It’s fall and I need an overhaul.

September 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm 4 comments

Pinterest
I saw this lovely idea on Pinterest last night, and since I’m in a “it’s autumn and I need CHANGE” state of mind, of course I
had to do it.  It was simple enough, cheap enough, and just so cute and hip looking that I couldn’t pass it up.
I think these will do for now, but I might want to swap for different pictures, do a bit of a different contrast/light balance
next time around, and what have you.  But I think these will look good above our couch, which is where I’m envisioning
them and so excited to pick them up.  However, the Shoppers photo lab tells me it will be 5-7 days before they area ready.
Seems a bit of a stretch to me, so we’ll see.
I’m seriously finding SO much good stuff on Pinterest.  I highly encourage everyone to at least check it out.  In fact, why
don’t you check out my boards that I’ve got going on.  I haven’t pinned too much stuff yet, but there’s a few neat things
that I am anxious to try.

http://pinterest.com/tristarobinson/

There’s a couple dressers that we have that are old and I am totally sick of, but it’s not in the cards right now to be buying new stuff.  I’m wondering about somehow refinishing them.  Before I go any further, I will have you know I am totally NOT crafty, like, at all.  I mean, I could be if I actually tried, but I haven’t tried and so I guess I just say I’m not.  However, I’m not, or wasn’t, a runner, either……

Hmph.

My next project I want to attempt is this lovely, minimalistic-inspired wreath that I just think is so cute and trendy

Those adorable white things?  LIMA BEANS!  Glued onto a styrofoam wreath, and then spray-painted so the glue spots are concealed.  You can also use acorns (the beans not the actual acorns) and then the wreath has a brown base.  It would be perfect and adorable for fall.  I’ve always wanted a wreath on my door.

Okay, and one last crafty thing because this looks like something that is doable, easy enough to be successful at, budget-friendly, and… plain and simply awesome.

Using Paint + Glaze To Create an Antique Look

Basically, you can go from this:

To this:

All Things Thrify looks like a fabulous resource for home decor/accessories on a budget.

I’m really craving a thrift store shopping adventure to pick up some items that could possibly transform or that I could possibly transform into something magical.   This places needs a bit of a pick-me-up, and I’d say it’s about a good time for that.  Not only that, but the last time I ventured into a thrift store, I came out with a satin scarf (think: something your great-grandma would wear on her head) that I like to use as a make-shift hairpiece, a shirt that worked for a 1950’s/60’s “outfit” and that could work today too, and some killer wedge espadrille sandals.   I’m in need of some new clothes, and again since we’re talking budget, what better place than a thrift store to find some gently used, nicely broken in, and stylish gear?  I’m trying here, I really am!

Since we’re on the topic of cheapness and home decor, what are your favourite frugal decorating tips?  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: A Home at the End of the World, The Money's In The Bag. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Top 10 Lists Keep Calm + Carry On.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom Cades grandma  |  September 6, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I love those pictures of your babies hahaha I miss being crafty, remember I used to make a lot of crafty stuff (well maybe you don’t )but I was so Suzy Home Maker years ago when you kids were little and now that I ACTUALLY have time in the evenings I don’t have any hobbies…with winter coming I need to start doing something other than playing games on this darn computer !

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  September 8, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      I kinda remember you being crafty! You really should do that again! Once you are able to check out Pinterest you’ll probably find a TON of cool ideas. :) <3

      Reply
  • 3. Lojo  |  September 6, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Love those prints of Cade and Lily.

    I also love thrifting. Even at times when my funds are okay, I much prefer thrifts objects with deeper interest and history, although I’ve been a bit intimidated to do any revamping like the picture of the frame you posted. I found a great antique shop in a small city about 20 mins outside of RD that has great stuff and reasonable prices.

    As for my favorite frugal decorating tips? Probably grandparent hand-me-downs. Haha. All in all, I like picking cheap, basic pieces of furniture, and decorating with already owned/ or thrift/ or simply cheap but loved decor. For example, I have an industrial, chrome wire entertainment stand ($50 from Canada Tire), and I’ve decorated it with books and vintage ornaments. I used the books with the brightest colors and made a cascading rainbow effect.

    Your posts about Pinterest motivated me to make an account. As soon as I start making boards I’ll add you!

    Reply
    • 4. tristadawn  |  September 8, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Yeah, I think I need to adopt thrifting into my shopping routine ANYWAY. I just kinda suck at it. I need a personal shopper at the best of times, I swear.
      I think one of these weekends as it gets cooler out, I’m going to set aside a good chunk of time and go do some thrifting and try to find some pieces of clothing that fit ME.

      I can’t wait for you to check out Pinterest. I think you will really like it. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,818 hits

Archives


