave a mark.  They pass you by in the street, they say hello to you in the supermarket.  You might look at them and wonder what their experiences have been, what their story is, what memories their body holds.  But that’s that, you pick up your items and you head out the door and continue on with your life.

Some people enter your life and they are there for a reason.  Sometimes this reason isn’t so apparent until days, weeks, months, years.  Sometimes these people enter your life to enhance it, and sometimes they do more harm than good, but there is still a reason for it.  In this case, this experience did nothing but good things for us.  This person entered our life as a cheerleader, a supporter, and an educator.  This person had a profound impact on the beginning of my son’s life, and the start of a relationship between a mother and her son.

When I blogged about my breastfeeding journey, I realized that there was one particular Lactation Consultant who stood out to me.  Out of all the LC’s that we saw during our first week or so home from the hospital, Cindy was the only name I remembered, the only face, too.  She was the first LC that came to our house, and dealt with me, the blubbering, tired, sobbing mess that I was, and Cade, my sweet little angel who was dropping pounds way too fast, and inevitably starving in the process.

She consoled us, she supported us, but mostly she was just kind.  She knew what to say, she knew how to make us feel better, if even just for the interim.  So when I wrote out that journey, it only made sense to me that I wanted to acknowledge her for all she did for us, the impact she had on us and our breastfeeding journey.  I decided that I was going to call her, and let her know personally how incredible she was and how much we appreciated her.

Yesterday afternoon, I called the Breastfeeding Centre and left a message, letting them know it wasn’t urgent, but that I just wanted to pass on a thank you to Cindy.  She called me back shortly after, and I did my spiel.  I told her all about everything we went through (after we were no longer attending the breastfeeding centre, and had just gone on with our own routine) and told her how much I appreciated her supporting us so much those first couple weeks.   She asked me several questions, encouraged me to be really proud of what we accomplished, and reinforced that our breastfeeding relationship absolutely was successful and beautiful.

It’s funny how things work out, you know.  I’ve been putting off calling her for over a week.  I wanted to be able to find the right words to say, to be able to express myself as articulately and accurately as possible.   Cindy told me that she believed we were meant to talk, and I think so too.  She said that she had been off all summer, and that yesterday was her first day back in a long while.

She told me that they are looking at hopefully incorporating a bit of an online support component to the centre/maternal health aspect, and inquired if I would be interested in passing my e-mail address along to provide support to women, if they so request.  Of course I said yes.  I strive to help other women find a place of comfort and healing in this journey.  I told her how emotionally charged it can be, breastfeeding.  She agreed – and she said it is challenging enough when things are going well.  She said that it would be great for other women to connect with real women who have experienced real things, because who wants to hear a nurse going on about breastfeeding?  I get that, but I think that ALL of our experiences, “good” and “bad” (such broad horrible terms, really) are valid, and everyone’s voice matters.  Well, mostly. :)  Cindy asked if I would be comfortable sharing my blog with her, and once again, of course I did.  I hope she’s reading this, but mostly, I hope she was able to read my breastfeeding story.  I felt so good after talking to her, and I knew it was something we had to do, another loose end to tie up, to wrap up our journey.  Cindy, if you are reading this, thank you again.  You are an incredible woman, an incredible nurse, an incredible human being, and my son, my family, and myself are so grateful for you entering our lives.

Entry filed under: Cade, Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 9 Day 2 C25K: Week 9 Day 3, The End!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gail Kolebaba  |  August 3, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    awww i bet you made her day!!!!! with all your kind ..appreciative words :) thats awesome you had such a wonderful support person as you began your journey of mommyhood :):)

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  August 3, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      thanks! I hope I did.
      I think it would be a nice way to go back to work after being off all summer.
      the whole breastfeeding journey was such a HUGE thing for us that I just had to acknowledge it. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Valerie  |  August 4, 2011 at 6:04 am

    I am an LC in a hospital setting and have loved your detailed story. I hope I am the kind of LC that Cindy is! I strive to be.
    Stories like yours are important to share so others can know they are not alone.

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  August 4, 2011 at 10:05 am

      Valerie, thank you so much for stopping by and saying hello. :)
      An LC in a hospital setting – that’s awesome. You must love your job, educating women and supporting women in one of the most important, defining moments of their lives.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


