I <3 Autumn.

October 4, 2011 at 10:04 pm 2 comments

Autumn is both kind to me and aggravating.  But mostly kind.   Out of all the seasons, autumn and I get along the best, and I think the boy is going to be the same.  He seems to be thriving now that the leaves are falling.  He is happy, and his sleep is totally getting in check.  But most of all, he is happy.  He enjoys fall food.  He loves slow-cooked chicken and vegetables, squash, sweet potatoes.  I’m pretty certain he is going to take a liking to the pumpkin muffins + loaf sitting on the counter cooling off, too.

Autumn is nostalgic to me, every year, but particularly this year.  Last fall, I was in such anticipation for the baby in my belly.  I wanted to meet him or her so bad, but I knew it would be some time.  Kyle was gone a lot with work, and so it was just the pooch and I.  We’d go for a walk every morning, and loved the crisp air.  After I got home from work, we’d walk, and then make supper and crash for the night.  I’d feel my baby moving around inside of me mostly at night, and so that’s how I fell asleep.

This year, fall is different.  I love it just the same, and every year brings about the need for change in my life.  In the past, fall always signified back to school, which was always a big change, especially from elementary to high school and high school to university.  Now, I just ache and yearn for a different haircut, or a different style.  New shoes.  Different things to cook.  Different activities to do.  House re-organization.  Nesting things, really.  Last fall, I nested hard.  While I’m nostalgic, and obviously life is completely different now that it has been so delightfully graced with a mini, it’s hard to crunch in the leaves, feel the fall air, when I know, that it’s different this time.

Last fall, I anticipated my baby so much.  I anticipated being done work, and focusing all my energies on my growing wee one, being home with the babe and the pooch.  This fall, my stomach aches, flips and flops, when I think about what the next month brings.  Work.  Out of home work.  When I left my job, as much as I really do love my job (I do!), I was done.  Pregnancy brought about hormones I didn’t know existed in me, and with that, I was a bit of an… assertive woman, though like I’ve said before, some might say, aggressive.  Bossy.  Snotty, even.  I still do and always will beg to differ :)  Needless to say, I was really really excited to just be off, away from everything work-related, for a whole year.  It sounded like such a long time.  And now… I’m so close to it.  So close to going back.  I’m excited to be surrounded by some amazing work cronies (and friends!), but it’s getting me down.  It’s going to be such a change.  I think the boy is going to adjust better than his mama.  I really do still have a lot to learn from him.

But for now, I really don’t want to think about it or talk about it.  It’s a constant theme though.  Instead of last fall, “when’s your last day?” it’s now, “when do you go back to work?” said with such a sullen, gloomy disappointment.  For good reason.

But, fall!  Fall is glorious.  Like I said, every fall I want some sort of change.  This fall, I’m aching for a new wardrobe, a new sense of style.  I would love a personal shopper who can tell me what I need to wear to look awesome.  I don’t even so much care about fashion as much as this makes it sound like I do.  I just need a look that is me, and I don’t even want to have to apologize for that.  I have spent too long fighting against myself (that is another post for another day) and for now, I just want to work with it, with this body, with this mind, heart + soul.

This fall, I am all about the pumpkin.  I have been pinning and searching for pumpkin recipes and pumpkin latte recipes like mad.  I almost picked up baking and cooking supplies to make pumpkin muffins, loaf, AND lattes this week, but I stopped at muffins.   Actually, I’m going to share this recipe from a friend because it turned out so wonderful.  And I can’t bake.

Streusel Topped Pumpkin Muffins

Streusel Topping:
2 Tbl spoons brown sugar
2 Tbl spoons finely chopped nuts
1 Tbl spoon all-purpose flour
1/4 Tbl spoon margarine or softened butter

Muffins
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup canned pumpkin (not pie filling)
1/3 cup oil
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 cup chopped nuts
1/4 cup rainsins (optional)

Pre heat oven to 400. Will yield 12 muffins.
Mis wet ingredients until blended, add the dry. Add mixture to either lined or greased muffin tin. Batter will be clumpy.
Sprinkle streusel topping evenly over batter.
Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

I doubled the recipe and made 12 muffins and one loaf.  Also, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and then about 1/3 cup of agave nectar, just to cut down on the sugar.  I also used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, and they turned out lovely as lovely can be.

I also ventured into the borscht making territory last week, and it was an absolute and total SUCCESS.   Seriously, that stuff is so healthy and so easy to make, just takes a bit of time to grate up all those hearty beets.  For anyone who doesn’t know what borscht is, here.

I decided to just wing it, and so I didn’t really measure anything.  Instead, I will present to you my recipe for:

The Best Thrown Together Borscht.  Ever. 

 

3 Beets (I grated them but you can chop them up too)

3 Celery Stalks (chopped)

8 Carrots (chopped)

1/2 Onion (diced)

A bunch of dill

Veggie broth (I think I made 8-10 cups worth)

Pepper to taste

Toss all those delicious ingredients into a pot, and boil for a bit.  Then cook on medium for a bit more, and then simmer for awhile until the veggies are nice and soft, the beets are cooked, and everything looks marvelous and you want to swim in the delicious red soup.

Make sure you make a huge mess with the beets and make your kitchen look like it has potential to be a crime scene.

When I eat my borscht, I add a bit of cream to it, just because, well, you know.  I also add a bit more pepper.  You can even add cream when you are making it, too, but I prefer to just add to taste.

 

So, with that, I went from talking about the awesomeness of fall, to the darkness of fall that I sometimes slip in, to food.  That about sums up autumn.  Happy October!  Go do some good in your kitchen, make something awesome, and let’s have a food-off.  xo.

 

 

 

Entry filed under: A Home at the End of the World, Foodie Goodness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

30 Days. Stuff.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gail Kolebaba  |  October 4, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    we soooooo love borcht all of us …i just may make another huge batch lol…those muffins look delish too :)

    Reply
    • 2. tristadawn  |  October 7, 2011 at 11:25 am

      the muffins were pretty awesome! :) I’m a pumpkin fan this time of year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


