A Poop-plosion.

November 11, 2011 at 4:01 pm 7 comments

This week has been a whirlwind. I am happy to say that it is done and we are on weekend time now, because quite frankly, weekend time is awesome time. Fun time. I went back to work on Monday and since then it has been up and down and up and down and down and down and up and down and down. Monday sucked, Tuesday was alright, Wednesday blew, and Thursday was better. Little dude is now a ONE YEAR OLD. Bizarre, just bizarre. Blows my mind outta the water. I am the mother of a toddler, a one year old… he’s still my baby, through and through. I’ve been meaning to do and still WILL do a post on the first year of the boy’s life, the first year of parenthood. Life has interrupted though and so here we are, weeks without a post, and I’m feeling lost. Is it super nerdy to say this blog here is a part of my life? I put pieces of my soul into this, you should feel special that you’re reading it. ;) So needless to say, I’m missing it.

So while the big sum-up post is not done, nor has it even been started, this post here is going to strictly be motivated by frustration. And annoyance. And some other lingering things, some parts of me, but mostly by those.

The boy has had a bout of diarrhea since Tuesday, and so we’ve been keeping an eye on him… and his diaper, of course. Tuesday brought forth many poops, one which required our daycare provider (I need to come up with a super awesome nickname for her, because that is what she is, is super awesome) to toss him in the tub and clean him up that way. Each diaper after that brought more, and more, and more poops. And each poop brought on more and more of a rashy, polka-dotted red bum. Wednesday was the same, 6 poops I think in total, which is out of the ordinary for my kiddo. And Thursday, same ole’ same ole’. In fact, Thursday morning before we took the boy to daycare, we had to bath him as well because it was seriously smeared all.over.the.place. At the end of the day Thursday when the diaper situation had not changed, we began to pay a bit more close attention to what was going on. And we still are but have not discovered much.

If you know anything about me, you know I’m not one to rush off to the doctor. Most issues that WE have dealt with have not been any that have required medical personnel intervention. Don’t get me wrong, there are obviously some that do, clearly. But the whole diarrhea in a baby thing is new to us, and while that has been the only symptom, and other than that this kiddo has been happy as pie and living the life that is normal for him, diarrhea can lead to dehydration and that makes me a tad bit fearful.

SO that led me to calling the Health Line today and explaining what has been going on. Loose, watery stools, including a couple that showed up in his diaper this morning that can only be described as… Relish. With a side of mucus. She figured that we might want to get him checked out, just to be sure there is nothing really major going on. She wasn’t concerned, and I am not really either, but thought we’d drop by a local medi-clinic. FIRST MISTAKE. I hate medi-clinics. I think I can say that as a blanket statement too. Boo, a big fat boo.

We waited, actually not very long, and then the doctor came in and saw us. Gave us high fives (? but appreciated) and played with the kiddo for a couple seconds. Asked what the issue was, I explained, and then he started looking on his iPhone at what I can only assume is some high-tech top-notch App for medical professionals. He wrote out a prescription for Mryewoiruewoighnaiwo and said “anything else?” *FACEPALM* Uumm.. don’t you want to see the poop samples that I brought for you to check out? Nope. Do I need to restrict any food or milk? Of COURSE not. His bum looks awful and is splotchy and spotted, what about that? Keep doing what you’re doing. I leerily looked at the prescription, asked what it was and what it’s for. It’s for a stomach bug, it will kill it. Anything else?

That was our visit in a nutshell but I really promise you that it was not much more than that. I immediately gave Kyle The Look. He knew. I wanted a second opinion, or at the very least, I was not going to fill this stupid prescription. An antibiotic? For some bug? Do you even know what kind of bug it is, if it even IS a bug? He seriously did not even ask anything about the frequency or consistency of the poop. Okay, I GET that it is the only symptom, and that other than that my boy is fine, but it IS out of the ordinary for this kiddo. I don’t know what I went to the clinic expecting. But what I am not comfortable with is tossing some random antibiotic into my ONE YEAR OLD and being done with it.

I feel like I need to explain myself and defend myself, and I KNOW I DON’T, but I will anyway. I think that yes, antibiotics likely are necessary. But with that being said, they are CERTAINLY not as necessary as the frequency with which they are prescribed. In fact, I feel like loading my boy up with the probiotic drops we’ve got in the fridge, to further boost the good bacteria in his body, thereby hopefully helping to fight off the bad bacteria causing the poopsplosions… if that is what is causing them. We are pretty cautious about what we put into our own bodies, into the boy’s body, and into Lily’s body. So I was not happy.

We stopped by a pharmacy so I could ask some questions about the prescription. She seemed rather confused as to why it was prescribed, and explained that it is a very harsh medication, with harsh side effects. It is an antibiotic that kills “some bugs.” Exactly, right? SOME. So worst case scenario, the bug or whatever he has, is resistant to this Mruioewfuewiofuoi, and so he ends up with a horrid stomach ache, and persistent diarrhea and diaper rash. Joyous day. I told her I wasn’t comfortable with it if it wasn’t necessary, and because the poo seems to be sort of subsiding as the day goes on, I didn’t fill it. She thought that it was a good idea as well, and if things really DID get worse in the next 24ish hours, I could always fill out, or even take him in to the ER where they would likely do a stool sample and further assessment to determine really what was going on with this little one’s intestines.

