Quickie.

April 17, 2012 at 2:04 pm 5 comments

Soooooooo guess who is getting in touch with her creative side once again seemingly out of nowhere?

Do you think Facebook Detox 2012 has anything to do with it?  I’m going to go with, ummmm YES.

I amped up (or down, depending on what you think of it) the blog template for a fresh spring change of pace, and I’m hittin’ the ground running with these darn photo books I’ve been meaning to make and gift since, eeeeeerrrr only DECEMBER.  With a minor amount of digging and searching and reading I found some ideas on how to use the online photo book printers but with my own templates.  I’m using Adobe Photoshop Elements to make my own pages, and then I’m just uploading them as images and dropping them into the program’s basic layout.   This idea is modelled after one of my most favourite blogger’s idea.   Mine is pretty basic, as I’m just learning, but that is ultimately what I aspire to.  My other aspiration?  To make one of these books annually.  For our parents, and for us.  I’m pretty sure The Cadester will thoroughly love looking through them.   I also found this super helpful little tutorial which also reviews several of the digital scrapbooking online printers, and led me to try out artscow this time around.  It received a good rating (5 stars) and is pretty much half the price of another of the leading printers.   I know you can’t beat quality, so I am going to make one, print it, and see how it turns out before I order them in bulk.

The other outlet, while not as productive maybe, is instagr.am.   It’s fun, fast, and I’m a fan of the privacy sharing settings.  You can find me there, my username is trista_dawn and I’m in lockdown mode, so if you wanna look, you gotta ask.

I’m pretty sure I have to tell y’all about my experience with the social worker who specializes in holistic healing/homeopathy, but that’s another story for another time.  All I can say for now is, not what I expected, but that’s good.   I feel like we skimmed the surface on a lot of things going on for me, which is fine and dandy.  It felt good to be validated and reassured.  I just received the remedies in the mail today, and they were custom-made for and by me, meaning, I had a major hand in deciding (whether subconsciously or not) what exactly these blends consist of.

One thing I do want to say is, ever since this shift in my reliance on technology (aka FACEBOOK DITCH), I have felt more at ease, calmer, and more present in the present.  It ain’t rocket science, people.  I know what’s going on.  I’m not saying it’ll happen for you, but give it a thought.  If you don’t want to completely deactivate it, even just delete the app from your phone.  Smartphones are like those nasty wolves (honestly though, I kinda like wolves and I think they’re pretty fantastic, but you know what I mean) dressed up all cutesy like sheep.  Yeesh.

Onwards?

Entry filed under: Health & Fitness, Mamabear, Women's Health. Tags: , , , , , .

Heal the soul, Feed the heart. Photo a Day May: Peace – 1.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  April 17, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Onward and upward :)

    Awesome that you’re getting into the photobook thing! I love them, although at this point I’m only doing a yearly one – I feel like it’s a cool thing I could get into doing for occasions though, or ‘just because.’ Definitely AWESOME for gift giving. It’s probably one of my favourite hobbies when I think about it! I haven’t done a ton of research on all the different online ones, if you wanted to go that route (although I like the photoshop idea). Mixbook is my fave of the few I’ve used, I swear by it actually. You can design your own templates with the zillion do-dads and things they offer. I realized a few weeks back that I’m not going to be able to do my 2012 book when I normally would (in November) since the twins will be here by then, so I’ve actually started it already, and plan on doing it each month, and then when it comes to the time when it needs to be printed, I will just have one or two months to take care of and it won’t be so overwhelming!

    As for FB, I definitely recognize it’s evils, but I guess I enjoy checking up on things, and I don’t use the internet at all on my phone so there’s less addictive-issues with it for me! If I had it on my phone, I could see where it could become more problematic!

    I’m interested to hear more about the social worker and what homeopathic remedies you’re trying out.

    XO

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  April 17, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Oh and I meant to comment back on a comment from your last post – yes, yes, please do send me the instructions for the no-sew fleece, if you don’t mind! I’m considering once we find out the sex of the twins, I could make them some baby blankets :)

    Reply
    • 3. tristadawn  |  April 26, 2012 at 11:18 am

      aw for sure. ok I will email them. if I forget please gently remind me :)

      Reply
  • 4. Jennifer Rue McLellan  |  April 19, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    I think you’re a very smart lady and if I didn’t have PSMM on Facebook I’d follow your lead!

    Reply
    • 5. tristadawn  |  April 26, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Facebook has its perks for SURE. networking via FB is fab :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,820 hits

Archives


