But it’s not a word I’m familiar with.

August 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm 12 comments

Today I set out to run just for fun, rather than following a specific time.  Well at least partially just for fun – I did have a goal in mind, and that goal was to run 5km.  I’ll first begin by saying, I didn’t meet my goal, but I came absolutely very close and I ran the furthest I have yet to run which is incredible in and of itself.  I ran a whopping 4.35km in about 32 minutes!  My pace was about 7:20/km.  I am blowing my own personal goals RIGHT out of the water and I truly cannot believe it.  I feel so fit and strong, and I know I can only get fitter and stronger.

When I was running today, I was blogging in my head.  I thought to myself, I’m going to write “So, today I ran 5K, but it took me such and such time.”  And then I decided I wouldn’t write but, and then I came up with a reason why, and that’s because but implies that there is something wrong with the words written or mentioned or said before the but, and in this case, there most definitely is nothing wrong with them.  So instead, I thought, I’ll say “So, today I ran 5K, AND it took me such and such time.”  There, there’s nothing to contemplate there about any time being a bad time, because there is no such thing.  Completion is the running theme in my new world of running, and I’m happy to say that I am kicking completion’s ass and so on and so forth.

Nine weeks ago today I started the running program, and I finished it a couple days ago.  Nine weeks ago, Kyle took pictures of me, and he did the same thing for a couple weeks afterwards, and then we forgot.  Today I got him to take pictures of me too so I could compare and wow, am I ever glad we did that.  It’s so neat to SEE progress, obvious progress in my humble opinion.  I was going to compare the pictures from June 26 to now because they seem to be more drastic of a difference, but these are from June 5, the very first day of the C25K.  I think I was sucking in on the pictures, which is super funny to me, but I can see results.  I look more fit, I look stronger, more toned (still a long way to go) and I am FAR more curvy which I love.  Next summer, I have promised myself, I will rock a vintage swimsuit from Popina.

So here are the photos.  I have some work to do on my arms, but this is me in all my running gear glory.  My next goal is to be able to do push-ups.  Heck, A PUSH UP would be nice.  Seriously, I can’t fully do a push up without crashing to the ground.  But if I can go from dying after running for 60 seconds to running 4.35km, surely I can eventually do a push-up or two, right?

 

Shazam!

Love it.  This picture thing has got me motivated, which is why I decided to have some nachos tonight for supper with my main squeeze.  Totally don’t regret it, but totally don’t plan on always rewarding myself with snacks.  A girl’s gotta live a little, once in awhile, and indulge in some good old fashioned nach-as, right?

And I’m sorta kidding when I say I’m motivated and so I ate.  These days, motivation for me transpires into MORE MORE MORE movement of my body, which is what I wanted to see.  Motivation transpires into creative ideas to get moving, to get healthy, and to give my body what it needs.

I need to find an awesome design for this blog because I am BORED with it.  If anyone wants to help me that would be awesome, and if not, well, screw you, I can do it on my own.  I don’t have a paid WordPress account so I’m sort of stuck with certain settings, but I’ve made it work in the past and I’ll do it again, I just need some creativity injected into my veins, that’s all.  I also need to refresh my About Me page but I’m really struggling with writing a mini-bio.   It’ll come, I tell myself, but if I’m not even really trying super hard, do I really expect it to magically appear, all properly laid out, grammatically correct, and witty?  Likely not.

Expect an awesome post of Cade-isms in the next couple of days.  That dude is seriously FUNNY shit and I have some uber cute stories of things he does and what have you.  Gosh, he makes me laugh.  He makes me smile. He makes me want to go and wake him up for a late-night before bed snuggle.  I WILL regret saying that when he wakes up screaming in a couple hours.  Which he won’t do because now I’ve put it out there and it would be far too coincidental if that happened.
 

 

 

Entry filed under: C25K, Health & Fitness, Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

C25K: Week 9 Day 3, The End! Me and the Fluff.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elle  |  August 8, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Sexy MAMA!!! : )

    Reply
  • 3. Permanent State of Confusion  |  August 8, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    You can totally tell you are getting smaller in the hour glass photo of you and even though it’s far away photo you can tell you have lost weight totally in your face!!!
    Awesome job!
    I am not even close to you but I walked for 2 hours and swam for 2 hours today and I didn’t eat ice cream even though it’s calling my name… I came on here instead :)

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  August 16, 2011 at 9:41 pm

      Chandra, that’s awesome that you resisted the ice cream, it’s hard to do that, it is also important to ‘give in’ sometimes :)

      Reply
  • 5. Lori  |  August 9, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    you are AWESOME!! congrats on graduating, and that shirt looks totally different on you now

    Reply
    • 6. tristadawn  |  August 16, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      thanks so much Lori!
      :)

      Reply
  • 7. Lojo  |  August 9, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Feeling a-n-d looking GREAT! :) CHESTBUMP AND A HIGH FIVE!

    Reply
  • 9. Nicole  |  August 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    You look AWESOME!!! Good for you! Wish me luck, I’ve finish Week 1 Day 2 :)

    Reply
    • 10. tristadawn  |  August 16, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      Nicole, I hope you are still keepin’ at it. that’s so awesome that you’ve taken this challenge on!!! it really is a challenge, but it is so rewarding. :)

      Reply
  • 11. Laura  |  August 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Well done for finishing C25k! You look amazing!
    I finished week 5 today and completed the 20 minute run! I was actually thinking of your blog at one point when I was running and it kept me going to know you had managed to complete it. :)

    Reply
    • 12. tristadawn  |  August 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind words Laura.
      GOOD JOB on completing the 20 minute run! that seems to be the one most people dread, and look at you, YOU DID IT.
      so cool that you were thinking of my blog ;)
      keep up the amazing work. it truly is satisfying, and it truly is an awesome way to get in tip top shape and live healthier!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,751 hits

Archives