I feel disheartened and frustrated by the experience. I probably shouldn’t because I mean, I know that doctors and any health care professionals really, are not all mighty divinities who know everything and are the cure-alls to all our problems. Oh HELL no. But I like to have a little faith sometimes. Boost my faith, won’t ya? Show me that you are not all evil. I mean, I know that, I really do. We do have a family doctor and have been quite happy for the most part with our experiences with her, so I’m not completely “against” doctors or the world of modern medicine in general. But it is not the be all end all in all cases, absolutely not. Whether you are dealing with an ailment, an illness, a condition, or something wonderful such as pregnancy, birthing, etc… get second opinions peeps. Research. Educate. Know your stuff. Know your rights. Do not let someone do something to your body with which you may not be comfortable before you bulk up on some information, education, knowledge. Knowledge seriously IS power, and that can go both ways and be either a super positive and empowering thing, or used to someone’s advantage and switched around so that power is knowledge, in which case – not cool.

Entry filed under: Health & Fitness, Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Bittersweet. Sweet Lil Dimples Baby Shop.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista's mom  |  November 11, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Hows he doing now? That picture is hilarious of him haha

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  November 12, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I’m sorry to hear Cade’s not feeling 100%. I hope he feels better very soon. Good choice to nix the antibiotics. Andrew has never taken anything harsh like that, I know there are times when it’s the only thing to do, but I’d say most of the time things will work themselves out without using harsh medications.

    Andrew had what sounds like the exact same thing (or very similar) to Cade’s symptoms, and I think he was somewhere around 1 year old when it happened – come to think of it, I think it must have been a bit earlier because the dr’s recommendation was that I go on the BRAT diet for a while (bananas, rice, apples, and toast – literally nothing else) to see if maybe something I was eating was affecting Andrew badly through my milk (I don’t recall that Andrew was eating solids yet himself, that’s why I think it was earlier). I tried the BRAT diet…I think I got through about 6 hours…and I couldn’t stand it! LOL I wasn’t able to give up eating normally, what can I say…Well, his symtpoms were probably gone within another 3 days or so. It lasted about a week and a half total I think (it was a long time ago now!) I remember being SO worried, naturally, but ultimately I think I was more worried than what he was actually sick. I hope it’s the same scenario and Cade is all back to normal without having to take anything. XOXO I also recall the dr suggesting I pick up some Pedialite, which I’d never heard of before that, but it’s apparently very good for keeping little ones hydrated.

    I’m so sorry you had such a crappy (no pun intended, seriously!!) experience with the doctor. One more strike against the medical system…I swear…It’s mind boggling how terrible it is. The walk in clinics are the worst, although mine isn’t a walk in clinic and I’ve been having issues there as well…It’s so disheartening, because when you need help, the very people you’re supposed to be able to count on just aren’t quite living up to their titles.

    Anyway, get well wishes to the Cadester, and enjoy the rest of your family time this weekend! XOXOXO

    Reply
    • 3. tristadawn  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:31 am

      i totally thought I replied. I am trying to do this whole reply to every comment thing and wommp womp I failed ;)
      our health care system… and a lot of our systems in general… need a lot of work. first and foremost they need to hear from us, their users, where the concerns are. I need to be more proactive in doing this for sure!

      Reply
  • 4. Permanent State of Confusion  |  November 15, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Hey there, I too am the same way especially with all the health issues that I and all the immediate family have been dealing with. Had a not been assertive I don’t think a lot of the issues we’ve dealt with would have in fact, been dealt with. But getting second opionions saved me from doctors assuming I had asthma and gave me a puffer without even doing a simple breathing test. I think maybe they don’t have enough time but they aren’t asking the right questions sometimes too.

    If Cade is getting “swamp water” only stool and seems like water only get him checked for C. Difficul. It is easily contracted around a lot of kids and can cause gas and spores in the stool. But it is a bacterial infection and if left untreated can lead to colitis.

    Oh or you can always check out medline and do your own research. If you don’t find the health link works well we have 403 943 LINK and have to say they are pretty awesome. Might be worth the long distance phone call :)

    Reply
    • 5. tristadawn  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:32 am

      thanks tips! :)
      second opinions are really quite glorious. we ended up getting one and his advice helped us to eliminate all the poo!

      Reply
  • 6. Nicole F.  |  November 16, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Arrgh, our health system is so frustrating at times. I am like you, I see things very differently now that it isn’t just me, but a child… a baby! The day of the family doctors are long gone, however, the tendency to just “fix” the problem with antibiotics instead of first trying to accurately diagnose and treat is so backwards to me… and although I respect that a doctor is knowledgable, please don’t discredit my experience as a mother over your… i-Phone! Good for you for diving deeper and asking the hard questions! Hope you’re all having a better week.

    Reply
    • 7. tristadawn  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:33 am

      iphones and other similary devices are taking over! … as I type this comment from my own smartphone bwahaha. man…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,899 hits

Archives


