Sweet Lil Dimples Baby Shop.

November 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm Leave a comment

I have been meaning to do this post/review for MONTHS and I am finally getting around to it.  Go me.
So as you may or may not have figured out by now, we are huge fans of cloth diapers in this household.  Unfortunately, I have not taught myself how to sew yet, and so making my own are sort of out of the question.  And so it is times like these when I am thankful for awesome local folks who do awesome local things.  Which is where Rhonda from Sweet Lil Dimples Baby Shop comes in.   I don’t remember how I heard about the shop, but I think it was via a random online search for cloth diapers Saskatoon, or something of the sort.  Honestly, and this is going to sound really nerdy so brace yourselves… I consider myself to be quite the little sleuth when it comes to finding things online.  Stalkerish, one might even say.  Anyway…

Rhonda is a wealth of information, and so she is the first person I turned to when we started experiencing compression leaks with the boy’s dipes.  Basically, imagine a wet cloth, and then pressure put on the cloth.  What happens?  The water leaks out as a result of the wetness being compressed.  That’s what we started to experience, except it seemed to happen overnight, and constantly.  Rhonda asked me a series of questions to try and best diagnose how we could fix the issue.  She offered to let me be a guinea pig and try out a little concoction of diaper inserts, in exchange for a little review, which I am finally doing.   So before I go into the awesomeness of her shop and all the various items we have purchased, I need to and want to profess my love for these 6r soakers:

Hemp is super absorbent and good for compression leaks, so we went with the Rumparooz 6r hemp soakers/inserts.  Apparently Rumparooz is one of the best and highest tested cloth diapers on the market, and I believe it.  These inserts are golden.   Instead of buying all new diapers, my goal was to try to come up with a system/insert that worked with the diapers we already had.  We use pocket diapers, so it was a matter of finding something that we could stuff into the pocket and that would not be too bulky.  Ah, that was my other issue.  With cloth diapers, fitting certain pants over them can already be somewhat of a challenge, so I wanted to minimize the bulk as much as possible.  And I’m not completely ignorant, I get that a little junk in the trunk just comes with the cloth diapering territory.  And that’s all good, because really?  A cloth bum is flippin’ adorable.

So we took the inserts home, prepped them by washing and drying several times, and got to work on trying them out.  Initially we used the longer insert underneath a regular microfiber insert with a Charlie Banana diaper.  I made sure to always test them when I knew the boy would be in his car seat or sitting on his bum for an adequate amount of time to test for compression.  Success.  In a small dose.  I didn’t want to wait too long, but this proved to be a sufficient combination, so we got to work on the next one.

Since it was mainly with the Charlie Banana diapers that we were having compression leaks (and the CB’s were totally my go-to diaper for a LONG time) that was my main focus, was finding something that worked with them.  I really super appreciate CB’s, the colours, the nice trim fit, and the absorbency, so I didn’t want to ditch them if I didn’t have to.  And we don’t have to!  The next plan of attack was simply doubling up with the CB microfiber inserts, which also worked sufficiently well.  However, I love the hemp.  It’s super absorbent and I feel this odd sense of trust in hemp, so I wanted to get that piece sorted out and have the CB’s with the 6r inserts as one of our go-to diapers when out and about.  Next plan was to use both the 6r inserts, used as the ‘medium doubler’ style, so that there was maximum absorbency in the front where my boy needs it most.  This is by FAR the best combination we have discovered with the 6r inserts, so much so that I went and picked up 2 more.  We have 8 CB diapers in total, and it is always standard that at LEAST 3 of them have the 6r inserts in, or 4 of them have the 6r inserts (2 of them with the full 6r get-up, and 2 with one microfiber, and one 6r hemp, the small or large one).  Praise the 6r inserts because those things WORK.   I would love to try a full-on Rumparooz cover+insert combo, and that just very well might be the next diaper we purchase.   Not to mention, Rumparooz makes a newborn diaper, the Lil’ Joey, that is absolutely ADORABLE and highly effective.   Rhonda is pretty much a goddess for letting me try these out, for teachin’ me the ropes of cloth diapering when my questions became too much for my brain to handle even Googling (and we all know how sleuth-y I am at that).

One more awesome thing about Rhonda (aside from the fact that she donates proceeds to charities, knows a crap load about cloth diapering, and shares the information and products with yours truly) is that she is super accommodating.  It is really helpful, and will be even more so now that I am back at work and cannot just up and go out to Martensville, SK whenever my heart desires.  Love that.  Such a perk.

I had planned to do a little list of all the wonderful products I have purchased from the shop (Kawaii diapers, our new favourite!, laundry soap, wool dryer balls – not purchased by us but by a friend and will be our next purchase, and my most most favourite – cloth menstrual pads!) however it is 9:43PM and for this mama, that is LATE.  Plus, I have some serious Netflix watching to do of the awesomely cheesy, old-school Beverly Hills 90210.  By old-school I do mean old-school.  I’m talking original.  The cheesy “romance” sings with the chimey music that makes me feel awkward as heck.  Gotta love.  Goodnighty night my friends and dear readers.

Entry filed under: Cloth Diapering, Fluff Bum, Health & Fitness, Mamabear. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A Poop-plosion. The First Year.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,938 hits

Archives


