Eczema.

September 23, 2011 at 11:34 pm 10 comments

I’m posting on a whim once again tonight.  Late late, and I need some schleep.

Spent the evening chillin’ with a dear friend and my family.  Lovely times.  Ate popcorn, feel horrible because of it now (you know the feeling, popcorn is just so bloaty)  and watched Despicable Me.

This post is not so much of a post as a call-out.  The air is getting cooler and my skin is getting drier.  And with that, the eczema starts to flare up again, Argh argh argh.

I only get it on my hands, but I’ve had it for as long as I can remember.  I remember my doctor years and years and years ago telling me that I probably shouldn’t wash dishes because of my sensitive skin.  I jumped all over that, but wouldn’t you know, I am the primary dishwasher these days.

I am wondering about some natural cures for this pesky annoyance.  It gets so itchy sometimes that I want to scratch my skin off and just be done with it.  Sick right?  I’ve thought about wearing a hazelwood necklace (like the one Cade has for teething) however I have yet to try it.  Every night before bed, to help my itching hands, I also slather on the calendula/beeswax/coconut oil cream that we use for Cade’s butt cream.  It provides moisture, and temporary relief, but it doesn’t make it go away.

I am thinking I might need to get something prescription-based, unless I can come up with any other glorious idea, where is where all of you come into play.

Eczema?  What worked?  What didn’t?  Seriously, I’ve had this for YEARS.  I can remember being in grade 7 and having it.  It’s frustrating and honestly?  Sometimes a tad embarrassing.  So I need to do something, before this drives me even battier.

Also, I am shocked that Cade hasn’t developed any form of eczema yet, as that is so common in babies, especially with a genetic link.  Now that I said that, he’ll probably wake up covered with itchy patches of eczema.  Ugh.  Murphy’s Law, right?  Never works in my favour.

So spout out at me any tips for eczema, because I’m seeking some out big time.  I’ll love you forever and I will even forever credit you for saving my sanity.  Now there’s something to be proud of.

G’nighty night, friends.

Entry filed under: Health & Fitness. Tags: , , , .

September 28, Mark It! P.S.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  September 24, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    My sister had Eczema her entire life. She stopped all dairy last year and she hasn’t itched since! Good luck!

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  September 25, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Interesting! Thanks for the tip Julia!

      Reply
  • 3. tara  |  September 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    so number 1: sometimes I feel like I am reading my own life here, we are very similar.
    number 2: i pinned your blog on my pinterest account, I hope that’s ok.
    number 3: for the ecczema I feel your pain I am in the middle of a steroid by mouth wean for 3 weeks because mine got so out of control, prior to this flare up I treated any mild breakouts with accupunture, I have used the aveeno for babies eczema cream as I have found that is one of the best, I am also using gentle naturals eczema baby cream but am uncertain of where in canada to find it, I got mine in Seattle last week, you could try putting on one of those creams and then wrapping your hands in saran wrap (weird I know but it works) and then putting them into those white cotton silver polishing gloves to sleep in. The cream or medication will soak in better and the gloves will prevent the scratching, or at least help to prevent it a bit. As for the baby, I use eczema specific soap, lotion her up after a bath and only bathe her about 1x a week, maybe 2 as I too am terrified every day I will wake up and find her with the telltale itchy scaleys.
    number 4: do you like your ergo carrier (seen in your photo above)? i currently still use my moby sling but think i might need something a touch more secure for my wiggler.

    Reply
  • 4. misskalypso  |  September 26, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Watch what you are washing your hair with too. I found that I had incredible trouble with my hands, depending on what shampoo I was using. I am now using an olive oil soap bar as a shampoo, as it is the only thing that has actually let it settle down! (ps, thanks for linking to my blog regarding pelvic ‘floor’ health too!)

    Reply
    • 5. tristadawn  |  September 26, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Good to know!
      I’ve been looking for a new shampoo too – something more simple, minimal ingredients. I’m glad to hear the olive oil bar is working for you (both in terms of hair + eczema) and might have to give it a shot.

