A Strike Against Sunday.

September 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm 2 comments

re-posted from http://thenewwomensmovement.tumblr.com
It is these sorts of images.  These reminders.  That evoke both sadness and extreme happiness within me.  Sadness because sometimes some of us need these reminders.  Happiness because at least the message is clear, at least it’s getting out there, and most of all, at least people are listening.  Thinking.  Acting.

I feel extremely blessed to have an amazing group of like-minded people in my lives, people that are going to support my ideas, people that are going to support me.  There are no competitions, there are no judgements.  But what there are, are dialogues.  Discussions.  Debates.  Conversations and strong communication.  I don’t even mean agreeing on every single thing, because that would be boring, but I mean a simple, basic form of respect.  That is what it comes down to, as far as I’m concerned.  And as far as I’m also concerned, it doesn’t always happen.

Why do I feel the need to silence myself when others can run rampant with their ideas, their opinions?  I have no idea, but I know I am not alone in this.  The people, my people, get.it.  Encouragement to stand up, push forth, through idiotic and ignorant ideas is critical, and by ignorant I do mean it in the truest sense of the word.   And when I say silence myself, I do mean that.  I am choosing to remain silent for fear of ruffling feathers, making waves.  Why why why.  This irritates me and angers me and then I sit on the fence, humming, hawing, and generally feeling irritable, annoyed and angry and such-and-such words or so-and-so actions.  Sigh triple sigh.

ig·no·rant

adjective

1.

lacking in knowledge or training; unlearned: an ignorant man.
2.

lacking knowledge or information as to a particular subject orfact: ignorant of quantum physics.
3.

uninformed; unaware.
4.

due to or showing lack of knowledge or training: an ignorantstatement.
The thing with ignorance, and again, the truest sense, is I am finding and stumbling across, too often, that while an individual, or a group, or a system, might be ignorant, they also might be ignorant.  A lack of knowledge or training might be just so, but it also might be rooted in having no desire, no need, no craving to learn or to educate.  And that is where I get sad.  Consciousness is a powerful thing and while intangible, the lack of it sometimes makes me utterly sick.
Entry filed under: A Home at the End of the World. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

The Pelvic Floor. Offbeat Mama!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jonnydropout  |  September 25, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    i empathize with your plight… although that might be the jagermeister talking.. i find no place in my life where ignorance is not celebrated . all my “conversations” with friends are marred by the tell-tale signs of a complete disinterest in acknowledging truth or of any semblance of fact based, dialectic reasoning.

    but i am drunk and not to be trusted…. i just found your post compelling, and wished to reach out to you… to let you know, you are not alone. perhaps it means nothing to you, but to me, that is valuable information….

    please, never stop…

    respect,
    -jon

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  September 26, 2011 at 10:52 am

      hey, thanks for stopping by!

      curious – how’d you find me? :)

      I will check your blog out when I have a spare few moments. a bit trickier with a little one in the home.

      thank you for reaching out. I know I am not alone, but it is always nice to have those sentiments echoed.
      I am sorry so many of your friends are not of the same mindset. it makes it challenging when you’re not supported or at least encouraged! <3

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,935 hits

Archives


