Top 10 Lists

September 5, 2011 at 10:41 pm 5 comments

I’m a huge fan of lists, reading and writing them.  They’re easy to read, easy to write, concise, and to the point.  They’re great for those times when you can only spare a few for a quick update, or you can only spare a few for a quick review on something that doesn’t require more than reading a quick rundown of things.

Can you all help me put together some lists I can do?  I’m all for doing top 10 lists for any and everything as long as I have a wee bit of experience with it and can pull something legit together.  It would be unfair to you and to me for me to whip something up that I am essentially clueless about.

I’ve got a few ideas I could do, and would appreciate some input.  I know this blog doesn’t have a massive fan base like some of the biggies I read, but I do know there are a fair amount of readers each day, so yeah, input?  Muchly appreciated and I will return the favour in one way or another.  And as a disclaimer that really ought to just be obvious enough, these lists would obviously be only in the form of Yours Truly’s humble opinion, not some academic evidence-based researched-the-crap-out-of study.  Ahem.

Ideas:

  • Baby Things
  • Breastfeeding Related Something or Another
  • Easy + Healthy + Wholesome Snacks
  • Ways to Love Yourself and Encourage Self-Respect
  • Bucket List
  • Blogs I <3
I’m feeling at a loss but I’ve always been a fan of lists, even if it is just so much as using bullets for random thoughts in a post.  I’m trying to nail this blog thing down.  It’s something I love.  I spend countless hours perusing blogs online.  It’s what I do.  I don’t watch TV, like, EVER, but instead, I’m a blog fanatic.  I’d love to get this thing off the ground, I just don’t know how.  I don’t really know what it takes or if I even have what it takes.  I know it doesn’t matter, because I’m essentially doing this for myself, but I love to do it for you guys too.  People are reading, I like to keep them entertained, grab them + pull them in, but mostly, keep them reading and reading and reading and sharing.  If you like something, you share it, right?  Maybe not.  Just like I love blogs, I love Facebook, and Pinterest (newfound love affair obsession oh em gee!) and I love to share things.  Social media and social networking is a powerful powerful thing and it is taking this day and age by STORM.  I’ve spent my days fighting against it, I’ve spent too much time wondering why it has to be this way.  Instead, I’d like to join the revolution, reach out to people in this way, and just embrace it.  I can still do things my way, be an individual, and have interests and values that are important to my family and I and still be “plugged in” and “connected” right?  Where am I going with this?  Again, it’s late.
Ok, so.  What are things you’ve Google’d that you would have appreciated just finding a nice, concise, honest top 10 list for instead of thumbing through crappy articles to find a half-ass answer?  
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Pinterest! It’s fall and I need an overhaul.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lojo  |  September 6, 2011 at 2:55 am

    I have so much to say in response to this I don’t know where to begin. I, too, dig list posts, especially humor infused, opinionated ones. I am a cracked.com junkie, and I’d have to say that cracked.com articles are the #1 thing my friends and I share through facebook– totally read out loud worthy. As for writing them? I kind of suck. Really personalized list posts are regulars on my blog, but not Google worthy ones, or articles that would resonate with a larger audience. In retrospect, my most popular posts are still “shaving the cooch”, “how to spot a douche bag”, and “boys to avoid” (triple LOL), but it’s rare that I am blessed with reader attractive ideas for list posts. Maybe we can offer each other some list post inspiration.

    As for some of the topics you suggested, I really like “bucket list” (this won’t be the best for SEO, but it will be fun for your regular readers), and “ways to love yourself and encourage self respect” (a post that could be really positive to a wide range of readers). “Baby things” could be really fun, too. A random idea: if you want to team up on “baby things”, we could do a differing perspective thing. You could write about baby things you love, or that you couldn’t live without as a new mom, etc., and I could do a contrast post from the childless perspective about all the weird baby products that trip me out or confuse me. I have no problem making myself look like an idiot for humor sake. We could link to each other’s posts, and share some readership.

    Last year was my year to go hard on blogging. It was a bit defeating, to say the least, but after a good hiatus, I’m ready to give it another go. I feel the same way about it as you do and I would really like to take it to the next level. My biggest hurdle was finding a “niche”. Now I know that I’m not going to find a specific niche, so I am going to have to approach it from another angle. You should have a much easier time with the niche system though, based on the content of your blog. Check out Problogger for technical info if you don’t already, and Danielle Laporte for spiritual and entrepreneurial inspiration!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  September 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      HAAAHAHA, I love your most popular lists. That is so wicked. What a readership you’ve got… ;)

      I’d love to team up on baby things. I think that would be fun! I need to figure out exactly what will be on your list, because it’s completely different than what I THOUGHT I needed before I was a mama. I spose that’s always how it goes though, isn’t it? :) That sounds super fun….. we’ll have to figure out a timeline for when we can each produce a post.

      (PS: Do you use FB?)

      I kinda feel like I have a niche, but I kinda don’t. It bounces around so much! I guess it is more firm than it used to be, for example.

      I will check out those resources. Think I’ve checked out Problogger a bit, but not much, and def. haven’t checked out Danielle Laporte. I’m sorta clueless on making blogging “work” so I guess we shall see. :)

      <3

      Reply
      • 3. Lojo  |  September 10, 2011 at 3:37 am

        I will start playing around with ideas in regards to baby products and once I have a rough list I will send it to you. Then we can let each other know when we’re done our articles and plan a post-a-thon. I do use Facebook– search my name (I’m the only one and easy to find). Boo yeah! Will be fun!

  • 4. Laura  |  September 6, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    I originally found your blog searching for C25k posts/blogs so I’d obviously love to read more running related posts! I’m curious to know if you’re still running now that you finished the 9 weeks and what your next running goals are? Or maybe it inspired you to make other changes in your life? Or maybe other things you’d like to achieve, whether they are running related or not.

    I’m up to week 8 of C25k myself now and feel amazing for it. <3 Today I went running despite the heavy rain, I just couldn't not go, it's like my body was so wanting to go running!

    Reply
    • 5. tristadawn  |  September 6, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      CONGRATS for being on week 8! that is absolutley INCREDIBLE. it is LIFE changing, it really is.
      you know, running in the rain is kind of awesome, isn’t it? it feels so nostalgic, sentimental. meaningful.

      I AM still running! I can’t believe I haven’t posted about that. well that shall be tomorrow night’s post. I actually started the C25K program all over again, this time with a jogging stroller with my son in it, and again with my pooch, in tow. it’s a lot harder, and I feel like I’m back at square 1, but I can definitely tell I am stronger and I KNOW I can do it!

      I will def. blog about my next running goals along with what other changes in my life I have made/in the process of making. That is a great idea for a post, and since I often stumble into writer’s block, I super appreciate it.

      KEEP on running, living, smiling. you are doing incredible and it is such an amazing transformation you and your body and your mind are making together!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