      You’re welcome. I loved the article and it is critical information so many of us aren’t given but need to know. <3

      Reply
  • 6. laila Alive  |  September 26, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    hi! I may not have a really extreme case of it, but it drives me crazy nonetheless. Dryness, itching and burning is never fun. NEVER.

    That said, before I knew what it was and I had a pusher for a dermatologist, I used to get cortisone shots. I knew how bad they were, so I’d deal with bouts for months before getting another shot. Not cool!

    Honestly, the best thing I’ve learned is to use creams, not lotions. I stumbled upon a product called vanicream that I get from amazon.com. My disclaimer to you though is that it’s last ingredient (meaning, the ingredient that is in the smallest amount compared to the other ingredients) is reported to be a carcinogen. I still use it because there’s nothing else that works like it for me, and my neighbors give me plenty of second-hand-smoke daily, so what’s a tiny little bit of carcinogens in my cream if it gives me relief?! ;)

    Interestingly, I’ve also realized that drinking water and staying hydrated can make or break me. I could have an itchy spot that I can manage with cream, but the second I go a few days without drinking water (yeah, I do that, I don’t know why!), then I have a really hard time getting rid of the itchies.

    I hope that is at least a teensy bit helpful!

    Take care fellow itchy one :)

    Reply
  • 7. laila Alive  |  September 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    But wait….there’s more!

    LOL sorry. I realized I do a lot more than that!

    I really like to take a daily shower (or two), but I cut those down to every other day. That helped a lot. I also cream up immediately after I get out. And if I go outside, I make sure to put lots of cream on before, during and after.

    Essentially, with my case, it seems like it’s a game to lock as much moisture in as possible, and drink as much water as I can to stay hydrated. Sometimes if it’s really bad on my neck, I’ll use the same shampoo and conditioner, but I’ll wash my hair with my head hanging down so the chemicals never touch my skin. (My husband finds this hilarious.) I’ve had flakes all my life and always thought it was dandruff or something. I’ve only now realized it’s eczema. The best thing I’ve done for my scalp is to shampoo as little as I can, and only leave it on long enough to cut the grease, instead of scrubbing my scalp like I used to do.

    Eucerin also has an oil-based body wash. I’ve used it, but for the most part, I use Dove sensitive skin soap (no smell) for all the um…important parts, and really just let water do the rest. Once a month I’ll do a good quick scrubbing to get the dead skin cells off. So far, I’ve only had some mild outbreaks. If it gets really bad, I’ll put on some ointment and put a bandaid or gauze and literally drown the itchy patch. It typically knocks it out by the end of the day. Then I cream up like help so it doesn’t come back!

    Reply
    • 8. tristadawn  |  September 28, 2011 at 10:58 am

      Thank you so much for your detailed comment on how to manage eczema. I am definitely going to try some of your suggestions.
      I think the big one for me will be locking in a ton of moisture. so i might have to start wearing gloves to bed. very attractive! :)
      another comment that I really noticed was changing up shampoos to just maybe using an olive oil bar or something very simple and less irritating.
      xo

      Reply
  • 9. Michelle  |  September 30, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    My son struggled with this for 6 months before we figured out his exzema was an expression of a dairy intolerance. We cut out dairy and added a daily probiotic to repair his gut health from the ill effects of the dairy and it was gone in TWO days! We have been rash free for over a year after fighting it for SO long :) In my research, it seems that dairy is a big trigger as well as your gut flora health :) good luck!

    Reply
    • 10. tristadawn  |  October 4, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Hi Michelle! thanks so much for this comment. my hands flare up when it gets cold out, air is dry, etc. it’s so frustrating. I should try the dairy thing. as well, my skin/hands then just become SO itchy and are SO sensitive to any type of irritants! it is a never ending cycle and so frustrating. I am glad to hear what worked for your son. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,751 hits

Archives


