C25K: Week 9 Day 3, The End!

August 5, 2011 at 3:43 pm 5 comments

Or, graduation, as it is called in the Couch-2-5K world.

I DID IT.

I am so stinkin’ proud of myself for completing this program, for running 3 days a week for 9 weeks, no setbacks, nothing, just perks and awesome progress.

I conquered a fear.  I went from a place of complete and utter exhaustion after several interval runs of 60 seconds each, to this, to 30 minutes of running non-stop, and to feeling like I could continue to pound the pavement for many more minutes.   I’ve stuck to my word and I’ve run 3 times a week, as well as basically walked every day of the week.  I have NOT done strength training on the off days as planned, but I do plan to.   That’s the hardest part though – setting out and doing it.  Heading off to the gym, or even the backyard, with a few weights, and going at ‘er.  This is something that I really need to do though, because I really feel my lung capacity building and building, but my overall body strength doesn’t really seem to match up.  I feel like I am and would be capable of more more more and my endurance could be greater, it’s just that I need to build myself up.

I also have not taken weekly photos or measured myself weekly as I had planned.  That’s kind of a bummer, but I’m okay with it.  I would like to measure myself this weekend, weigh myself, and see officially where I’m at.  I think I’ve lost about 11-12 lbs, given what the scale tells me on any given morning, which is my own personal legit weigh-in that I have come to rely on.  The most important thing of all is I feel stronger, I feel healthier, and I feel happier.  The running has taken over this huge health component of my life and has strongly encouraged me to pursue other healthy habits.  Everything in my life, since having Cade, has had such an amazing and positive domino effect that shit, I really have a LOT to thank that little guy for.  For reals though.  Cloth diapers have motivated me to be more enviro-friendly in other areas of my life, hence my deep desire to get a Diva Cup very soon, to use our own cleaning supplies and rid of the chemicals, to minimize the use of plastic snack bags and what have you.  Exercising with such a strong and intense purpose has motivated me to put good stuff into my body, to consume loads and loads of water, and to model this to my boy, so he in turn will feel good about treating his body with respect and love.  Gosh, I really do owe this little angel a lot.  Give it up for Cade, y’all!  And that’s not even the half of it.  Cripes.

I shed a few tears on my run last night.  Did I mention that I am also a sensitive and fragile being since I’ve experienced pregnancy, birthing and becoming a mother?  It’s ridic.  I cry at everything.  I think I actually have mentioned it. It’s a pretty strong and rampant theme in my life right now, so it absolutely trails into my running. I’m one of those saps that chokes up at silly TV commercials. I am one of them.

This whole journey has been extremely emotional and empowering for me. I have shown myself that I can DO things. This body is capable of a whole lot that I might not have thought it was a couple years ago. A whole lot of it is mental. I really had to put my mind to it, I really had to set out and convince myself, tell myself, that I am a capable, strong woman, who can DO shit. And I DID shit, alright. This body, this big ol’ body that I have criticized, that I have had up and down relationships with, that I have loved and loathed, is now one of my friends. We’re becoming all chumpy and what not, once again, and you know what, it feels really good. I am learning to respect it and treat it how it wants to, needs to and should be treated. Rome wasn’t built in a day though, and so we too are learning. How can I treat myself, my body, the vessel that carries all my own most preciousness, in such a disastrous way and expect it to reward me with life? I absolutely cannot, that is not an option and the only thing that was getting in the way of that was fear and self-loathing tendencies. It’s not fair to my family and it is not fair to me to have went on beating myself up, theoretically I mean, with food and bad energy and sedentary ways. So we’re on this journey and I feel so very committed to it, and I can’t even really say that. I don’t feel like it’s apart from me, I don’t feel like it is something tangible that I must grab a hold of and commit to. I feel like I have truly and genuinely internalized the shit out of it, this new way of living, and so now we just motor on, going about our life, because that’s just the way it is.

Entry filed under: C25K, Cade, Health & Fitness, Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Some People. But it’s not a word I’m familiar with.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jilly  |  August 14, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Trista, you are a rockstar! You inspired me to start running again. Keep it up, lady!! :)

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  August 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      Jill, thanks for stoppin by. that’s so cool that I have inspired you! wow, that is such an honour, really. :)
      keep up the awesome running work. it really does feel so good doesn’t it?

      Reply
  • 3. kstrawn78  |  September 2, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Hey, Trista! I found your blog through an internet search. I am currently on week 5 of the C25K – today was day 3 and it was a killer :) Tell me, how do you get your blog noticed online – wondering if I’m not doing something right?

    Congrats to you – since I’m’ doing the program, I know what a huge accomplishment this is!

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  September 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      hi there!
      I just comment a lot on other posts, I link to my blog on relevant FB groups, pages, etc. I don’t think i’m “super” noticed online but I have decent hits and they are getting better.
      I’m not good at marketing and that’s what a lot of it is. you can also do ads, etc. but I don’t do any of that.
      good for you for taking on C25K! I tried to visit your blog but it says its deleted?? :(

      Reply
  • 5. kstrawn78  |  September 9, 2011 at 7:03 am

    I wonder why :( My address is http://mytimebeginsnow.wordpress.com – if you have a moment, try again for me and let me know if it works. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


